Ratings based on 189 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel in Chigwell

Posted May 24, 2017
Really lovely staff and a nice quiet room. Very good value for London.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude and unhelpful bar staff

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Convenience
Cons: Customer service training, and hygiene standards
Location: N/A
after attending a family funeral, we arrived at hotel late evening and wanted to relax with a drink before going to bed. Bar Maid was rude and unhelpful, obviously wanting to shut up the empty bar/lounge and go home. No greeting, queried whether we were hotel guests, stated she couldn't take cash or card payment and that we would have to go back to Reception and get our hotel room key card 'charged'(?). Went to Reception but no-one there. Went back to Bar and made to feel very uncomfortable about wanting to get a nightcap. Eventually assisted (begrudgingly) by another staff member (manager). The morning staff at breakfast were welcoming and helpful but...breakfast waitress sneezed whilst speaking to us and went back to the bar and wiped her hand that had 'caught' the sneeze on a tea towel! Suggest staff have some well needed customer service, and hygiene training!
4 out of 5
by YANGKI

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel and room is classic. But servise was very nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Loved the breakfast
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
Pre booked Sunday roast using the Half board option to be told on the day no roasts avaliable and then confusion over the charge for it all when leaving. This hotel would benefit from giving its staff the correct information, esp after speaking to 3 different people to book Sunday lunch that wasnt actually avalaible yet on the website?? Manageress seemed on top of it though and the younger waiting staff were excellent!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointed

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
Very disappointed - hotel in an amazing area was very run down with threadbare carpets - no toiletries in the bathroom - all in all a very tired hotel in need of renovation
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel and very helpful staff team.

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
Very helpful staff arranged for the right room. Good facilities and nice size bathroom and TV. Good breakfast with friendly staff again. Calm and relaxing evening. Stayed on 2nd floor and it was very quiet and warm. Special thanks to Natasha.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor condition

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Hair around bath taps . Electric cut out a few times. Main light not working . Carpet unsafe as not secured . Comfy bed and quiet room though !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Harrogate

Room

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: I thought the food was good and the staff in the bar and restaurant were lovely.
Cons: Room 406! And the lady at reception that I complained to the following morning thought it more important to answer the telephone whilst I was speaking
Location: its ok
The photos of the bedrooms on the Expedia web site did not reflect the room that I stayed in. The quality of the room was utterly disgusting, not only in cleanliness but also the fact that it was totally outdated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
Very cold room and bad breakfast