Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very handy for Olympic Park

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Cons: Extend the bar opening time past 2300
Great Location,Quiet and Peaceful, Nice Pub across the road and easy to get to the underground station
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel in Chigwell

Posted May 24, 2017
Really lovely staff and a nice quiet room. Very good value for London.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude and unhelpful bar staff

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Convenience
Cons: Customer service training, and hygiene standards
Location: N/A
after attending a family funeral, we arrived at hotel late evening and wanted to relax with a drink before going to bed. Bar Maid was rude and unhelpful, obviously wanting to shut up the empty bar/lounge and go home. No greeting, queried whether we were hotel guests, stated she couldn't take cash or card payment and that we would have to go back to Reception and get our hotel room key card 'charged'(?). Went to Reception but no-one there. Went back to Bar and made to feel very uncomfortable about wanting to get a nightcap. Eventually assisted (begrudgingly) by another staff member (manager). The morning staff at breakfast were welcoming and helpful but...breakfast waitress sneezed whilst speaking to us and went back to the bar and wiped her hand that had 'caught' the sneeze on a tea towel! Suggest staff have some well needed customer service, and hygiene training!
2 out of 5
by HAYLEY

Disappointing!

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Tired hotel, our double room was really the size of a single. Only one bedside cabinet, lamp didn't work, old bathroom fittings, draughty wooden windows in dire need of refurb. Paper thins walls. You can find better in the area for your money. It's had its day, unless they get the builders in!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gutted

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
From the outside the hotel looked amazing but things go rapidly down hill once you finish your check in. The lifts need upgrading, the room we stayed in was massive but that's the only positive I can give on the room. The room needs a new shower full stop. After we got back from our night out there was no running water from the cold tap. The double bed I booked was in fact two singles strapped together. The room needs a fresh new paint job. Breakfast was OK.
1 out of 5
by Paul

Not a Hallmark for a hotel

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
There is a £5 charge for the car park although it was empty. I booked a superior rooms and theready was nothing superior about it. The carpets were stained and the welcome by reception was short and seemed to be an inconvenience.
3 out of 5
by Dom

Suited for what we wanted

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
Pipes woke us up at 06:30 and sounded like the walls were coming down. room service breakfast order was wrong
4 out of 5
by YANGKI

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel and room is classic. But servise was very nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Loved the breakfast
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
Pre booked Sunday roast using the Half board option to be told on the day no roasts avaliable and then confusion over the charge for it all when leaving. This hotel would benefit from giving its staff the correct information, esp after speaking to 3 different people to book Sunday lunch that wasnt actually avalaible yet on the website?? Manageress seemed on top of it though and the younger waiting staff were excellent!