Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated and disappointing.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Iron that shorted the electric in the room and that was extremely dangerous given water coming ouy of the plug cable... Garden area dirty and rubbish covered. Shower that barely worked and room in need of repaint. Staff largely unhelpful or cluless. For the price it needs to be much better
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The poor reviews misrepresent!

Posted Jul 20, 2016
I don't often get around to leaving reviews, but in this case I feel it's important to counter-act the bad ones I have read. The hotel is an old building and a tad tired and dated in places, but I personally see that as part of its character and charm. My room was clean and decorated to a high, modern standard. It was very hot - (who knew it was going to be a heatwave this week), but a fan was provided by one of the many, many friendly and professional staff I met. The only real downside was that I wasn't able to sample their food, arriving too late each evening I stayed and failing to realise that breakfast was included! I absolutely look forward to returning. Whatever rate I book, I hope they'll let me have breakfast for the two I missed!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Disco night in the hotel grounds

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Arrived at the hotel early to relax and get something to eat before going to their disco and stay over for the night. The food was great, BUT the quantity was very bad. I ask for new patato's instead of chips and on my plate I only recieved 4 for £3.50. Normally you will be served about 7 or 8. This was a total rip off, never eat there again. Went to their bar and they don't serve red wine in a glass, but only by the bottle, but you can get white wine by the glass. Won't go there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from west london

nice hotel Chigwell

Posted Jun 4, 2016
We had event in near by Romford , this hotel was fine for overnight stay. Shame about the bugs we saw in tub.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude recepshanist

Posted May 23, 2016
I had the worst experience when I checked in. It was around 9pm Saturday evening the recepshanist seeams very I went to stay in this hotel for free. That's the rude vibe I git from her She couldn't find my resavation even after I show her the email from Expedia with the iteanary/resavation number. she made me call Expedia and when only Expedia agent confirm the resavation over the phone she let me checked in.
3 out of 5
by Veli

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired decor

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Tired decor, needs attention.
4 out of 5
by Michael

Nice

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel, my room was about 20 minutes from the reception desk. The staff were friendly.
3 out of 5
by Heather from Oakville

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
Room needs a Reno ....carpet grubby and room was cold
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable but dated.

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
The room was really dated and needs updating including the bathroom so based on the aesthetics it is more a 2/3 star hotel. The bed was comfortable.