Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Chosen for location close to a course I attended

Posted Feb 21, 2016
I stayed at this hotel for 2 bocks of 4 nights. The first stay was in a single room which although next to stairs/lift was reasonably quiet although the room was quite hot without heating (beg feb) and had to have window open (good thing). The second visit I was in a double room which was on the cooler side, but only used the heater once for half an hour. This room was at the front of the hotel in an older part, so unfortunately there was no double glazing and the road was quite noisy (but not unbearable), Guests to either side were quite noisy banging the doors and the floorboards were very creaky, that said it was acceptable and what you might expect in a hotel. I was booked in - room only so cannot comment on breakfasts. I did eat in the hotel a few times, the food was good but the wine expensive. There was plenty parking which was a bonus in that area. Overall, it was a nice hotel and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again and would recommend it
3 out of 5
by Mrs. Rita

Posted Jan 22, 2016 on Hotels
Windows in room ready to fall out. Step into bathroom dangerously high with no heat . Hairdryer placed away from mirror otherwise good value. The 5 of us found it convenient and will use the hotel again but not 408...
1 out of 5
by T

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 20, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Money stolen from safe.

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: Lovely location.
Cons: Room far too hot. Customer service could respond to issues raised.
I have tried to raise my issue twice via the website but have not been dignified with a response. I spent 3 nights at the Prince Regent Hotel in Chigwell over xmas, and left some money in the room safe overnight. When I arrived back at the hotel on the last night I removed my laptop from the safe and discovered that £60 of the cash i left in the safe was missing. I allowed myself some time to reflect on this to make sure I am certain, but having slept on it and thought about it for a day I am absolutely certain that the money was taken. This was my second stay at the hotel, and the experience has certainly soured what was otherwise a pleasant Christmas. I don't know if it has any connection to the issue, but when returning to my room on the last night I had to return to reception as my card key wasn't working (or had been deactivated) meaning i was locked out of the room. The reason I am certain the money was taken from the safe is because of two things. 1) I was sure of it at the time (as I knew how much i had left in there), and 2) Upon returning to Manchester I checked how much I withdrew from the cash machine prior to driving to the hotel and by coincidence the balance of cash I had was £60 down what it should have been.
4 out of 5
by Odile from Totnes,Devon

Christmas treat

Posted Dec 30, 2015 on Hotels
everything as I expected;will probably repeat this next year.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

does the job

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Pros: Location and price
Hotel location was convenient for my work next day. Large room in very large hotel. Hotel functional but not much character. Decent value for London.
4 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 20, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Mr Edward from North West of England

Posted Dec 18, 2015 on Hotels
Enjoyed my stay, staff very helpful and pleasant
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Chiwell hotel

Posted Dec 7, 2015 on Hotels
Good value hotel and great breakfast only let down by tired barhrooms and wardrobes that smelt of sick
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from surrey

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: Quiet, comfortable room.
Cons: Breakfast times. Improved range of food on offer (some butter would be nice). Attitude and behaviour of staff.
Potentially a good hotel let down by a lack of attention to detail, and poor quality of training for staff.