Ratings based on 313 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel in a nice village

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Very characterful , and in a convenient location
Cons: Car parking charges not acceptable in a country property
Location: Blenheim Palace is a beautiful day out , and Bicester shopping village easily reached . A nice combination of culture and shopping .
A characterful hotel in old buildings , in a very pretty town of Woodstock . Good choice of places to eat within walking distance , and very convenient for Blenheim Palace (walking distance) , and for other nearby attractions . We had a very nice room , good size , very comfortable . A small thing to note is that hot breakfast is table service , and whilst that prevents unnecessary waste ( very acceptable ) , if the restaurant is busy , you will wait for a while until it arrives . 40 minutes in our case . Our stay was somewhat spoilt by the discovery on departure that the Bear now charges £10.00 per night for car parking in their car park . Considering that it is a country village property , that most people will arrive by car , and that parking in the village spaces directly outside the hotel are free , I find this a petty way of clawing back revenue . The minimum credit card charge fee of three pounds on top was an insult , and for this reason , as a point of principle , I would not return or recommend it . Shame .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Rude receptionist and dirty towels

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Most staffs are kind but the receptionists at this hotel are rude and need more training of their own system! The parking is not free and they charge you a credit card fee even when you have paid the full amount via Expedia! Not recommended...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Riding

Lovely village great place to stay

Posted Nov 2, 2017
The hotel staff are very helpful, excellent service and comfortable accommodation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Great location to Blenheim Palace

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Great location to Blenheim Palace and various eateries. Reception staff were excellent, breakfast staff not so on the ball. Spacious and clean room were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very close to Blenheim Palace

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Very enjoyable stay in the quaint town of Woodstock.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Wonderful staff! Room was very comfy although a little too warm. Excellent amenities including a mini Nespresso machine. Brilliant location for Blenheim. Would definitely return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island, Canada

Great location in Woodstock

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Our first stop after flying in to Heathrow. The historic buildings were a treat to see.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed our stay

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Good location for Oxford & Blenheim. Room (executive twin) was spotlessly clean - well done to housekeeping staff. Also appreciated Nespresso machine.
Cons: Room too hot, especially at night.
Location: Lovely village location - plenty of pubs/options for food. Walking distance to Blenheim and 30 minutes on bus to Oxford.
Lovely, but quiet, village location - off, but within 2 minutes walking distance, of the main road between Woodstock and Oxford. Plenty of pubs and restaurants close by for meals and breakfast - we did not take breakfast in the hotel as £21pp seemed very expensive considering we do not eat a lot in the morning. Didn't see much of hotel staff as a result but those we dealt with on reception were professional and friendly. The only problem we experienced was the heat of our room, especially at night. A lighter duvet or the addition of a top sheet would make for a more comfortable night's sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Absolutely gorgeous!

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Just wandering around the village. Such wonderful picture opportunities.
Such a charming hotel. The whole village is a treat. And Blenheim Palace just down the road.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Travel into time

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Nice hotel full of character Room very special Breakfast a bit poor though