Ratings based on 462 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Could be a very nice hotel...

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Could be a very nice hotel if their cleaning staff was better! Room wasn't clean to my standards when I arrived and really.dixnt improve in over.two weeks I was there even though I complained and compllmenfed on several occasions. The pool looked inviting but the walls of it were green with algae.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Memphis

Neither great nor terrible

Posted Jul 14, 2017
The rooms were small, but efficient. The weekend manager was less than helpful with spotty wifi connections, implying that it was my inability rather than overload. Although we always leave a tip, our room was not even made up on the first day, nor did they routinely replenish toiletries. The rugs need a serious cleaning. The location is convenient to restaurants and big box stores. Except for the surly weekend manager the receptionists were helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Carpet was not vaccumed (crumbs and finger nails). I asked for a vaccum and did it myself. Spider webs in the corners . Toilet dirty around base. The wall was stained, floor, and bed skirt. I should've checked out that night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Medford NY

This hotel is a good go to option .

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Enough fulfilling amenities for the price. Upgrades in the area were as much as two to three times the price for little more than a sofa/sitting room.
Cons: A little more food options for breakfast but nothing fancy. Keep the price low. Slow WiFi in some places.
Location: We used it for home base to visit family but baseball tournaments were always on. Car racing track was near too. 30 miles from Atlanta helped.
We have been using Microtel for nearly 10 years from when our daughter went to school in North Carolina and used it for her base for the campus tour to decide on the school. In Winston Salem the room was less than $50 per night. We have been as high as $82 (plus tax) elsewhere but always found excellent value. The rooms are simply a bedroom with a queen size bed (non smoking hotels mostly) and a bathroom. One closet and some drawers. Some had microwaves and refrig and some not, reflected in the prices. Clean all the time and comfortable. Feels like a cruise cabin on land. No for everyone if you must have lots of room but we always were pleased with quality. Some were quickly sold out if there were near events like tournaments, schools and races but my decision maker was that it was cheaper than the car rentals in the area, so I saved on the room and spent on dining or cars, my choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Pros: value
A/C did not cool the room to the temperature that I wanted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Great place

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Great location. It's around everything. And within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Nice, affordable

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Good hotel, clean, comfortable. Wifi was sketchy at best, but otherwise my stay was satisfactory.
4 out of 5
by Sarah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by kate

Just fine for the price.

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
This was fine for the price. The carpets and somethings were dirty, which I don't understand because they weren't that old and wouldn't be complicated to clean. However, it wasn't so dirty that I wanted to leave. I did a thorough check for bed bugs and found no evidence of any of that. The walls were thin, but luckily the neighbors didn't make much noise. The bed was actually pretty comfortable and I got decent sleep here because it was easy to get the room cold. If I needed an inexpensive, no frills place I'd consider this again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet location but not well maintained

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: The hotel was in a very convenient and quiet location.
Cons: Hotel staff needs to be trained on how to clean the rooms, maintain the lobby and be available when guests are at the desk.
Location: Good location near restaurants and shopping.
Although we only slept at the hotel and spent most of our time away-the room was never consistently cleaned, new towels brought in or trash emptied. The hotel was supposed to be 'renovated' but rooms that were smoking and were now not....had a strong odor to them, walls were scuffed and missing paint and damage to cushions werenot repaired. Hotel patrons were questionable, appearing under the influence of drugs. Breakfast bar was never maintained while open, food and trash on counters, cereal was pulverized in the containers and needed to be replaced more frequently. Coffee was only made when you asked for replenishment when carafe was emptied. Weekend staff appeared to be unmotivated to keep the lobby tidy or help when you needed something. I think the hotel would do better w/a intervention from management to hire/train staff about their responsibilities.