Ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Foul Odor in my room

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: It is within a mile of my contract work and the price is reasonable.
They had to switch my room because the odor was so pungent, it made my throat burn.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. It was a pleasure to read that you found the location and price of the hotel met your needs, but we were disappointed that your original room did not meet your expectations and had an unpleasant smell. In response to your feedback, I am going to work with the cleaning staff to ensure that this situation is not repeated. Thank you for sharing details of your stay with us. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

Expected more from this.

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Kitchen was a nice touch.
Cons: Cleanliness of sheets.
My biggest issues were that the sheets were not clean. There were very fresh food stains on the comforter and s pillow. And the toilet was running all night kinda loud.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. The cleanliness you described is unacceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. To ensure that a situation like yours doesn't happen again, my team is reviewing our cleaning policies to prevent the same situation from happening again. Thanks to your feedback, we can continue to work on providing an exceptional stay for all of our guests. We hope you will give us a chance to make a better impression the next time you are in the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great price!

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Went to Mandarin restaurant for dinner. Excellent food there.
Great hotel, great price. There is a lot to do up the street as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. It is great to see you liked our convenient location near the mandarin restaurant and our affordable rates. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not Happy

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: There was the same hotel 1/2 mile down the street that looked a lot better than this one!
I reserved 2 Queen Beds and Breakfast was suppose to be included. We got a room w/ 1 Queen Bed and there was no breakfast at all. The was only coffee in the Lobby for Breakfast!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. We strive to provide our guests with all the comforts of home, so we are disappointed that we were not able to meet that expectation. The staff and I appreciate your comments, as it will only help us to improve. If the opportunity should arise, we hope you will give us another chance on a future stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for a bussiness trip

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Place was ok. It had no ice machine, my room ran out of toilet paper, when i asked them to replace they forgot. Went cook and found out no dishes in room, when i went to.get them i had to wait for desk person... took a while
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing us with details about your stay. I am sorry to hear that the front desk did not replenish your missing items after they were notified. I would also like to apologize that our dish services were not communicated to you at the time of check in. We do provide dishes at no charge upon request. To ensure your experience is not repeated, going forward we will coach our team to make sure they communicate our amenities at the time of check-in and also to be sure that we follow thru on all requests. Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. We hope you will give us a chance to make a better impression the next time you are in the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ak

Close of everithing

Posted Oct 5, 2016
40 min. From the airport close to lots of restaurants and department store. Just the swimming pool was close....
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am pleased to see you were able to enjoy our convenient location and that the being near the airport was suitable. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Puertp Rico

Nice hotel by the price.

Posted Oct 2, 2016
The room was clean but in six day nobody cleaned the room, the breakfast is simple coffe and cake. The price is excellent but a slow service , the door of bath is broken and not will be closed. The hotel is good for a weekend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very convenient

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Excellent clean very nice staff , nice location very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is great to see that you were accommodated well by our staff and that your room was to your liking. Thank you again for your kind words. The staff and I would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Nothing at all
Cons: Everything
Location: Owen O'Leary's is about it.
One person that doesn't stay at the desk came from around the corner. Bed was extremely bumpy and uncomfortable. The most uncomfortable bed I've ever stayed in. This is the old Sonesta Hotel and I wouldn't want to stay there ever again. Very loud people in the a.m. children running through yelling in the hallways and constant slamming doors on the 2nd floor. Very bad smell when entering the elevator of body odor and skunk type odor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. We apologize for the earlier morning noise and the bed discomfort. Thanks to your comments, we will be working with the staff and guests to ensure quite hours are being adhered to. We will also be taking a look at the bed comfort to see if changes are needed. Thank you for your comments. Guest feedback like yours allows us to continue to improve our hotel. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice get away from home

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: had everything in room
Cons: the cleaning, and ash tray in room, it was a smoking room.
Location: good location, not sure
nice and comfortable , room needed a little more cleaning.