Ratings based on 200 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

An experience to be remembered

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Idyllic location with old world charm. Wonderful food, comfortable room, beautiful and peaceful location. Although removed from major Cotswold attractions, is still a memorable location and experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cery confortable manner house

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Clean, calm, welcome by sheeps & ducks, good view from the window, all are amazing experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Beautiful hotel, on arrival the male on reception couldn't have been more disconnected. A disappointing start.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Old fashioned country house hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: Clean, Quiet, Comfortable, Good Food, staff very helpful. Good quality travel cot provided for our toddler. Relaxed atmosphere.
Cons: Family rooms could do with a bit of attention by someone with young kids, i.e. to have working window locks and lockable (or soft closing) drawers.
Location: Rural (village rather like a real life Ambridge) edge of Cotswolds, nice mellow hilly walk from hotel to pub in next village a couple of miles away.
Lovely stay in this 19C country house converted to hotel. Don't expect modern creature comforts like air-con or multiple lifts (one very small lift so be fit or patient) but do enjoy the beautiful and well kept grounds, the substantial and well cooked/served breakfast, the possibility of country walks from the door and a comfortable bed. Also had full dinner in restaurant one night which was good, traditional fare and pie and chips in bar another night - also substantial and cooked well). Staff were good with providing high chair and plates, spoons, spare vegetables etc for our toddler and iron / board within minutes of request. Dumbleton Hall is a big old place - as you'll have seen in pictures no doubt - and stands in substantial grounds. There are some nice walks in herbaceous border garden, a big hill to climb and a deep lake with black swans. There is a certain shabby chic style to the place (if that wasn't the case then I doubt us mere financial mortals could afford it) and décor is somewhat dated with a few damp spots etc. But keeping up a pile this size must be quite a job so hats off to them for managing to do so. Place is quaintly romantic - they do weddings and I'd imagine it's a good location for that. Despite my comments re possible improvements this was also a good place to stay with a child as there's lots of indoor space to crawl about in (lounge, bar, big etc) or for older kids to explore (old servants stairs etc) as well as the outside substantial grounds
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from K

貴族気分を満喫!

Posted Jul 4, 2016
門をくぐって、広大な庭の奥に、お城というか、お屋敷が出迎えてくれました。館内は古い造りで迷路みたいだったけど、きしむ木の床が趣き深い感じ。室内設備は最低限揃っていて不自由なし。いい気分で過ごせました。コスパは最高。また機会があれば利用したいです。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Imposing building in lovely setting

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: Setting, helpful staff.
Cons: Internet
A very pleasant couple of days here, in a lovely setting. Room was a little on the small side and bathroom was very small, as was the shower. I would recommend though, as our room may not have been typical. The only serious downside however, was the atrocious internet connection. They really need to address this and extend its coverage within the hotel and its speed. We would have liked to have planned our day trip around the property using the internet the night before, but had to waste an hour and a half in the morning, in reception, where internet was available.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo,NY

Beautiful country.

Posted Jun 13, 2016
It had to be one of the best highlights of our trip. Our family ( two grandparents, two parents,& two children) loved this place. We walked the grounds and feed the many ducks & swans. Staff gave the kids bread to throw to the birds. Roaming sheep with lambs on the drive ,and hills added to the charm. Wished we had stayed longer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

Beautiful country estate

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: The setting, the quality of service and the exceptional character.
Wonderful country estate experience. Room was large and really comfortable. Clean and quiet. Service was excellent everywhere. Dining room was excellent for dinner and full breakfast was delicious. Like living in a country estate, with beautiful grounds to walk, to relax and enjoy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from China

唐顿庄园般的完美入住体验!

Posted Jun 2, 2016
自驾车过去的,进大门看到的是一大片绿草地和羊咩咩,以为走错了私人庄园,呵呵! 你没有走错,真的只花75英镑就能实现伯爵梦想,哈哈 房间有30-40方,1米8大床,这在英国酒店里本身就很大了,而且它还在古堡酒店里! 包含的英式全套早餐也出品精细,由自身的餐厅出品,不少本地人开车进来餐厅吃晚餐的。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Delightful

Posted May 29, 2016
A lovely building in spectacular unspoilt natural English countryside setting. Loved everything about this stay, the friendly staff, good food, beautiful scenery, charming spacious room with a view and large newly refurbished georgous bathroom. We love staying in these country manors, especially with a deal, and this is now on the top of our list to revisit. The best breakfast service we have experienced in a hotel of this size. At last, we have found a hotel that realises breakfast is as important as the evening meal. The ongoing refurbishment programme will add to the excellence of this manor.