Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What's that smell?

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Location: The Pipestone Monument is well worth the visit!
The bed was comfortable and the room met our needs. But the halls were not only cold but they had a smell. And if that isn't bad enough our room had an odor as well, but not the same smell.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by Front desk staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I apologize for the issues in the hallways and bathroom. The problem was looked into and corrected. Again I am sorry for the issue that was taking place at the time of your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2016
The hotel staff was very helpful and accomadating. The complimentary breakfast was great
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2017 by Tracy, Hotel Management
Thank you for filling out the review. Your kind words are greatly appreciated
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

Very well run hotel with fantastic staff.

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Location and exceptional care and quality. And true Minnesota hospitality.
Cons: If anything, the shower head could stand replacement, but that's true at most hotels.
Location: The "Papa's Place" restaurant, about a block away, serves delicious Minnesota food and has a fantastic staff.
I reserved this because it was the only hotel available in the area at that time and I was very happily surprised at the quality. OK, the hotel is a little older however, the staff is exceptional and very conscientious as regards keeping everything up to exceptional standards and the rooms are meticulaously maintained. The room was perfectly clean and very comfortable, warm (it was -10 outside at night) and quiet. The location is fantastic, being just a block or two from the highway and very near the town and shops. The staff and manager were very welcoming, conversational and made me feel quite at home during my three nights stay. I rated Facilities, Condition a 4 because, well, it's not a five star hotel obviously but triple AAA for effort. Snow removal in the parking lot was very well done and the staff shovels the sidewalks with care.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2016 by Tracy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words. We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope we will see you soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ON Canada

Very worn and over proced

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Worn and dated. Breakfast was very limited and cold. Pillows were horrible. Very disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The rooms are clean, witb comfortable beds and the staff is very friendly.
Cons: The continental breakfast should be served earlier on weekends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Convenient, great accomodations for the pric

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Helpful staff, room was large and clean, newspapers and fruit in lobby, free breakfast. Would stay again and recommend to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Room was nice and big. There was a pool and hot tub.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What a dump - will never stay here again.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Leaving it!
Cons: Remodel hotel. More staff (we had to wait 30 minutes to get a new key - since ours didn't work. Sign at desk said staff was helping other guest)
Location: Expand parking lot around entire building.
Hotel definitely needs some major renovations - walls were stained yellow..was obvious because you could see the outline of where past wall hangings were (and the screws were left on the wall). Bathroom door didn't lock, toilet seat moved..we tried to tighten it, but that didn't work. Door to room barely closed. Door on the side of the building, right next to our room, had a screw in the lock - making it so it would never be locked again - doesn't make one feel very safe! Pool hours are from 10 a.m. - 10 p.m. Check out is at 11. I asked if that was right, that the kids couldn't swim in the morning until 10. The lady at the reservation desk, was obviously tired of hearing this question asked - and said "The state decides when the pool had to be cleaned, and they set this up". First time I've ever heard that the State said the pool wasn't to be cleaned until 10. I told her, are you sure the State just doesn't require a 24 hour cleaning..and your hotel decided it wouldn't be done until 10. Her basic response was to complain to someone else. I asked for a late checkout then, she said our room was booked afterwards. Oh well. Room keys didn't work. We got back to the hotel late, and there were no parking spots left. No off street parking was available either. Take your chances with the business across the street I guess. Breakfast was horrible. Worst microwaved eggs that I've ever had - and no sausage/bacon available. So much for the hot breakfast that was advertised.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel i ever stayed at

Posted Jul 31, 2016
After being a choice hotel member for several years i was appalled & very disappointed in my choice of staying here. This is the WORST hotel i've ever stayed in. The RUDEST staff i ever encountered started & finished my unpleasant stay. The breakfast was totally disgusting & never restocked + the waffle maker was broken. The room was old disgusting and uncomfortable + a noisy a/c that made sleeping difficult. STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE IF YOU CAN OR U WILL ALSO HAVE A TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE - ESPECIALLY WITH THE STAFF & BREAKFAST.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Nice hotel in a good localization. Clean rooms, comfortable beds. Continental breakfast . Definatelly a hotel to recommend