Ratings based on 887 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cute hotel right by the water

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Super cute hotel with friendly staff. Definitely want to come back in the summer to participate in the water activities like kayaking. It's also in a great location, close to the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greensboro, NC

Nice hotel on the beach.

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Nice hotel right on the beach with great amenities. The breakfast was wonderful every morning
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Boutique hotel on the beach

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Loved the Blockade Runner! We had a state room, which was spacious, well decorated and comfy with an oceanfront balcony. We were right on the beach, and the hotel has a restaurant and bar so you really don’t have to get in your car to go anywhere. This is an easy weekend trip from the Raleigh area. It was winter and really cold when we visited but we will definitely be back in the spring!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Birthday getaway

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Perfect spot for a birthday getaway!!! Great location. Friendly staff. Beautifully decorated and great views!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Balcony rooms are wonderful.

Posted Nov 7, 2017
I have stayed in the oceanfront and they are nice but the balancing rooms are wonderful so you can actaually sit outside and enjoy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia, SC

Great Hotel/Resort on the Beach and Harbor

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: The views of the ocean, beach and harbor, The beautiful lobby and nicely decorated rooms. Friendly Staff!
Cons: Bathroom in our room needs to be totally refurbished. Not crazy about having to constantly tip to get your car both in and out.
Location: Beach, Harbor, restaurants, Wilmington
We are returning guests, we LOVE the Blockade Runner Beach Resort for it's beautiful views of the beach and harbor! The lobby is beautiful and inviting with glass doors that open to the outside, you feel like you are on an exotic island. The rooms are also nicely decorated and comfortable with chairs appointed at the sliding glass doors for you to open and enjoy the fresh air and beautiful view! Just perfect. However, our bathroom in room 731 is in serious need of a total rehab! I'm not sure if all the other BR's are in the same condition or not? The door doesn't fully close any more, there is rust and pieces falling off the OLD toilet, old dingy brown areas in corners around the floor, wallpaper is dinged up and has brown marks that can't be cleaned off. I'm sure they have tried. The Rain shower head doesn't work at all, just drips cold water on you throughout your shower, etc. Also beware to keep your wallet out at all times. If you need your car, which we did a few times throughout each day, you HAVE to tip the valet guys each time, in and out! OUCH! You also have to pay to use their chairs on the beach AND you have to pay if you request delayed checkout. An extra $35 PLUS all the taxes and fees for 2 hours. All in all, we love the hotel and hopefully get to return and hopefully to refurbished bathrooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Posted Nov 6, 2017
4th visits in last 3 years, been very pleased every time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Funky decor,, great location!

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Cons: The way the shower worked was odd and I'm not sure we ever figured it out.
Location: Beach, sailing, paddle boarding
With mixed reviews, we weren't sure what to expect from Blockade Runner, but we loved it! It's not new and a little dinged up, but the decor was fun and funky, rooms were large and clean and the grounds and location on the beach were perfect! Breakfast was included and it was delicious. We recommend this hotel and would love to come back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston, ma

very nice hotel on beach

Posted Nov 2, 2017
staff helpful always with a smile. Everything was as expected and the way things are suppose to be. Would be happy to stay here again and/or recommend to a friend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Livonia, Michigan

Ask before booking where room faces

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Great location nice staff. Wasn't happy we got the intercostal view and not the ocean view. Also got old side of hotel. Ask before booking if you want ocean view with balcony. Old size does not have balcony