Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Jacqueline

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Keep looking

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything. Start with A/C and a major renovation.
Location: 3-4 pubs directly opposite if you'd rather hear the noise from inside rather than "enjoying" it while you're trying to sleep.
Postwar-era hotel that has been waiting for decades to be renovated or torn down. No A/C, we arrived during record summer temperatures. Even with the windows wide open, the heat was stifling most of the night. Better still, the hotel is across from not just one, but three or four pubs. On both Friday and Saturday night we hear screaming laughter, shouting, breaking glass, and arguments until after two in the morning. There are framed clippings in the stairwell and awards, dating up to 2007, to remind one that this was once at least a decent hotel. But the owner is now in her 90's and as to the management, they told us they closed the formerly award-winning restaurant "so that we can also enjoy life a little." In other words, no one of the current management cares enough about the place to invest the time, effort, or money to keep it up. Instead, they are simply cashing in on anyone dumb enough to stay here. For the same price, we stayed in two other places on this trip that were beautifully renovated and air-conditioned, and where breakfast was included instead of costing 9 Euro per person. Keep looking -- you can do better.
1 out of 5
by wue from usa

Avoid!

Posted Jun 28, 2014 on Hotels
Would not stay there again.
3 out of 5
by Subir Das from Mumbai

Old refurbished hotel

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels
It took us a bit of a walk to reach the hotel by foot from the train station. A short struggle up a flight of stairs took us to a very basic though comfortable room. All in all was happy that the stay was for a day only.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by T from Brisbane Australia

An excellent decision

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing. It is perfect.
Location: Visit the Residenz and the fortress. They are a must.
We stayed here towards the end of a 3 week trip driving around Germany. We chose it because of an earlier review and thought we'd take a chance. We normally stay at 4+stars because of the kids and usually those are the hotels in the city centre. The only reason this is a 2 star has to be because it doesn't have 24 hour reception or restaurant on site (although it does have a good buffet for breakfast and exceptional coffee). The owner/manager lives on site and I am sure he would make himself available if there was an emergency out of hours. The staff here would be close to being the nicest people in Europe. They spoke decent English and were genuinely interested in our trip and made good suggestions which resulted in us changing our itinerary (a decision which was well worth it). They also are very knowledgeable about their town and region and will help you make the most of your stay. The room itself was clean and the beds comfortable. The shower is good & hot water plentiful. The hotel is a little older but clearly well maintained. The entire experience brought back fond memories of staying with my grandparents. It is a short walk to all sites. The town itself is lovely and worth the visit. We will definitely be coming back here. It was the best experience of our entire holiday. We were travelling with two kids as well and they were made to feel most welcome. There was some street noise but nothing which would disturb anyone who was not overly sensitive. Stay here!
5 out of 5
by Piers

Lovely room, awesome breakfast

Posted Sep 7, 2012 on Hotels
Very convenient for the centre of the city. Nice safe neighbourhood. Like all of Germany. We were made very welcome with a chat about the city history and local Frankonian sights. Visited most of the recommended places. all good. Breakfast has to be seen (and eaten) to be believed. We had a family room on the top floor. 1 double 2 singles. Nice bathroom. There is some street noise if you are at the front with the windows open. Bin men and so on. But you expect that in a city. The bar over the road shuts about midnight. Thre was also a religious procession at 5 o'clock one morning. Can't imagine that's a weekly event. All in all, it felt like being in Germany, which was exactly what we wanted.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oslo

Simpel but friendly

Posted Apr 16, 2012 on Hotels
Very friendly hotel, central location, good service to point out the good parts. Room simpel and main beds were to hard for my taste. Breakfast ok in an old pub/restaurant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel zur Stadt Mainz

Posted Apr 12, 2012 on Hotels
Friendly staff and owner. Strongly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from New York

Good value

Posted Apr 12, 2012
The hotel room was clean, and the antiques in the lobby/hallways were attractive. The hotel restaurant was helpful as most every restaurant in the area was closed during the morning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

朝食がおいしい

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
朝食がおいしかったです。ビュッフェ形式で品数はかなり多かったです。個人的にいちごの砂糖づけが良かったです。ホテルの皆さん(家族?)は暖かくとても良い皆さんでした。部屋は少しくたびれた感じはしますが、そこそこ広く、快適でした。テレビはいつも見ないのですが、ブラウン管テレビでした。