Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk, England

Very close to the station and monorail

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Friendliness, cleanliness and location
Cons: Maybe a kettle in the room to make tea/coffee
Location: Close to the train station, monorail, shops, pubs and restaurants. Nearby is the zoo and sculpture park, both worth visiting.
Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They offered us a free transport ticket for our stay, a map and suggested places to eat. Our room was very comfortable and clean. Would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great affordable hotel in the heart of Wuppertal.

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice staff. Good breakfast buffet if 7Euro per day. Rooms are clean, bathrooms nice & beds are comfortable. TV was small. Walls very thin. Can hear conversations & TV in adjacent rooms, bring earplugs. VERY well located (even during HUGE 5yr downtown highway construction project). Really great and easy location to Wuppertal Hbf (main train station) with quick and easy access to Dusseldorf. And only a few steps to Wuppertal's famous and historic monorail. Right in the middle of great shopping, restaurants and conveniences. Staff spoke some English, but VERY nice, welcoming & helpful. Just use 'bitte' and 'Danke schon' :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2016
The hotel is very convenient, comfortable and with delightful, helpful staff. A little faded but pleasant. Recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value in Wuppertal near the train station

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
Very convenient, it’s the closest hotel to the hbf station on one side, it’s right next to the monorail, and around the corner from the Wall St. bus stop. There are many restaurants and stores nearby. Room size and desk space were adequate. The hotel seemed rather old, especially the elevator, but the paint was neat, the bathroom was modernized, and the elevator worked. I was impressed that the shower did not steam up the mirror (due to the fan’s effectiveness). There is no air conditioning (there is heating), but the windows open wide, so it wasn’t much of a problem in Sept. But if you open the windows, then there can be some noise from the street and the trains, though the trains stop running later in the evening. Breakfast was limited, especially hot items, but I was ok for a few days. The dining room and place settings were very nice, and the staff diligently maintained the breakfast buffet. Overall, the staff were very friendly, effective, and practical, helping me with a few small requests. This is certainly not an upscale hotel, but for the price, it was a pretty good deal.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Richard from Salisbury, GB

Basic, clean and quiet in unrivalled location.

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
A pleasant, old fashioned hotel. It is quiet and homely. The reception team are pleasant and help you with finding your way. The Astor is not minutes but seconds away from the Schwebebahn so you can reach anywhere in the valley really easily from here.
5 out of 5
by Luke from Chicago

Great hotel, great price!

Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Hotels
I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It is less than a minute walk to the Monorail Station and its in a great neighborhood with shopping and restaurants. The staff were all fluent in English and were very friendly and helpful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hereford, England

Nice hotel in convenient location

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Pros: The closeness to the Hauptbahnhof and Schwebebahn is most convenient. There are also some nice, reasonably priced restaurants nearby.
Cons: Perhaps a tea/coffee machine in the room. We discovered the community coffee pot in Reception only while checking out.
Location: The location is conveniently central. Our short stay did not allow us to discover much of surrounding attractions. Maybe, next time.
We very much enjoyed our one-night stay. The reception was most polite and helpful. The room was well appointed and comfortable. A nice choice of buffet breakfast. The provision of a free travel pass on public transport is a real boon. Sorry our time was too short to make full use of it. The current major reconstruction work of the Hauptbahnhof area is unfortunate, but does not take anything away from the comfort of the hotel. The night was surprisingly quiet, despite the Schwebebahn across the narrow road. We would certainly like to stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Central , near overhead railway

Posted Sep 6, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: At the price it was fine
Location: Only problem was road-works near by . ,
The hotel did what we wanted on this rather specialised trip
3 out of 5
by Bryan from Australia

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels
Very close to the railway station and the suspended railway. Shopping and restuarants close.