Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kent

Forest setting

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Really lovely setting ,beautiful old building great place to visit
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Bit of luxury for an overnight stay

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Spent a weekend at Ashdown Park- glorious weather so nothing better than lazing on the terrace overlooking the beautiful grounds. Room lovely with triple aspect, staff attentive and efficient, bar very good. Breakfast is only okay compared with other luxury hotels and I think a round of 9 hole golf should be thrown in with the price of the room rather than extra. It's not a cheap weekend but on balance, worth it for a special treat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Suffolk, UK

A quiet stay in the country

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Pros: Great location, building very well looked after, on-site amenities very good (country club with very good swimming pool and gym)
Location: Lots to do in the area and plenty of different places to eat out if you don't want to eat in the hotel (which has a very good restaurant)
Just a short 2 night stay, but in excellent location - very quiet but with plenty to do in the immediate area.
3 out of 5
by James from Oxford

Lovely setting; friendly staff; questionable value

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
Classic country house hotel but the 'spa' facilities are not up to scratch. The country club is away from the main house, which is understandable, but for the price of the stay the facilities need to be considerably better. Our 'suite' was not what I would call a suite but just a very large room. The staff were lovely and the grounds and location are wonderful but I'm not sure that justifies the price.
4 out of 5
by Ian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Cliff from Bromley

Great hotel. Not so great shower!

Posted Feb 19, 2016 on Hotels
Second visit to this hotel. Beautiful building in superb surroundings. The room was spotless with great views. The staff were attentive without being too intrusive. The only glitch was a shower that would only give lukewarm water whatever the time of day but not too much of an issue as there was always a bath to rely on. I made a point of telling the front desk of this so that other patrons did not have the same problem. This really would not stop me from returning to this beautiful hotel with its friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by Pete

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Retreat!

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: Great grounds and brilliant nature if you are into natural photography, and low light pollution is brilliant for night photopraphy.
Location: Lama Park nearby is fun, as well as running trails and the Spa, the Spa!!!
My wife took me to Ashdown Park for my birthday this year. We last visited 5 years ago for our anniverssary and I ust say the standard has not dropped one bit. The room we were given was generously spacious, airy, warm despite the cold outside and with an extremely comfortable bed. The grounds are fabulous and walking trails are quite close by if you are looking to spread out a bit. The spa is top quality and fully equipped to cater for all needs. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and hope it will not be another 5 years before we return :o)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good, but not as good as expected

Posted Dec 12, 2015 on Hotels
Disappointed as asked for an early check in, which didn't happen. Daughter chuffed with kiddies pack containing colouring and games! Pool and treatments lovely, but a pain having to go outside the main hotel to get to the health club. Staff ok, but not top notch, which I'd expect in a hotel of this standard. Food really good, apart from the hot buffet breakfast, which was disappointing. All in all, a nice stay, but not as good as we were expecting for the price we paid. Pleased to have stayed there but won't rush back.
4 out of 5
by Teresa from Hertfordshire

Fantastic venue and staff. Small updates required

Posted Oct 30, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was lovely and the grounds were marvellous. I cannot rate the staff highly enough. The restaurant and food was superb - I love the live piano playing! The beds are wonderfully comfortable and the views are amazing.I would have given this a full rating other than the fact that the 3 rooms I paid for had no fridges. I asked for a fridge and an extremely small fridge (about 9") was sent up. I couldn't even get a bottle of water in it but had to give it up anyway, as my son had booked a fridge but there were none available. My 1 year old grandson took priority!