Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tourism

Posted Nov 18, 2015
Location: Major tourist attractions far away; shopping, eating excellent choices in walking distance.
I originally booked at Yiho Huli, a Chinese hotel recommended by Expedia, at half the price of the Westin. Only problem was that I don't speak Chinese, and no one there spoke any English. After problems with checking in, the initial room I got had a broken toilet. When it proved impossible to get a taxi (even though the hotel had taxi cards), I checked out and moved to the Westin. The Westin met all the expectations of a top class hotel. More importantly, Xiamen is not Shanghai or Beijing, and very little English is spoken anywhere - no tourist maps either - thus the Westin , and its English-speaking staff, was a godsend. Expedia might want to consider this when recommending hotels, especially for tourists (but in this case for anyone not fluent in Chinese). Xiamen is a wonderful place, and the Westin a great hotel, which also facilitated a great holiday despite the language barrier.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice New Hotel in Xiamen

Posted Jul 13, 2015
I liked the Hotel was clean very good Breakfast good clean options. Nice GYM and pool. The internet was not very good even with the upgraded account.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Western experience in a very Chinese city

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Above average hotel with a western feel. Rooms were nice but room shades were broken. Very good Chinese restaurant
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area

Front desk staff lack training and supervision

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: The five star looks
Cons: The second rate front staff lacking basic training and professional education.
Location: Aside from going in and out through front revolving door, you can go around and get to a supermarket nearby if you don't mind the usual local crowd.
Checking in process was a nightmare, as we waited to see the front desk staff who seemed to receive ones got closest to them and ignore the ones waiting in line. We were later interrupted and surrounded by unruly hotel guests. Front desk staff didn't intervene, as they either didn't know what to do or didn't feel it was their business and responsibility on the hotel premise. Supervisor next to them didn't seem to care what was going on and ignored our complaint, and let her inexperience staff act on their own. Guests were forced to go in and out the vast lobby through the only door, the revolving front one. The back entrance and business center were locked during business hours and no explanation was given. The usual greetings and smiles disappeared during the evening hours, as the bell boy and girl standing inside the revolving door stared at you and sized you up, another sign of lacking training and supervision. In general you get a world class hotel feel but when it comes to professionalism of staff, you are reminded of a third world country, and local standards prevail. In the event of emergency, it's hard to imagine getting out safe from the revolving front door (assuming electricity is still there to operated it).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from China

Sleepless in Xiamen

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Having finished a day of factory tours for work on a saturday the one thing I was looking forward to was a good rest and sleep before a day of tourism at Xiamen. That wonderful thought was brushed to the side the moment I settled into bed after a shower - the sound of clubbing could be heard through the windows of the hotel. Upon asking for a room change, i realized that was the quiet side of the hotel. The other side had more clubbing and the drone from a highway. Unfortunately the staff then failed to see my problem and I moved back to room one. Had the worst nights sleep I have ever had in a hotel and woke the next day with a huge headache only to see black mould on the skirting of a wall in the room. five stars out of five for disappointing experience.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Toronto

Not good for the price.

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Was expensive compared to others. Booked it because it was relatively new and wanted a nice experience. The bathtub had mold around the edges. Yes mold around the edges. And not a small amount. Not sure how that goes unnoticed by housekeeping but it was there. Mirror by the bath was discolored. The tv would blow fuses in the room regularly, and as a result I woke up with my cellphone not charge. Not a great way to start the business day. The wifi didnt work. The staff was what you would expect from a Westin, professional, pleasant and the best part of this hotel. This place would be great if it wasnt the most expensive one in its class. The offered to compensate on the next night but i was done...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from München

gute Lage für Geschäftsreisende.

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: die lage und der schöne Blick aus den oberen Stockwerken-
Cons: Vorschläge wie man Personal trainiert!!
Location: zentrale Lage, Restaurants in der Nähe.
ich komme wegen der Lage immer wieder hier her und es neren immer die gleichen Dinge. Die Reseption ist generell on unprofessionellen Mitarbeitern besetzt, kaum Englisch, langsam und umständlich, man muss viel Zeit und Geduld einkalkulieren.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from München Germany

gute Lage

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: die Lage
Cons: qualifiziertes Personal an der Reseption!!!!!
die Reseption ist mit einem unwissenden Lehrling besetzt, es dauert 20 Minuten um ein im Voraus bezahltes Zimmer zu finden und dann steht man wieder vor der Tür weil der Schlüssel nicht funktioniert. Hotel sieht schön aus, Staff ist recht nervig.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from München

Modernes Hotel in guter Lage

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Pros: Gute betten.
Cons: Bei normalen Einzelzimmer kann man kein Frühstück incl. buchen.
Location: Nicht so weit weg vom Flughafen.
Es ist schon 2 x vorgekommen, dass der Weckruf vergessen wurde! Englisch an der Rezeption sehr mager!!! Das Frühstück ist zu teuer!