Ratings based on 291 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philippines

Peaceful and tranquil place to stay

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Beautiful surroundings due to mercure is inside the renmin square compund. Close to drum tower, bell tower and muslim street. Near to xian railway station around 20 mins by foot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice stay

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Orbitz
The hotel was located in the back of a gated area which made it slightly hard to find but also made it very quiet for a peaceful stay. The location was pretty convenient within walking distance to many shops and food. Hotel staff was very helpful with regards to sightseeing and spoke good English. Mecure is part of the Sofitel brand and all the hotels within the plaza has dedicated set of taxi drivers and to serve their customers which made it convenient. Overall I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Confortable, clean and warm

Posted Nov 24, 2016
The room is confortable and clean. What I particularly like is the use of mirror walls inside the room which increases the brightness and spaciousness. However, the hotel is lack of gym & fitness facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dayton, United States of America

Loved our stay with Mercure!

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: The staff was most helpful, from the gate attendant all the way to checkin desk and front door man! Offered us a shower at the spa after a long day walking around the city. We had returned to grab our bags after we had already checked out.
Cons: The bed was harder than I would have liked, but it seems to be the standard in China.
Location: The location is very nice and walking distance to most of the city sights.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location but room was ok

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Orbitz
Location: Bell Tower, Muslim District, Ancient Wall
The hotel is in a fantastic location... walking distance to Muslim district, Bell Tower, etc. However, the Mercure hotel itself offers limited amenities. I am sure the grand Mercur and Sofeitel would be better but also more costly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington DC

Only hotel that meet western standard

Posted Sep 28, 2016
During my 35 days, Silk Road backpacking trip, this is the only hotel, meet western standard. Feel like home 😊
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great hotel at affordable prices

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
NIce hotel, decent size rooms and fantastic location within Renmin square with around the clock security. Hotel staff were friendly and spoke some english which was very helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Hotel was good, although only the concierge spoke good English (which he was only there during the day). Room was quite small along with the bathroom but it was clean which was good. Although it is walkable to the city centre, the hotel seemed a tad further than expected as there are not many shops located around it. You would need to travel to city centre to get the real feel of Xi'an. Overall, I would recommend this hotel, if you are up for a quieter night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by Rudy Rodas, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your comment on the language proficiency is noted and thank you for bringing it to my attention. Please be rest assured that we will continue our efforts in training in this aspect. There are quite a number of shopping malls within walking distance from hotel, and if our staff failed to introduce them to you during your recent stay, I apologize for it. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Yours sincerely, Rudy Rodas General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Good location, bad hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Location and access to other restaurants and Sofitel pool
Cons: Cleanliness
Great location in Xian. Nice to have access to the Sofitel Pool and restaurants at Sofitel, Grand Mercure, and convention center. However, the Mercure on Renmin Square is in need of a thorough cleaning. Not a very pleasant stay. Hotel smells of smoke, room is damp, with black mold in the shower, not a place to relax after a long day of work or touring. Hotel staff is OK. Much nicer staff in the Sofitel and Grand Mercure than in the Mercure. This hotel is not a four star property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Decent hotel in a quiet compound

Posted Sep 3, 2016
The hotel is in a older building but the rooms are in good condition. The best part is that the guests have access to the facilities in the upmarket Sofitel next door. The breakfast buffet in Sofitel for 75RMB is very good. The hotel is in a secure and quiet compound. It is a bit far ( 20-30 min walk) to the Bell Tower and Muslim Quarter, but there are frequent busses: bus stop is not far from the hotel entrance on the Main Street. Two stops to Bell Tower. We usually took tuk-tuk to comeback, as it is hard to get taxi for short distances in the city. Tuk-tuk is fun to ride!