Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel that is inan excellent location

Posted Aug 29, 2016
We will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Xi'an. The museum exhibits on the lower floors should not be missed. Wonderful Happy Hour in the Mix bar!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2016 by James Walkden, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for sharing the time to share your feedback after staying at Westin Xi’an. We are delighted to hear that your experience was positive and that you enjoyed our wonderful Qujiang Museum of Fine Arts with its extensive range of exhibits. Mix Bar is a great place to hang out, we are pleased you enjoyed the happy hour! Do come and visit us again soon………………. Best Regards James Walkden The Westin Xian
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Perfect Location

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: The location, the museum-style, and the room.
Cons: Some of the staff do not speak good English. This can be frustrating, especially when they don't ask for help from their colleagues.
Location: Lots of shops, restaurants, and a park. A pedestrian-only street with sculptures and water features. Very nice.
The hotel is very tastefully appointed, with historical artifacts in the halls with a museum themed setting. The hotel blends in with historic surroundings perfectly. I was upgraded to the best suite I have ever stayed in (I usually stay in suites). The layout was perfect, with a very private living room. I also liked the shuttered windows. The lighting was very good too (a constant frustration at other hotels)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta

Knowledgeable Front End: Bell Service & Reception

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff. Facilities: swimming pool, sauna and steam room, and spa pool. A museum within hotel.
Cons: The spa pool could have more powerful jets. Banquet (conventions/conferences) staff could be more responsive e.g. changing plates and filling tea.
Location: Opposite a temple and a tower, surrounded by large shopping malls, mainly restaurants. No night market. Best check with hotel on nearby attractions.
The hotel staff do their best to make you as comfortable as possible. English can be a challenge with some of the staff. There may be one or two minor hitches but they are due to communication barriers. The reception staff who checked me in was super nice and English literate. It was great to have my room upgraded although I did not request for it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2016 by James Walkden, Hotel Management
Hello M, Ldmonton Thank you for taking the time to share your experience having stayed recently at Westin Xi’an. We greatly appreciate your comments and rest assured the areas for improvement that you highlight will be taken on board to ensure that we deliver a more positive guest experience in the future. If your travels were to bring you back to Xi’an I do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back. Best Regards James Walkden The Westin Xian
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Westin should be better than this

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Pros: Not much
Cons: See under experience
This Westin was designed to look like a Hotel W but did not quite work. Décor was just meant to be cool but the effect not so cool. The coffee shop lighting is rather poor and if you sit there at breakfast, the big block of blue light from underneath the buffet counter simply does not allow you to see your food clearly. Hotel concierge staff was not knowledgeable at all and failed to give good restaurant recommedations and the info related to the restaurants. Just a name and no address given. We stayed at the Shangrila for one day before transferring to the Westin and must say we were much happier with the Shangrila in all aspects.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

well located

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: everything
This hotel is located in a very good neighbourhood. Very good food, very good service, and Mr. James Walkden, the General Manager, very attent with the guests. Our sincere congratulations to him and his staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2016 by James Walkden, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience of Westin Xi’an. I am delighted you enjoyed our ‘A Grade’ location and found the food and service met your expectations. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future if your travels were to bring you back to Xi’an. Westin – for a better you………….. Best Regards James Walkden The Westin Xian
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautifully appointed

Posted Mar 5, 2016
Pros: The staff were very courteous and helpful
Cons: Nothing really
Location: Shopping and local attractions were walking distance.
Beautifully appointed hotel with clean lines and a most modernistic look. Very helpful and friendly staff. Comfortable room and clean room with luxurious bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Great Location

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Great hotel! Nice staff, English speaking. Have recommended to a friend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Best Hotel for relaxation while on business

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Hotel atmosphere -- zen
Cons: Hmmm the hallway has carpet which makes rolling the luggage difficult. It was difficult for me to just roll my small carry-on.
Location: Nice park nearby
I have never written a review as I do not see any substantial needs to repeat good/bad experience some travelers have already written. But Westin Xian deserve a full 5-stars or 10-stars if possible. I travel for business often and all over the world. I will remember this hotel for a long time from the relaxing atmosphere, to the zen-like decoration throughout the hotel and in the room, the comfort in the room, the friendliness of the staff, and wow the food (room service and at their restaurants) are very delicious. Best rate from Expedia as well. I will stay there and recommend to my colleagues if we are to return to Xian.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sg

Stay on conference

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Overall nice hotel. Wifi however is horrible- it took forever to download even simple mails. Traffic outside is congested making getting to the hotel difficult
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, but very dark inside

Posted May 1, 2014
This is not the typical Westin in that it only has five or six floors and was very dark inside. The room was clean, but also very dark inside with no views. The hotel has good amenities, but seemed empty inside without a lot of activity in the lobby or lobby bar. There is nothing wrong with the hotel itself, just a little different than we expected after being to many other Westin hotels in the U.S.