Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near to Daiyan Pagoda & Parks & Shopping Mall.

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Slow check in, credit card machine down. No phone service in room, No breakfast coupon !!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2015
Dear guest, thanks for your stay at Xi’an Garden hotel. Because of the POST machine belongs to the China bank with American Express card and Diners Card contract expires ,so the hotel does not support the two card trading temporarily, we apologize for the inconvenience. About the phone service in the room , we provide the phone service guide in every room, maybe you did not notice. About the breakfast, because you booked a room without breakfast, so we did not provide breakfast coupon for you . But you can pay or sign the bill in the restaurant in any time if you need . We apologize again for your unhappy. We expect another chance to bring you a new experience next time. Wish you happy every day!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would have been lovely when first built

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Value for money; older hotel which was probably quite lovely 30 years ago but a little tired now.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane from Sydney, Australia

hotel with charming garden oasis

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: excellent cleanliness, facilities in good working order, the staff attitudes were always friendly and pleasant; the breakfast and massages excellent
Cons: the Fitness Centre massage rooms look a bit tired, but the massages are excellent.
Location: A nightly fountain show near Big Wild Goose Pagoda, taxi to Ding Li tomb, other destinations (city wall, terracotta army, etc) . Do a day Western Tour
a very comfortable hotel: excellent housekeeping to ensure guest room comfort and high standard of cleanliness. Front desk staff are very pleasant and helpful, and the Concierge Desk staff were excellent (they helped arrange visits and taxis to sites out of town and around the city) and great at problem solving and translating for finer details of arrangements. Good communication between different sections of the hotel was apparent. The garden is charming, and a lovely oasis - complete with resplendent peacocks. The hotel is convenient to ATM facilities nearby, the Big Wild Goose Pagoda, restaurants, a department store, etc. Taxis come here promptly. In summary: a hotel with pleasant, professional staff who are focused on guest needs and requests. We will certainly stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015
Dear guest, Thank you for your stay at xi’an Garden hotel. our hotel is 26 years old and it is featuring the architecture of the tang dynasty. The lovely and elegant garden attract every guest. With the service concept of satisfaction and surprise, we would like to offer perfect service and product with high quality for our guest. We look forward to seeing you again. Best regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by East and West from Pennsylvania

Nice, but with some issues

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Our room overlooked the central courtyard which is well maintained and creates a peaceful atmosphere in a very busy city.
Cons: The bell staff helping on getting taxis. Add a western style bar off the lobby.
Location: The typical Xi'an attractions. For the remote attractions, we found it better to hire a taxi for the day (8 hrs, 600 RMB), rather than bus tours.
The rooms are very spacious and comfortable, but we had problems with our air conditioner that the hotel was unable to fix. My brother had another room with no problems. It is a convenient walk to the park areas surrounding the Big Wild Goose Pagoda. I am a smoker and they have smoking rooms available. No smoking in the public areas and I am fine with that. A couple of issues: There was no safe in the room (my brother had one, but it was not bolted to anything). There is no western style bar in the hotel. Taxis are difficult to get and the hotel staff does not help, they simple told us to walk to the street and see if we could find one. The walk to the metro is quite far... Probably a good 25 minutes.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location and garden but hotel is tired

Posted Oct 10, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: English to be spoken more widely if they want to host international guests. Needs modernizing
Location: Big goose pangola, monorail, cheap tourist double decker bus, lake with little boats to hire a short walk away
booked months in advance requesting a non smoking room and didn't get it the first night. The second night we were moved. I requested a garden view room and was told they were fully booked and yet I booked months ago and still couldn't get the room requested. Rooms were tidy but very tired and a mish mash of textiles used which just cheapened the hotel. Great location and walking distance to good shops and attractions. The extra bed that we had to pay for was as hard as stone.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

average hotel in great location

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: location is fantastic. Walking distance to a happening environment, lots to see and do, eating facilities, transport etc. Hotel garden is great.
Cons: Update and modernise the rooms. The air conditioning was room controlled therefore was too hot for us and we couldn't do anything about it.
Location: Big goose pengoda...large mall and tourist bus/mono rail etc, local street markets.
we booked months in advance and upon arrival got given a smoking room even though we requested a non smoking. We were made to stay in that room for one night and the following two nights they moved us.. When we asked for a garden view room we were told that everything was booked out... even though we ourselves had booked months in advance.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tough hotel to do business with.

Posted Oct 7, 2012
Pros: No anything.
Cons: they threw away our reservation. the only reason we were able to stay here was I had printed proof and a confirmation number.
Location: it's ok.
We are Westerners. I reserved 2 rooms at this hotel for 2 couples. The other couple was given a room with a garden view and a Western bed-like I reserved. We were given a room with an extra hard uncomfortable Chinese bed and no garden view. This hotel threw away our reservation, so they gave us a bottom of the barrel room. No one speaks English and I believe they thought our 2 reservations were really the same even though the first names were different! Until they learn to speak and read English, I believe they will continue to make mistakes like this and will continue to not be able to serve English-speaking people.
3 out of 5
by Miky from London

You can get better value,Outdated, avoid SPA

Posted Apr 11, 2012
Pros: The garden and location are very nice
Cons: Poor room decor, SPA services very poor, staff couldnt speak much english
Location: Depending on how you plan to move, I thought that the location was amazing,next to one of the major attractions,a beautiful park,and shopping area
This Hotel is located next to the Big Wild Goose Pagoda, a lovely park, and a big shopping area(it costs about 15Y (in 2012) to get to the city centre - approx 10km).The hotel hall and garden are beautiful. The receptionists and bus boys were able to speak English even if with some difficulties. The restaurant is ok, although nothing special. Nobody in the restaurant could speak English, so much that they couldnt understand Sprite or Coca Cola. The room itself was a nice size, with a nice LCD TV, 2 Channels in English both News only. The decor of the room is very outdated besides the TV, I am assuming the last time that they changed furniture/carpets/courtains was the 80s. The bathroom was also quite outdated but clean and with complimentary toiletry. The BIG LET DOWN was the SPA services which was one of the reasons why I booked this hotel. When I went for a massage, they werent able to speak English and understand what service i wanted even if I pointed at their price board. Besides this I was taken into a bedroom, and I felt quite uncomfortable as it looked more like a place for gentlemen let's say. There were 3 ladies there, one of which was very rude, as she was talking Mandarin and laughing while I was undressing. The massage was with no oils and again it was done on a normal bed, it felt very strange and not nice. For the price I paid I expected more, above all If comparing it to the hotel that I was staying in Beijing which cost me the same and was modern and central.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super Service, etwas älteres Haus

Posted Jan 8, 2013
Pros: Super Service inkl. Unterstützung bei Sight-Seeing
Etwas älteres Hotel, aber sauber und komfortabel. Gute Lage, ausserhalb der Altstadt aber interessante Umgebung:-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Genug Raum zum Aufhalten

Posted Sep 8, 2012
Cons: keine klare Trennung von China-Frühstück und Western Frühstück: Probleme beim Bezahlen.
Location: Nicht im Zentrum, aber gute Busanbindung
Die Verständigung auf Englisch ist OK. Das Personal bemüht sich sehr um nützliche Informationen.