Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by JamesB from Michigan

Very Pleasant

Posted Jan 14, 2015 on Hotels
The staff were friendly. The room was more than adequate. The peacocks and swans in the garden were a fun surprise. And the location was perfect -- next to the Big Wild Goose Pagoda, which is the nicest part of Xi'an.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near to Daiyan Pagoda & Parks & Shopping Mall.

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Slow check in, credit card machine down. No phone service in room, No breakfast coupon !!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2015
Dear guest, thanks for your stay at Xi’an Garden hotel. Because of the POST machine belongs to the China bank with American Express card and Diners Card contract expires ,so the hotel does not support the two card trading temporarily, we apologize for the inconvenience. About the phone service in the room , we provide the phone service guide in every room, maybe you did not notice. About the breakfast, because you booked a room without breakfast, so we did not provide breakfast coupon for you . But you can pay or sign the bill in the restaurant in any time if you need . We apologize again for your unhappy. We expect another chance to bring you a new experience next time. Wish you happy every day!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would have been lovely when first built

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Value for money; older hotel which was probably quite lovely 30 years ago but a little tired now.
4 out of 5
by TAEJUN from korea

nice

Posted Nov 2, 2014 on Hotels
room was clean, bed was comfortable We walked to the near mall it looks like new town. nice~
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane from Sydney, Australia

hotel with charming garden oasis

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: excellent cleanliness, facilities in good working order, the staff attitudes were always friendly and pleasant; the breakfast and massages excellent
Cons: the Fitness Centre massage rooms look a bit tired, but the massages are excellent.
Location: A nightly fountain show near Big Wild Goose Pagoda, taxi to Ding Li tomb, other destinations (city wall, terracotta army, etc) . Do a day Western Tour
a very comfortable hotel: excellent housekeeping to ensure guest room comfort and high standard of cleanliness. Front desk staff are very pleasant and helpful, and the Concierge Desk staff were excellent (they helped arrange visits and taxis to sites out of town and around the city) and great at problem solving and translating for finer details of arrangements. Good communication between different sections of the hotel was apparent. The garden is charming, and a lovely oasis - complete with resplendent peacocks. The hotel is convenient to ATM facilities nearby, the Big Wild Goose Pagoda, restaurants, a department store, etc. Taxis come here promptly. In summary: a hotel with pleasant, professional staff who are focused on guest needs and requests. We will certainly stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015
Dear guest, Thank you for your stay at xi’an Garden hotel. our hotel is 26 years old and it is featuring the architecture of the tang dynasty. The lovely and elegant garden attract every guest. With the service concept of satisfaction and surprise, we would like to offer perfect service and product with high quality for our guest. We look forward to seeing you again. Best regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by East and West from Pennsylvania

Nice, but with some issues

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Our room overlooked the central courtyard which is well maintained and creates a peaceful atmosphere in a very busy city.
Cons: The bell staff helping on getting taxis. Add a western style bar off the lobby.
Location: The typical Xi'an attractions. For the remote attractions, we found it better to hire a taxi for the day (8 hrs, 600 RMB), rather than bus tours.
The rooms are very spacious and comfortable, but we had problems with our air conditioner that the hotel was unable to fix. My brother had another room with no problems. It is a convenient walk to the park areas surrounding the Big Wild Goose Pagoda. I am a smoker and they have smoking rooms available. No smoking in the public areas and I am fine with that. A couple of issues: There was no safe in the room (my brother had one, but it was not bolted to anything). There is no western style bar in the hotel. Taxis are difficult to get and the hotel staff does not help, they simple told us to walk to the street and see if we could find one. The walk to the metro is quite far... Probably a good 25 minutes.
3 out of 5
by Karel van der Mast from Netherlands

convenient for a Xi'an visit

Posted Oct 12, 2013 on Hotels
We are experienced global travellers, mostly business travel - so quite spoiled. Pleasant hotel, good service, clean room, nice enclosed garden on hotel property. Street noise level extremely low. Taxi to south gate costs only 13 Yuan. Some points for improvement: We were visiting in October 2014, outside temperatures exceeded 30 degrees Celsius, but room airco did not provide any cooling. Our question related to this was answered, that in our culture in this season we do not switch on the airco. Further the pillows were very special (rice filled?) but also very hard. In site of the few minor points we can recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location and garden but hotel is tired

Posted Oct 10, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: English to be spoken more widely if they want to host international guests. Needs modernizing
Location: Big goose pangola, monorail, cheap tourist double decker bus, lake with little boats to hire a short walk away
booked months in advance requesting a non smoking room and didn't get it the first night. The second night we were moved. I requested a garden view room and was told they were fully booked and yet I booked months ago and still couldn't get the room requested. Rooms were tidy but very tired and a mish mash of textiles used which just cheapened the hotel. Great location and walking distance to good shops and attractions. The extra bed that we had to pay for was as hard as stone.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

average hotel in great location

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: location is fantastic. Walking distance to a happening environment, lots to see and do, eating facilities, transport etc. Hotel garden is great.
Cons: Update and modernise the rooms. The air conditioning was room controlled therefore was too hot for us and we couldn't do anything about it.
Location: Big goose pengoda...large mall and tourist bus/mono rail etc, local street markets.
we booked months in advance and upon arrival got given a smoking room even though we requested a non smoking. We were made to stay in that room for one night and the following two nights they moved us.. When we asked for a garden view room we were told that everything was booked out... even though we ourselves had booked months in advance.
4 out of 5
by Lynn W from Savannah, GA

Posted Jun 20, 2013 on Hotels
Hotel great location, very pretty setting. Nice rooms and service. Only thing the spa was very dirty and needed updating. Didn't match the hotel.