Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Great location. Excellent room for a yha. Close to the Muslim quarters.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay in traditional building

Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice tastefully decorated hostel with simple but comfortable rooms. Walking-distance to main attractions.
4 out of 5
by Manoj from Brisbane, Australia

Good location and surroundings, bit crowded

Posted Apr 28, 2015 on Hotels
Main plus point is the location, 50 m from the City Wall and close to everything! Good surroundings with a nice quiet temple opposite the hotel. Room was spacious for the price, esp the bathroom. We used the coin laundry facility very cheap, but had some issues with the machine...well solved by one of the staff a young boy who went out of his way to help (could talk fair bit of English as well). Minus point is the young crowd milling around all the time. The worst thing was the absence of stairs to the upper floors. Our room on the 3rd floor needed bit of effort esp with the suitcases.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by vss from new delhi india

Nice down town budget facility

Posted May 22, 2014
The best thing is the excellent and helpful staff speaking English, something hard to get in the city. An old Chinese nobel house architecture is a nice touch to a hostel stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ryan from Saskatoon

Cool

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: The architecture and layout of the building was very nice.
Cons: Everything was good for the price.
Location: Very good location in walking distance of most things, restaurants and street food
Was very relaxed atmosphere we had a very good time.
3 out of 5
by Darren from Birmingham UK

Noisy road and not particularly helpful staff

Posted Sep 15, 2013
Pros: The price was ok and close to city walls.
Cons: Staff assistance to travellers and better windows to block out noise from outside.
Location: Close to walls, but quite a walk to all other sights.
If you get a room overlooking the road, it's difficult to sleep as the road is very noisy. My only other gripe is that we expected the staff at what is described as an international youth hostel to be more helpful to travellers. I speak mandarin, which is lucky as the staff struggled to understand me in English, but that's ok, after all, I was in China! However they would not help me book any tickets for onward travel, not a train or bus ticket or even a taxi! Unless you are booking a tour through their own driver or agents, they didn't want to know, which has not been my experience of any other hostels who are usually happy to help.
1 out of 5
by Jodi A.

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 21, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Wonderful staying

Posted Jul 19, 2013 on Hotels
It was a wonderful time staying at Xiangzimen Youth Hostel. Their friendly staff and tranditional environment made me felt very cozy. When you are there, try to find and play with the cat there, little sad that didn't have chance to say goodbye to her. She is lovely!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jason

Good character, good hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2013
Pros: Helpful staff, character, decoration, good AC
Cons: Better maintained rooms, blinds on outside windows to block morning light
Location: Great location around food and quiet area
The hotel was good considering the price and location. It wasn't in the greatest shape and the rooms were small, but what can you expect for this price and location? I am satisfied with my stay and the hotel staff was very helpful and nice. Can't ask for more.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spore

Xiangzi Men Youth Hostel

Posted Apr 13, 2012 on Hotels
周围环境算是很不错,位置相当好。酒店斜对面还有个买果汁的店,累了一整天回到酒店前买个果汁喝喝非常舒服。 Surrounding location and amenities are pretty good. Within walking distance from the pubs and local street food. My personal fav is that there is a fruit drink stall directly across the hostel which opens till late nite. So its pretty good to finish the nite with a refreshing fresh fruit juice after a day of exploration in Xi'an. 整体上还算可以,需要注意的有两点:厕所和住房的环境偏旧了,早餐的价格也稍微偏高。 In general the hostel is relatively fine, but there is two points to take note of: firstly, the rooms and the toilet are relatively old so its probably time for an upgrade, secondly, i personally find the breakfast pricing a little on the steep side.