Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Zhou

A Place not My Style.

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
Frankly speaking, this Sanya resort is the worst Anantara I've been to. The breakfast was poor, the property is so small, and the only thing remind me that it's an Anantara is the fragrance. But also, comparatively, it's also the cheapest I've been to. So consider the price and value, maybe it's still better than some of the other brands.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel but poor beach.

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Glad we got breakfast included, otherwise we would have starved. Nowhere nearby to eat; nothing to do. We were ok with that though as we really just wanted to relax. Could not go in the pool as the water was too cold; beach is full of coral and too rough. --
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
酒店服务还是可以的,早餐也不错。但是硬件比较老旧,马桶经常堵塞,洗澡水忽冷忽热,电视机遥控多个按钮失灵。周边没什么玩的,酒店外从早上到傍晚都是拍婚纱照的,吃东西不是很方便但是隔壁洲际有几家餐厅还可以。第一次在Hotels.com预定国内的酒店,但是酒店和网站均拒绝开具发票,无论Booking、Agoda还是携程、阿里旅行均没碰到过这样的情况。已经举报至国家国税局,并且不会再使用Hotels.com这样的无良公司。
4 out of 5
by Paul from Shanghai

Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels
Service was good at this hotel and they have a convenient shuttle service to town. My only dislike, is that there are many families with kids staying at this hotel with lots of kids running around. So, if your looking for peace and quiet at breakfast or by the pool, don't expect it.
1 out of 5
by FEI from hong kong

bloody awful

Posted Jul 13, 2015 on Hotels
absolute awful, the service was terrible first of all when we arrive the receptionist tried to up sell me to a better room and i refused, she gave me the most horrible face of all time. in the room the center of the bed was dented and when i approached the reception she told me if i want a wooden board to cover it. then they told me that the next day morning there is a tour we can go so we know all the features and facility in the hotel, and the person who took us around was a sales of the membership club, when i ask for the membership fee, she told me there is no point to ask for the price if we are price sensitive, then i refused to purchase the membership and she said to us we are wasting her time. I've complained this matter to the GM and he told me he is going to give me a feedback, but until i checked out i saw no sign of any feedback giving by the gm or the hotel, the GM even refused to pass me his name card because he said the membership program is not under this management, this is the worst hotel i've ever stayed in my life
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2015 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Dear Fei, Thanks a lot for your feedback. We are very concerned with our guest experience at our hotel , Thus we have passed your comments to the head office of Anantara Vacation Club, they will take an action and may contact you soon. We will keep improving our service level and hope you can come back to our hotel again. Best wishes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by NeoCCL

great holiday experience

Posted May 6, 2015 on HotelClub
like other resorts, we have been provided all we needed and something we were not expected. This resort is in a location that not within other peak travel area so for a peaceful family escape would be perfect. Staff is helpful too. Would be interested to see their villa for our next trip.
4 out of 5
by Carola from Shanghai

Little getaway from the city

Posted Mar 27, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is nice enough and deserves the star rating. The staff doesn't speak much English so the usual translation issues arise - meaning if you want extra milk with your coffee you better learn how to say this in Chinese. Overall the staff is helpful and nice. The food is just ok and we did not have one meal that we felt overwhelmed with. Its also very pricey. Expect the same prices at the Intercontinental next door. Even the buffet dinner was just ok. The breakfast buffet was nice and there are plenty of choices. My only complaint (as a German) would be that there was only ever two types of bread to choose from. And no, banana bread is not a bread. The beach near the hotel is disappointing. It was very dirty and there was a lot of rubbish so we decided not to swim there at all. I wanted to try the Spa but felt that it was ways to expensive so I probably would have not been able to relax knowing that a minute is costing me $5 AUD. Overall, we had a pleasant stay and it was a short break from the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2015 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Dear Calora, Greeting from Anantara Sanya Resort& Spa! Thank you for spending your holiday in our hotel, Anantara is located in the quiet Xiao Donghai and would like to provide you a peaceful environment when you explore the beautiful island。 We are sorry for the inconvenience due to the less English speaking staff, our hotel will step up the English training in the future. Additionally, we are embarrassed for the rocky beach and maybe it causes the trouble to you, but I have to tell you that there is coral reef nature reserve, the beach shouldn’t have been excessive development due to the nature protecting. Please forgive us and we insist the theory that man is an integral part of nature. In 2015, we are ready to pick the most dazzling stars form the sky and gentle drop them into your eyes which will shine of thousand lights when discovering the beautiful island in Sanya, Hainan. Thank you and hope to see you again to witness our grow up!
4 out of 5
by huiyan from Sunderland

Great Sanya Resort

Posted Feb 3, 2015 on Hotels
Really nice, we had a great time here and the hotel staff were so kind.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HK

Relaxing and recharged

Posted Oct 11, 2014
We had pleasant contact with the majority of staff and met some very warm and helpful individuals in the restaurants, house cleaning and lobby. However if there is a improvement required, its related to the children's activities that were advertised in the half hour slots in which staff can be more proactive to lead this. Basically the staff here is not as good?? When we registered for the various classes such as face painting for our 2 boys, we thought staff would help and teach them. But it was literally, here's the crayons, you guys do it yourself! If its simply like this, no need to do these children's activities in designated slots but available for parents to use anytime then? Other times, the activities did not go ahead because there were not enough children. Well again, please don't advertised such classes in the first place then! This is the reason why the hotel staff and facilities has been rated 4..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

1st Time in Sanya

Posted Oct 5, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed in this hotel for 3 days, it was our first time in Sanya. It was low season during our stay, so the hotel was not packed. If you are looking for moment of silence, this is the place! Most staffs are capable to communicate in English and service is just excellent! The swimming pool is fascinating, there is also a shared beach with Intercontinental Hotel, but there are many large stones at the sea bottom which I decided to return to the pool.