Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belarus

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Everything
Stayed for 2 nights. The staff was super friendly and helpful. We arrived too early for check in and were very glad to get 'welcome breakfast'. They did their best to anticipate our needs and help us to enjoy our travel. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was different each morning and it was really good. Will stay here again during next travel to Beijing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Jul 2, 2017
The Shishahai Sandalwood hotel is magical! The hotel is authentic and very small and warm. As a boutique hotel you are very well taken care of. The rooms are really beautiful, authentic and spacious. I do not have 1 complaint about the room. PERFECT. The best thing about this hotel is the staff. They are so helpful sweet and amazing! Helped us in everything we needed (and a western in China needs help). The hotel is close to two subway stations, 5-10 minutes walk. To conclude, I recommend this hotel to every person who wants to get an authentic experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

The best Beijing hotel we've stayed at

Posted May 7, 2017
The staff were fantastic, lovely big & clean room (huge bed)
5 out of 5
by Mike from Memphis, TN

Not just your regular hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
How this place doesn't have a 5 star rating is beyond me. It's nestled right in the Hutong, but on the edge so it's easy to get to. Your room is litterally a small house inside a complex. Clean as can be, I'd eat off the floor, great staff, and an experience not to be forgotten. If you want your typical run of the mill hotel, go somewhere else.
4 out of 5
by Yan bing

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Douglas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Camden London

Great Stay, The Only Place To Stay In Beijing

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Perfect, middle of the city
Perfect, everything is exactly what you want on a stay away from home. Staff were amazing, spoke perfect english and were very helpful. You got a choice of two different breakfasts in the morning which were lovely and the look of the hotel was super dope. We went for a Deluxe Suite which is a must!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Must stay at Shichahai Sandalwood Boutique Hotel

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
We had an amazing stay at Shichahai Sandalwood Boutique Hotel. The staff is extremely helpful. They are a young staff and their main goal is to keep the guests happy. Every request is taken care of with a smile. We enjoyed The Shadow Art show. It is complementary for guests. Also, a dumpling cooking class is offered at the hotel. The cost for the class is 58 rmb which is quite inexpensive. After making the dumplings, you can enjoy eating them for lunch or dinner depending on the time you schedule the class. Two people are needed to run a class. This cooking class was a highlight in Beijing. The hotel is located in the old section of Beijing. The area has character and you feel like you stepped back in time. This hutong area is not overrun with tourists. You see the locals going about their everyday routines. This area is safe and you can wander through the narrow lanes any time of the day without any concerns for safety. We would definitely stay at this hotel again when visiting Beijing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
interesting theme hotel, very spacious room and good service only issue is that owing to the layout, rooms surrounding the hall area are not sound proof and could get noisy when people were out there chatting or early morning when staff pulling chairs and tables to set up for breakfast
5 out of 5
by Tatt Si

Boutique hotel with an Mandarin touch

Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
The only problem, was locating in in the bustle & bustle of the city.