Ratings based on 375 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Pros: Quite a gem, very professional staff, Wendy and Martin come to mind but all were very helpful during my stay Dec 2 - 8, 2017 delicious breakfast
Location: great bars within walking distance
Quite a gem, very professional staff, Wendy and Martin come to mind but all were very helpful during my stay Dec 2 - 8, 2017 delicious breakfast
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel but long walk to the public transport .

Posted Dec 12, 2017
We stayed 3 nights at the hotel everything was fine,it takes 20 minutes walk from hotel to the public transport a bit far away from city not recommend for elderly person.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: hotel was in a good location and the staff was helpful and friendly
Cons: softer mattresses would be good
Location: 5 min walk from bars and restaurants
Had a great time, hotel was in a good location and the staff was helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and cosy hotel

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: bed
Cons: location
Is a nice and clean hotel. However the only cons is the location. It is located in a small alley in hutong and taxi driver will be quite reluctant to drive into the alley. Please note this if you plan to take taxi often when you are in beijing. However, the subway station is near enough (10-15 mins) walk for you to access the public transport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Nice hotel. No ac only heater room was too hot in winter. Good breakfast. Shadow puppet show is a must see, very old UNESCO recognized art which is going extinct, only very few people now work on it. Location is good, although small streets make it difficult to access with car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Ontario

Nice hotel in a quiet & historic park of Beijing

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was very good and I liked their 2 for 1 happy hour. The puppet show was world class.
Location: It is located in a old & historic hutong and some people may not feel comfortable walking down the alley ways. Do not worry, it is safe and clean.
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel is a small hotel in a hutong. The streets are narrow and you will not find much in the way of car traffic. What you will find is a nice hotel with friendly staff, good food and a decent happy hour, a wonderful puppet show for all ages in an area that is fun to walk around. It is close to the Beihai Metro subway line 6 and I suggest you skip the taxi and take the Metro. I emailed the hotel before I arrived and they sent me instructions how to get to the hotel from the airport via the subway. The hotel is super clean (I stayed in room 210) , they take VISA, and the staff speak english. My room rate came with breakfast (western & Asian) and it was very good as was the coffee. This is a wonderful hotel and once you walk around the hutong, you come to realize it is a very safe area. I hope to go to Beijing again next year and I will certainly stay here again if I can.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Not entirely satisfied or dis-satisfied stay

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: The real deluxe room with windows towards the courtyard was really nice. We love the breakfast, and the staffs speaks good English.
Cons: Please don't sell room 206 as a deluxe room. It's the most depressing deluxe room we've ever seen. There's only a tiny window facing neighbor's wall.
Location: It locates in a really authentic Beijing neighborhood with walking distance to subways and Houhai area. Many restraints and bars are in the area.
We were really looking forward for the stay when I booked two deluxe rooms online. It seems like the perfect Beijing experience with convenient location and interesting shadow puppet performance. However, we were left feeling depressed when one of the deluxe room totally looks like the standard room with one small window and no tea area. The staff told me it's basically a standard room with a better air flow? How could that be when you open the window and has a wall 5 inches away from you? We were hugely disappointed with that room, especially when the other room we got were so much nicer (which looks the same as the picture shown on the website). We ended up staying at the same rooms due to all the other deluxe rooms were all booked. It makes me think maybe they overbook deluxe rooms. Other than that, everything's satisfied. They have a bar, but kitchen closes around 9pm I think. You can also book tours with them. We booked a private tour to the great wall which was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Really enjoyed our stay. Nice quiet hotel and the staff were extremely helpful. Short distance from major attractions and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Very unique hotel in the hutong area of Shichahai

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: We especially like that we were in a hutong and as we walked out the front door, there was the life of the people of Beijing all around us.
Cons: The wifi was a bit weak.
Location: In the Shichahai district, walking distance to gorgeous lakes, temples, interesting streets and 750 meters from the Beihai North subway.
The aspect of the hotel was adorable. With its Shadow Puppet theater in the lounge. Very tastefully decorated around this theme. We started our day with a terrific breakfast, that included bacon, eggs, fried mushrooms and tomatoes, plus toast and New Zealand butter ( we are from New Zealand ) . But also the was a full range of Chinese breakfast of steamed buns, congee, boiled eggs and pickles. Plus tea,coffee and orange juice to set you off for the days exploring. We witnessed two shadow puppet performances, painted a dragon puppet. Our room was well sized with large beds two singles pushed together, which we loved. A modern bathroom with all the facilities. We meet many other travelers from China, USA, Britain, Poland and Australia. It seemed that families also enjoyed their time there as it was relaxed. We often came back to witness dumping making lessons or other activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Additional services

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Ambiance
Cons: Concierge services for external activities
Location: Location great but not much assistance in accessing them.
It was very difficulty to arrange a taxi, rickshaw, a private guide or go on a tour although this is advertised. It seemed that only the more expensive options that were made by arrangement with the hotel were made available.