Ratings based on 349 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with traditional Chinese setting

Posted Aug 1, 2017
We are from the US and had a pleasant stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food is reasonably well prepared. The Shadow Art shows are wonderful and the crafts activities are fun for kids to enjoy. Walking distance to Hou Hai which is a very touristy area esp. at night. The hotel is accessible by Taxi but the Hutong is narrow and some drivers would drop off nearby. The hotel will help arrange tours to scenic spots such as the Great Wall when you get there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Simi Valley, CA

Nice hotel in historic area

Posted May 26, 2017
This hotel is very clean, nice service, etc Be aware it is located right in the middle of a local are with very narrow passage ways and can be a bit hard to find. Other than that very nice...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel with character

Posted May 17, 2017 on Ebookers
Great hotel for visitors. Highly recommended. Only minor issues: it gets noisy in the morning if you are not a morning person, not easy to get a taxi in the Hutong
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

great experience!

Posted May 13, 2017 on Orbitz
Very helpful staff and central location . The staff especially Henry, always took the initiative to assist us. The room was very clean
5 out of 5
by Kenneth

Hospitality in Living History

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
Located in a traditional hutong, this hotel is stylish, clean and comfortable, with friendly and helpful English-speaking staff. Enjoy a shadow puppet performance three times a week. Tasty breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exelent location

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Exelent location right in the middle of the houtongs where you see daily life where the locals live. Felt perfectly safe day and night wandering the little alleyways. Try to go to the park near the lake at the bottom of the road (right out of hotel) at night to experience some local culture. Don't miss the Shadow puppets performance it's unique. Don't expect the Waldorf but then you should be out exploring this escape from the Gucci type high street than spending loads of time in your room. This will not disappoint if you want to see real China in the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

A must stay hotel !!

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Unique and a great opportunity to be in the middle of a local Beijing neighborhood.
Cons: Instructions for heat and air conditioner which were not in English. Shower door opens the wrong direction.
What an enjoyable experience! Great shadow arts performance show, wonderful breakfast and great staff. I highly recommend a stay here during your visit to Beijing
5 out of 5
by Matthew

Hidden Treasure

Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
The staff, Lucky and Adele were beyond sweet. The breakfast and activities were delightful and unique. The alleyway location makes it a special find, although hard at night (seems long) after walking the city, but the value is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Flagstaff, AZ

Nice for families

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Quaint
Cons: Cleaner bathroom shower.
Location: Hochai Lake is a nice place to walk or use exercise equipment at the park. Many fun karaoke bars, great hot pot restaurant and lots of shopping.
Our family enjoyed our stay here for our last three nights in Beijing. We liked staying in the Hutong district because we enjoyed our walks to Houhai Lake for shopping, eating and getting to know the local culture. The closest subway station is a little bit of a hike but we did use it a couple of times during our stay. The Shadow puppet show is such a treat! Our kids enjoyed painting an actual shadow puppet to take home for a small purchase.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunshine Coast, Australia

Great Hotel but Depressing Room

Posted Apr 1, 2017
This is a lovely little hotel in a very interesting area. The subway is close and super cheap. The lakes and hutong areas offer so much ( Beihie Park, Nanlouguchiang St, Houhai, rear entry to Forbidden City,etc). We ate in super-cheap local restaurants and met lovely people and felt safe walking home at night. Very peaceful and a real insight into real Beijing. The staff are all very helpful and we were more than satisfied with the breakfast. However our room was really small and the bed was built into the corner of the room. There was no indication of this on the booking site. I am a fit '60s something' but don't enjoy crawling across the bed to get in and out, especially during the night. This is a 2 star feature. The one other irritating feature was the air conditioning. We had an internal room and even in cool early spring Beijing we were stuffy and hot. We asked reception several times to help but it made no difference. Thank goodness we didn't need to spend too much time in the room. The bathroom was fine. I would still recommend it if you are able to choose your room. It's a great alternative to soulless big city chains on big busy roads.