Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by wen

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
The room and floor has strong cigarette smell, even though there is sign for no smoking on the floor. We requested a change of room to a different floor and is still the same. Breakfast was ok with limited selection, the dinning hall has no elevator. Overall stay was ok.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, Nice Location, Fair Price

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is very near to Ximending, famous shopping street of Taipei, just 5 minutes of walking. The hotel condition is also great and the price is fair.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice people, no airport shuttle

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Second time I stayed I was put on the construction floor, so a bit noisy but not during sleeping time. They did not have an airport shuttle like was advertised.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
We paid for a non smoking room and got a room smelling bad that my visitor almost vomitted. The pictures just show the good parts of the hotel. The elevator is small. You need to walk up a flight stairs to go to the dining area which makes it extremely inconvenient for senior citizens.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Decent hotel near Ximending

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: From research of the the area that we would like to stay.
Cons: Ensure that all the amenities in the rooms are working properly - AC system leaking water, broken shower head holder, and cigarette smell in one room.
Location: Walkable to subway transit, shopping, and restaurants.
The location of the hotel is really good near one of the main shopping districts of Taipei, Ximending. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, and tried to do their best to make our stay as comfortable as possible. There's free valet parking at the hotel, which was extremely useful for those who wish to rent a car and drive outside of Taipei.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Hotel staff were not helpful or friendly. Rooms smelled like mold and were not cleaned well. Used wrappers and garbage found under bed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value.

Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels
Good value for money. The passage smelt of stale smoke. It had a pizza oven, which was good for westerners. Close to the market.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly and helpful people. Walk to metro

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
Ad says they have airport shuttle and they don't. Not much variety in the breakfast. Very nice and helpful people. I walked all over the place from there including to the metro station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Japan

Great staff/room/bed/location, subpar brkfst/sound

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: Huangi Night Market (Snake Alley), gay clubs/bars, Red House Theater, Xi Men Ding shopping area (Called the Shibuya of Taipei), great access
The hotel staff were so friendly and spoke both English and Japanese, so we didn't have any communication problems. We booked the SAUNA room, and though earlier reviews said the sauna didn't really get hot, we found that it just took a bit of time to heat up and having the door completely closed and the air vent closed was probably the problem. The sauna was absolutely amazing. Both of us sat comfortably in it and chatted for a long time, sweating our butts off. So staff and room and price were all amazing advantages. The downsides: first off, the walls were a bit thin-- we could hear the people above or beside us when they sneezed and the shuffling of feet when people walked in the hallways. Breakfast was a bit subpar. There were eggs and ham, some bread rolls, and porridge, but that was it. Only orange juice, grape juice, and coffee. Would have loved some ice water, maybe some cereal, and some hardier food. But the price was definitely reasonable. The location was also AWESOME! Only 10 minutes to the Huaxi snake market, 10 minutes walk to the nearest station for MRT, 5 minutes walk to big shopping area (XiMenDing?), close bus stop, lots of restaurants/food stalls/ convenience stores. Finally, the bed was SO comfortable. A lot of Asian hotels have really hard beds, but ours was so perfect, and the blackout drapes really kept the sun out, so we passed out. 100% would recommend, as long as you can ignore the sounds and aren't prissy about a no-frills breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northampton

Basic but good value for money

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Great staff. Clean and spacious room. The ONLY thing that lets this hotel down is the appalling quality of the breakfast buffet. Much of the hot food was actually cold and greasy. Poor selection. It was better to eat elsewhere as there are loads of good cafes/restaurants close by.