Ratings based on 204 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Paul

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Nice hotel, walking distance to the city wall. Room was clean and well taken care of. Sensor light in closet was broken and stayed on all night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Geelong, Australia

Not the best in Renmin Square

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Art deco design, Location in Renmin Square
Cons: Room temperature controls, very puzzling to operate
Location: Central location, walking distance to Bell Tower & City Wall.
Mercure Hotel much better value than Grand Mercure, breakfast limited choice. Dingy lighting in room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by Rudy Rodas, Hotel Management
Dear Chris, Thank you for staying at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square and taking the time to share your experience with us. I'm sorry that the breakfast and lighting in room didn't meet your expectation. I've shared your comments with my team and we will keep on improving ourselves. Our efforts in striving for excellent guest experience will never stop, and it is still our sincere wish that we would have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. Yous sincerely, Rudy Rodas General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Cons: Wi-Fi works sporadically at best.
Location: Nice restaurants and local shopping available near the hotel. The hotel consists of four parts, each with a different restaurant.
Clean and comfortable room. The hotel staff is friendly and accommodating.
5 out of 5
by Ed from USA

Good to stay with 4 stars

Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels
very quiet but nee to remodel all the room area.bathroom need major remodel tiles
5 out of 5
by Robert

One of the best by any standard

Posted Aug 4, 2017 on Hotels
I really enjoyed my stay. The cozyness of the Renmin square extended to my room! There us a bedside panel that you use to control temperature and lights. The rooms have true block out curtains. I forgot to mention that they clean your room several times a day depending on your needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

A bit of old.

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Orbitz
This hotel is located at the center of Xi'an city. You can take a taxi to most attraction sites for less than 20RMB. We got free breakfast that provided both Chinese and western food. We were also able to use the pool/spa in adjacent Sofitel. The only complain we had was that the air conditioner did not work well in the hot summer days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham, UK

Wonderful Hotel, great staff.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Lovely hotel in complex with Sofitel and Peoples Grand. 20 - 30 minute walk to Bell Tower. Easy to walk to city wall. Xian is lovely. Metro stations within 15 - 20 minute walks in two directions. Lots of shops nearby (10 minutes walk). HOB, BBC News, CNN English language tv channels. Safe location. Friendly staff - especially Angela on reception. She even remembered my room number and name when I approached reception for something. Made you feel valued as a customer. Xian itself is lovely with really friendly people and loads to see. One of best hotels I've stayed in around the world - good value for money. Only real issue mentioned by others is the room is a little dark. Partly due to the net curtains and partly low wattage light bulbs. But this is really minor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Good location Helpful staff Rooms a bit older
5 out of 5
by Huixian

Comfortable stay in serene compound

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
I like it that the cluster of Accor hotels are in a compound, with high security (since did hear about some security issues in city). Also service from service staff all over the hotel was tops! I get ample info on wifi downtime (only after midnight maintenance) and free upgrade of breakfast at Sofitel as hotel restaurant was closed. Strongly recommend this hotel! Hotel is 15mins walk to the nearest city gate, and also on the way to bell tower in city wall centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2017 on Wotif
Very comfortable lovely grounds! Conveniently located. Helpful staff the trainee was great.