Ratings based on 771 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

perfect family vacation venue

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Pros: Resort grounds, beach, ocean, variety of activities
Cons: food at dinner buffets, more comfortable beds, check in process
Location: Excellent location with plenty of activities nearby; golf, ruins, cenotes etc
Barceló Maya Resort was a terrific choice for our family vacation, Ten of us (grandparents/kids/grandkids) stayed at the Colonial. Rooms were clean but big difference from 1st floor to 2nd. 1st floor rooms were clammy and damp so we changed after two days to 2nd floor rooms for all with a huge difference in humidity. Also, beds were a little hard for an entire week stay. But overall, a nice resort, beautifully landscaped, all kinds of activities, GREAT beach and ocean. Food at the ala carte restaurants (Tokyo, Sante Fe, Marenostrum, La Trattoria) was good, breakfast buffet was also good. Lunch near beach was adequate, dinner buffets were edible if you arrived early, if you got to the buffet late many pans were empty so what was left was pretty mediocre. Shows were fun and had some very talented performers. Overall a solid 4 out of 5. Foodies might be disappointed, but for families with kids the resort fits the bill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

Gorgeous resort!

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Fun and beautiful resort! Great place if you want to go to the beach and have the option to swim in a pool. Wonderful snorkeling and exceptional service from the resort staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Clean resort friendly staff

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Did not know that top shelf alcohol would be an extra charge. Not that big a deal for us but if you want top shelf it's a pain to sign a room charge slip for every drink. Jack Daniels stock fell this week and Jim Bean is up. We would go back as staff was great resort clean and food was great. The 1000 resort dollars is only applied for a percentage of the regular prices for spa and activitires like their water park and mini golf. We still had a great time but do not expect much from this resort credit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice hotel with close beach, numerous amenities

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Pros: Staff was great. Buffet had something for everyone to like. Enjoyed the specialty resturaunts. Coordinating excursions at the hotel was a breeze.
Cons: The light fixture above the tub had fell out of the ceiling leaving glass in tub. Renovations made long walk to pool
Location: Tulum excursion was great, zip lining, atvs, cenotes also enjoyable
Had great time at the pool, beach, restaurants, clubs, casino and excursions outside the property,.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

GREAT VACATION!

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Several of us stayed a week at the Colonial and had a wonderful time! There is SO MUCH to do - whether you're an adult or a kid. Tons of activities, the pools are wonderful, the buffets were great (plan on gaining weight), the nicer restaurants were really good, shopping was plentiful. The spa is an absolute and pack workout clothes - the gym is fantastic. The hotel staff was extremely nice and accommodating. Making reservations for the spa and restaurants were SUPER EASY and just a few more steps to the excursion office, and that was a SUPER EASY process also! Regarding the non-motorized water sports - it's a first come / first serve - don't bother with reservations - it doesn't work. One of the staff at the diving / snorkel counter was a bit rude. Room bathrooms are huge - and the towels are bath sheets (loved!) - but they aren't consistent with what type of items they provide. You might get hand towels / wash clothes - you might not. Room service was a little challenging. The resort is so big you can get a little lost, but after a few days you get your sense of direction down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sugar land , tx

Beautiful hotel on the beach with great amenities

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Stayed at Barcelo Colonial for 6 nights and enjoyed every part. Love the proximity to the beach. Water was amazing so clear and turquoise blue. The mall was great for souvenir shopping. The property is HUGE so there was a lot of walking which was great for exercise. The spa water therapy circuit was wonderful. Sunrise on the beach was perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Awesome resort with endless things to do. The snorkeling on the resort was the best, saw all kinds of fish, sting rays, and got to see a sea turtle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto canada

Barceló Maya Grand (Colonial)

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: They no longer use a towel card.. (makes more work for staff as people just leave their towels laying around). all the staff are very personable.
Cons: Pools could be open later..
Location: n/a
As with all my visits to this resort, I loved it.. I know what I am getting and I know what I want. We wanted a relaxing vacation and had it.. It was hard to leave. we have made some wonderful friends there and it was hard to say good bye. From the ala carte restaurants to the SPECTACULAR dinner on the beach, the food was wonderful. Can't wait for our next adventure there for a wedding in May 2018. #lovebarcelo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cassville, MO

Another wonderful vacation

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Stayed in an oceanfront suite. Worth the extra money for the upgrade.
Cons: The floors in the Beach and Caribe buffets seem kind of slippery.
Location: Visited Tulum and Coba again on this trip with some of our party that had not been down before. There are lots of things to see and do.
This makes about 20 times now that I have stayed at the Barceló Maya Resort. While not every trip over the years has been perfect, this one came pretty close. In spite of tropical storm Nate dropping by for a short visit, the weather was great. Calm water for several days. Good snorkeling and plenty to see. Excellent dining and good drinks. Looking forward to my next stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice location and facilities

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Overall experience was great had a couple rainy days but it is the rainy season so that's to be expected. A little mix up on check in but not sure who's to blame resortir expedia.