Ratings based on 218 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from From Canada

Exactly what we expected.

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: The road in was rough.
Location: Five Mayan ruins nearby.
The location was superior to the hotels in town, which were all close to the highway. The grounds were fun and well kept. There was no air conditioning, which we also did not expect. It was a very nice experience all around.
4 out of 5
by Roxana

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Beautiful place for a short stay

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Wotif
Location: It is about 10 min drive from Xpujil. There are no shops around. Chicanna Mayan ruins are about 20 min walk. Calakmul is about 2.5 to 3 hour drive.
Well maintained and landscaped ground. Very peaceful. The pool was very nice. Comfortable room. Very helpful and friendly staff. The receptionist helped us getting ADO bus tickets from Xpujil as we didn't have a car. We read unfavourable reviews about their restaurant before we went there but we found it to be pretty decent. Chicken main dishes were really tasty. Of course, you can't compare to quality that you get around Cancun area.
4 out of 5
by Barrie from Sevenoaks

Beech Lee's Bees tour of Mexico

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
This was a two night stop on our tour of Yucatan. This was the perfect location between Campeche and Bacalar. This hotel has a wonderful setting in the jungle environ. The room was good, clean and comfortable. The food was good. The pool and its surroundings were good. We recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison WI

Hotel is close to chicanna site

Posted Mar 10, 2016
Pros: proximity to Chicanna.
Location: Chicanna is wonderful.
My reservation had a major error in it. Expedia repeatedly crashed. So I couldn't correct it. The hotel has a no cancellation policy. I paid for a night I wasn't there. It will be a long time before I willingly use Expedia again. The hot water was just adequate. Too few electrical outlets required unplugging lamps.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Best hotel in the southern Yucatan Peninsula. Very good food. Very good staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S.

When location is important

Posted Jan 23, 2016
We stayed here, wanting to have access to the several smaller Mayan ruins and position ourselves for a bigger trip to Cakakmul. That worked ok, but don't expect a posh accommodation, though it's among the best in a very limited area. The restaurant on site may be the best part of the experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Spartan, Even in the Personal Treatment.

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: The location is great. One of the waiters was awesome. Great birding spot.
Cons: Everything!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Particularly the windows in the rooms.
Location: Mayan sites Balamkú and Becán are very near by (less than half an hour's drive). Calakmul is somewhat close and the place is great for birding.
This hotel serves its purpose and the owners know it. It is not a place where you go for vacation, it is a place where you go to sleep while a lot of things away from the property. It is close (use the term very loosely - 2 hours) to the Mayan site of Calakmul and it is a great place if you are into birding, like I am. The rooms is very spartan, two beds, a lamp on a night stand, a small table and another one on the outside terrace with two chairs. The furniture is old, the wooden slat windows do not close properly, the mesh outside the windows is thick with dirt and the space under the door allows bugs to get in. There were geckos in our room that obviously found a way in. The place was surprisingly noisy from the trucks driving on the nearby highway all night and because of the window situation is also very noisy when the other tourists come and god as the voices carry in the middle of the jungle. The stairs between first and second floors albeit beautiful, both in craftsmanship and color, are very rickety and noisy when people go upstairs. The pool area could use some work on the patch of dirt on the opposite end of where you come into it. The personnel at the reception area have the charm of a cold brick. The bright spots : it is safe, it has a guard 24 hours a day, it is great for birding, it is close (30 kilometers) to the largest bat cave (which we visited with our guide) in the Western Hemisphere I was told, and the food at the restaurant is not bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel very close to Mayan ruins

Posted Jul 18, 2015
This is a simple but lovely hotel, very close to the ruins at Chicanna. We walked there inlets than 10 mins. The wildlife you can see here is part of its attraction, we saw foxes, tapirs and a whole host of birds which the hotel have named in a list they provided. The cabaña rooms are very clean and well kept. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially in the restaurant which considering this is quite a remote location was very good and catered for vegetarians. There is a small refreshing pool and a watch tower to view birds.
4 out of 5
by JAIME from Mexico

Unique experience

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
You want to stay in this hotel if you are visiting the Mayan ruins of Calakmul which are located 80 miles from Chicanna Ecovillage. I and my family stayed here just for a night. The cabin-like very basic rooms are in the middle of the rain forest. No TV, no telephone,no cell phone signal... internet is available only in the front desk area. Most likey, the sound of hundreds of birds will wake you up at 5:30 AM. Food in their restaurant "La Biosfera" is really outstanding. In summary we enjoyed the experience.