Ratings based on 562 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not to recommend

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
It's very dated. Lobby and breakfast area smelled strange.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Good value Hotel in Shanghai

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: It was easy to get into Shanghai city from the hotel. The price was excellent value.
Cons: Clearer signs to the entrance and a sign in English identifying the hotel. There was also some mould on the ceiling in our room.
Location: There were good restaurants within a block, and it was easy to get to the Shanghai subway.
The hotel location was good; it was close to the subway and many restaurants. The breakfast was basic but very adequate, especially the scrambled eggs every morning. When we had a problem with the room, they fixed it immediately.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, Australia

Nice hotel, easy to find, near a train station.

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff that tries to speak English. They helped me get a taxi going to the airport.
Cons: Cleaning of the air conditioning and asking the guests to not smoke in their rooms.
A good cheap hotel with a staff that tries to speak English. The only complaint I have with this hotel is the cigarette smell of the room the moment I entered it. Otherwise, it it a good hotel for its price as a budget hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible hotel with ok location

Posted Apr 17, 2017
The staff was unfriendly, the bathroom was horrible and smelly, there was mold on the wall, the room was dirty, the wifi was terrible and the breakfast awful. We only ate there once and then went elsewhere. We wouldn't stay here again.
2 out of 5
by Ned

okay hotel for Shanghai

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was fine,breakfast ok for chinese nothing impressive, far a little bit from the metro station, Dong'An station exit A Market across the street
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room smell stingy. No elevator.

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Orbitz
Room smell bad and no elevator. Not easy to find. I don't want to go there any more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Basic, clean and reasonable value

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Clean, good value
Cons: Minor repairs (window frame in my room)
Location: Mixed business and residential neighbourhood. Many inexpensive eateries within 2-3 blocks.
The hotel was basic, but provided a clean comfortable bed, good shower, safe, small refrigerator, TV, phone, hairdryer, soap, shampoo, toothbrush, toothpaste, comb and razor. For the price, this was good value. Many casual eateries within short walking distance (less than 5 minutes). I would stay there again when needing to stay in that neighbourhood of Shanghai.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful and avoid at any cost!!!

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
Located in a hidden place and the receptionist didn't answer the phone when a cab driver tried to call for direction. Finally he found it and upon entering the place smelled of mildew and heavy tobacco smoke. Cranky man came out and spent 15 minutes registering us. Then once getting to our tired looking room I noticed a giant roach and its family in the bathroom. Shocked and disgusted, I called the receptionist who sent their bell man and he was laughing and chased after the giant flying roach and finally killed it in front of me then casually walked away. After demanding to get a different room, I was screamed and yelled by the receptionist who then reluctantly gave another tired looking room minus the roach. Was upset and didn't sleep well. Checked out the breakfast, it was not impressive at all by any means. The whole hotel needs a huge upgrade and for the price they charge, they didn't even meet the 30% of its value. Avoid it at any costs as I had a better luck finding other hotels for slightly higher price.
4 out of 5
by Michael from UK

Good value for money hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
Good value for money hotel on Wan Ping Road. Good for longer stays. Facilities OK given the pricing. Staff friendly
2 out of 5
by KunHo from Arizona

Way over rated!

Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
A 3.5 stars rating is unfit for its condition now. It should be rated at 2 stars at best.