Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Marilyn

Quiet place in Shanghai.

Posted May 26, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel. Great food. Comfortable bed. English not much spoken other than at front desk, but staff is most pleasant and tries hard to help. Near to East China University of Science and Technology (ECUST).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Irvine, CA, USA

A reasonable hotel with a reasonable price

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on CheapTickets
A hotel with a spacious room for a decent price in Shanghai. They could do a better job in maintaining the conditions of the furnitures and other facilities
3 out of 5
by Sarah

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was not too bad, but I doubt that I'd return. The room is fairly basic for the price. The breakfast is VERY overpriced, but there are not many other options in the surrounding area. I booked a king bed, but was given a room with two singles. The staff switched me to a much smaller room with a double bed when I brought this to their attention. It was ok, but I had paid extra for a large room with a king.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall, good experience.

Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel near the botanical gardens, but far from other sight seeing areas.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I love the quietness and the garden next door!

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
The Garden next door! You cannot beat that.
5 out of 5
by Jie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Monica from Los Angeles

Beautiful and clean hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels
As other reviewers mention, it is slightly outside the main part of the city - however, it was perfect for us because it was in close proximity to where family lived. The hotel was very clean, the staff extremely professional and everyone spoke at least a little bit of english, and the hotel is walking distance from the beautiful Shanghai Botanical Gardens (only 20RMB, or about $3.50 entrance fee). The room was cleaned well every day and we had a lovely view of the hotel's pond and black swans. I would highly recommend, especially if you need to stay in the southern part of Shanghai for any reason.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, USA

Excellent place to de-jet lag.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Next to the Botantical Gardent. Outdoor dinning. Very pleasant staff. Nice pool, too.
Cons: Some of the outdoor furniture on the deck was ragged.
Location: Not too far (10 minute cab - 14 RMB) from the Shanghai South Railway Station.
I have been to the tourist areas of Shanghai several times, so for me, it was not neccessary to be in the heart of the tourist district. What is remarkable about Skylight Gardents is its immediate proximity to the Shanghai Botanical Gardens. As a hotel guest, you have free admission, and a private gate that enters into an expansive oasis. If you are in trepidation of air pollution and the hustle and bustle of Shanghai, I would recommend this hotel. The downside is that it is not close to major attractions. So, if you are looking for a very pleasant place to de-compress, before moving to another area of China, and have no need to do tourism 101, then I would recommend this four-star accomodation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from Los Angeles

I will refer this hotel to other people

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Pros: The staff are polite and responsive. Quick room service. The overall ambient was good. I can see greens, a garden, and a pool with black swans in it.
Cons: The furniture and the showere ceiling in my room was broken...
Location: Located remotely from CBD so it's relatively inconvenient.
The hotel is basically decent and claen but some furniture were kind of old and outdated. The "biggest" downside of this hotel is that it is remote from the downtown area and there is no subway to access nearby.