Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2017
The breakfast is pretty good. The decoration is old and worn.
4 out of 5
by F M

Nice location in the French concession

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
Was ready to rate the Picardie higher, but our last night (before early flight in the morning) had a plumbing back up in the shower that was extremely inconvenient, we had to change rooms after a solution was not found, and while the staff helped us move, no offer of discount was offered when we asked. Trying to pack and move at the very last minute was a huge inconvenience with a 4:30 am wake up. That said, breakfast nice, attractive place, good location and neighborhood. Staff not very competent in English so were not so helpful about directions or making a booking.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms too warm and unfriendly staff

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
It was my second time in this hotel because I like the old Shanghai area with tree lined streets and old style buildings around. Unfortunately both times, I encountered some very unfriendly staff which completely ruined the experience. Last time, my coworker and I had trouble with some front desk staff because the lady at the front desk was kind of arrogant. This time, I was trying to print some documents and hotel charges about $1.50 per page for using their printer at the Executive Club floor. I complained to the hotel staff as it is a bit excessive but I could see from his face that he could not care less. My coworker and I occupied two rooms on the 9th floor. The rooms were okay but so terribly warm inside even though we cranked up the AC to high fan and lowest temperature. Hotel staff at the lobby were very eager to help me to get a taxi when my coworker and I showed up at check out desk with luggage. But the previous day, when we wanted a taxi to get to a restaurant, they refused to help me get one. Obviously this is my last time at this hotel. There are many other better hotel options in this area at the same price range. We don't need to endure take kind of service attitude.
4 out of 5
by Duncan

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
all good
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
The only complaint I have about this hotel is the Internet was extremely slow and got cut off constantly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Tokyo, Japan

good location!

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: great location. accessible from subway stations. located at a chill and relaxing district. the staffs are very nice.
Cons: The room is a bit old and dark. The tub was stuck and the hair dryer was broken. The breakfast was not bad. I like it.
arrived around 4,5pm. The front desk was not crowded so the check in process was smooth.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Ok, breakfast needs improvement to be competitive.

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Orbitz
Location: Excellent French Concession location. Walking distance to nice bars, shops, and restaurants.
Other nearby hotels do better on price and included breakfast. Staff was pretty good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No AC desire muggy nights

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Pretty good breakfast buffet. Rooms ok albeit dust underneath done closets.
Cons: They refused to turn on the AC on our rooms because it was"not the earn season" despite the nights being muggy and warm. I couldn't sleep even with the windows open. Not recommended of you need quality sleep before business meetings.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
comfortable hotel, but had issues with using credit card at 2nd floor restaurant. their card readers didn't work and they didn't want to accept credit card. had to argue with them and wait 1/2 hour at front desk for hotel to take card for restaurant.also, front desk help not friendly and welcoming.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
I slept well in the bed. It was fine for a one night transit but my room and the hallway did smell a little bit of cigarettes. The room was clean and the staff were nice. I'd stay again for only a short visit.