Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by Charles

Don't stay at Kentangjian

Posted Jun 28, 2017 on Hotels
Arriving late, stood outside banging on door because of code lock on door, small single room (10x20) bed was like a board and air is blowing right on you. Got stiff shoulder and cough. Like a B&B, but proprietors don't speak English, live there and act like they don't want you there. Didn't want to move to new hotel for one night before traveling in China and they wanted to raise the rate, so went to coffee shop to get online and booked through Hotels.com to get original rate. Didn't change the sheets or pillow cases, no water pressure! What a dump, don't stay there!! Nice area but you can taxi there.
5 out of 5
by Valeria

Perfect environment at the French consession

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Love the hotel, love the area, even if they also don't speak English .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017
Thank you for your love, always welcome you!
3 out of 5
by Stephanie

Fun hotel with character of old Shanghai house

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
I loved the neighborhood! Fun, beautiful streets - I loved the streets! The hotel itself is just an old Shanghai house that's been converted into a place for people to stay... it's old, and it's owned by a Shanghaiese woman who's busy running the restaurant next door as well. It's more bread-and-breakfast-y than hotel. The owner is very nice, but just a Chinese woman running a place to make money, so don't expect "hotel front desk" service. We enjoyed our stay because it has a lot of character, but it's certainly not the nicest place to stay Shanghai! (We live outside of Shanghai and go a lot for long weekends) Fun stay though!
1 out of 5
by Sharon

Stay away from this hotel if you want comfort

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
This "hotel" is basically converted from an old Shanghaiese house. Nothing's wrong with it, the hardware and facilities are pretty decent. BUT the "software" such as service, was absolutely horrible. The Chinese women who worked at the night shift was totally unprofessional. I arrived the door, there was no door bell. I had to scream through the door to get someone attention. After 5 minutes standing in the cold outside of the hotel, she slowly walked downstairs and opened the door. She didn't apologize, instead, she was mumbling about how impatient I was. There are other small incidents but I am not getting into detail here.. Overall, she was very unhelpful throughout my stay. There is no room for storing your luggages. There is no help from the reception desk.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Back to the past.

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
It is a classic location and house. Expect to enjoy a old fashion, classic neighborhood, not a modern one, then you will enjoy it. I like it. It is small but I felt safe, private and convinient.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Won't come back again

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
Not a comfortable stay. Single bed room is tiny, and you have the basin next to the bed which is horrible. After one night in single bed room I couldn't bear it any more then upgraded my room to king bed. I should of cancelled my booking. The king bed room is big but is so dark, and I found small insects or bugs in bed every now and then. Room floor is very dusty, but it's not the most horrible part, it maybe even cleaner than bath towels. To sum up, I didn't sleep much during my whole stay in this hotel because I was paranoid of the bugs....
5 out of 5
by Luis from Miami, FL

Charming Stay in the Big City

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
Charming little hotel in a great part of Shanghai. Staying here felt more like staying at my aunt's house than a hotel - the staff were so attentive and friendly. The wifi was strong, the room amenities were great and the bed was extremely comfortable. The decor of the room also reminded you more of a B&B than a hotel. It was great!
5 out of 5
by Sebastian from Sydney

Grand old joint

Posted Jun 16, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely wonderful hotel. Supper authentic old school French concession vibe. Couldn't ask for much more.
4 out of 5
by XI from NYC

can be a great B&B

Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is more like a B&B. A few things to be improved include: have envelopes and letterheads available in rooms, install a ring bell at the gate, provide more choices in the breakfast menu
4 out of 5
by Giuseppe from New York

Posted Dec 10, 2015 on Hotels
many positives: FANNTASTIC location. VERY nice building. VERY nice room, GREAT atmosphere/ambiance/decor weird/bad: 1) front door closed in the evening > you have to go to restaurant next door (same ownership) to get in and there is no info/warning about that! 2) good breakfast - though served in the restaurant next door, totally empty, not cleaned from night before and not heated! 3) shower water not warm enough and kinda just trickling down .... just a few - though important - things to fix before we could consider going back.