Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frankfurt

Toller Ausblick auf die Menai Strait.

Posted Sep 5, 2015
Pros: Der Ausblick auf die Menai Strait ist sehr schön. Das Schwimmbad ist zweckmäßig. Die Saunaausstattung ist unzulänglich.
Cons: Sauberkeit im Frühstücksraum (klebrige Tische). Das Bad in unserem Zimmer war klein und unpraktisch.
Location: Gute Ausgangslage für diverse Ausflüge in den Snodownia Nationalpark, die Insel Angelsey, die Städte Caernafon und Conwy sowie die Halbinsel Llyn.
Inkontinenzeinlagen im Doppelbett brauche ich nicht und sind zudem nicht atmungsaktiv. Das Waschbecken im Bad unseres 3-Bettzimmers hatte am Handwaschbecken nur kaltes Wasser und war recht klein. Einfache ältere Möblierung. Das Frühstück entspricht dem englischen Standardangebot.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

Stunning views

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Pros: Location, presentation of room
Cons: More info on the website about whats in the room, it didnt state the room had towels or a halogen oven
Location: Great location, many castles, tourist attractions, isle of anglesy all from 5 to 30 mins drive
I was a little hasty about visiting this hotel after reading some not so great reviews, but the hotel was lovely the room was very clean and well presented. We stayed in the studio apartment for 2 nights, it had a gorgeous view over the menai, the beds were comfy couches were as comfy as could be for wicker......a halogen oven was provided which it didnt state on the website we were expecting just a microwave. Theres a tesco extra 5 mins away and its a good location for getting to near by tourist attractions. We will definitely stay at this hotel again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely location but needs some updating

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Pros: The view from the bar was lovely.
Cons: Damp smell in room -obviously they are aware as there was a box to catch condensation on cill, right next to bed. Toiletries Attention to cleanlness
Location: Lovely location overlooking the Marina and sea. Room overlooked a flat wet roof of an extension. Near most attractions.
Staff were pleasant and efficient. The room was very much in need of redecoration. There was a nasty musty smell and we had to open all the windows and leave the fan running in the bathroom as the room seemed quite damp. The carpet in the bedroom didn't seem to have been vacuumed as there were hairpins near the dressing table, presumably belonging to the previous occupant. There was a glass insert to the bedside table which hadn't been removed for cleaning and the grooves around it were encrusted with crumbs and other debris. The toiletries were very basic and there were no tissues but the towels and bed linen were all clean and the beds comfortable. We had dinner in the restaurant in the evening... this was OK but nothing much to write home about... and it would have been nice to have proper napkins and not the paper kind. Wines were very limited and I asked for a cocktail in the bar and was told they didn't do cocktails. Breakfast was pretty much serve yourself... and the coffee in the left out pot was cold. One of the party had a cooked breakfast and the bacon and mushrooms weren't cooked through the orange juice didn't taste fresh but had a powdery taste - gain we had paper napkins. The cost of the breakfast was quite high so I would have expected better. I am comparing to other hotels we stayed at in the area at a lower or similar cost.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from essex

Very unpleasant accommodation. Avoid at all costs

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Needs a complete refit.
Location: Location nice enough.
The waterfront apartment of hotel port dinorwic was awful. There were dead wood lice and spiders throughout. The "kitchen" was in a state of disrepair. A microwave had been placed low down in a hole where I presume the oven used to be, with no attempt to make good the surrounding hole and would have been unsuitable for the elderly. The tap was insecure. The plug points hanging from underneath a cupboard were grubby. The patio doors were grubby. The toaster was dirty/rusty. The cupboard doors did not shut. Floor tiles by bed were broken and dangerous . The table felt tacky and very poor quality. The cane furniture was grim and when wiped showed considerable grime. Daylight clearly visible through front door frame. No obvious way to adjust heating. Small bathroom sink was collapsing into tiled unit and tiles were lifting off, bath side panel falling in an feaces on seat. Architrave coming away from door frame of bedroom, mattress has seen better days. Light fittings full of dust and cobwebs . Soil pipe leaking in ensuite toilet causing floor to be wet and , a clear favourite of the wood lice. Spiders and wood lice kept reappearing despite disposing of them several times. The whole place felt nasty. Vastly overpriced for such shoddy accommodation. Staff were pleasant enough but said they had never had any complaints before, which I find impossible to believe . Was only there 2 days but spent the entire time trying not to touch anything as it made me cringe.
5 out of 5
for Families
by Helen from Shrewsbury

Welsh hospitality at it's best

Posted Jul 8, 2015 on Hotels
We were made very welcome by the attentive and friendly staff. Lovely seaview, and the pool was a bonus. Highly recommended!
4 out of 5
for Couples
by Paul from Belfast

Friendly staff

Posted Jun 1, 2015 on Hotels
Very friendly staff and Isabella is a great host making you feel right at home. Lovely views from the dining area. Room was big and very clean. Only negative is noise travels very easily. We were kept awake at night by a child running about upstairs which sounded like someone hitting drums beside our bed. Thankfully upon letting the staff know, they had a word with the guests and the noise stopped. However, I do feel the rooms could be more soundproofed. Very nice bar area for a relaxing drink. Cooked breakfast was good and filling. Clean dining room. Will stay again!
5 out of 5
for Couples
by Walter from Cocoa Beach, Florida.

Donor win Hotel.

Posted May 20, 2015 on Hotels
Staff very friendly, meals very good, views from sum lounge worth a million dollars.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amman, Jordan

Romantic and suitable for all

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Cons: add elevator.
Location: On see side with great views. Close to site seeing in the area
great location with stunning view. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Staff very very friendly and helpful. excellent location for area site seeing.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

Very good position excellent views.

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: We liked it's position. It was just off the main road, easy to find, overlooking the Marina and Menai Straits. Midway between Caernarfon and Bangor.
Cons: Probably the grounds around it could be improved; but work was in progress.
Location: It is a central location. The Snowden Range is very close by, as is Bangor, Caernarfon and Anglesea. The Lleyn Peninsular is about an hour away.
When we booked in, we asked if room had sea view and were told that it didn't. Once in our room, which was fine, we had just unpacked when receptionist knocked on door. She asked if we would like upgrading to a room with a view. We were given a first floor suite with beautiful views to 3 sides and a balcony. It was very modern and unusual with kitchen area, sleeping area, bathroom with bath and shower and a very sizeable comfortable lounge area with large new television. All the staff were very welcoming and friendly. We had the continental breakfast, as we were meeting friends for lunch and dinner. It was fine and there was every thing we required.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Close to Snowdon Nice views Good facilities Friendly staff