Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Kelly from Northern CA

Nice place to stay for a getaway!

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels
Totally love this hotel. The hostess is very warm and she makes sure we have everything and enjoy our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andy from Congleton

Great, central, welcoming place to stay

Posted Feb 8, 2014
Had a great stay - ryokan centrally located on Main Street & walking distance to lifts. Proprietress speaks excellent English & is very welcoming. Rooms clean with good facilities - fridge, tv, bathroom. 24hr onsen good for a soak, although nicer ones elsewhere in the village. Spacious drying room & seperate entry. Western or Japanese breakfast available on request. Will definitely stay again when next in Zao - highly recommended!
4 out of 5
by Nick

Great for a short stay

Posted Aug 20, 2012 on Hotels
It was a pleasant place to stay, with very hospital staff. The interior of the hotel was pretty 'worn in' but the rooms were still nice. The price did not include breakfast, so if this is something you are interested in, you may be able to find other Ryokan's nearby at the same rate with food.. Overall, if you are staying for a night or two, I would this place is alright.
5 out of 5
by Noel

Beautiful location

Posted Jun 19, 2012 on Hotels
Had a wonderful stay. The owner was very friendly, and gave our group an extra room for free, as there were 6 of us, and we had rented 2 rooms, so we got the 3rd room free, because it is slow season in June and they had empty rooms. She gave the kids a gift at checkout. The traditonal Japenese breakfast was delicious. The onsen hot spring at the hotel was a perfect way to end a long day, and traditonal Japenese robes were provided. There is hot tea in the rooms, and a refrigerator with beer and water. If you want to experience Japan the traditonal way, this is the place to stay, you even remove your shoes when you check in and wear provided slippers the whole time.. And, the surrounding area is gorgeous. Loved it. An awesome experience and a trip I will not forget.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Yoshidaya Ryokan - really good place to stay

Posted Feb 29, 2012 on Hotels
Service excellent! Lady at the fron desk speaks perfect English what is unusual in most of places in Japan. Besides, she is very friendly and helpful bringing about a lot of good energy. Late check-in or check-out is not a problem. Ofuro is nothing spectacular. Only in-door bath with very hot water (you can use a whose with cold water to bring the temeperature down, though)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stockholm

Yoshidaya Ryokan in Zao Onsen, amazing!

Posted Jan 7, 2012 on Hotels
I was there during the New Year holiday of 2012. The first word coming to my mind is outstanding. The location of that onsen is just perfect, without 10 minutes walk to anything that needs to be seen / done in Zao. They offer reduced prices for evertyhing! Hotsprings, ski lifts, gondola rides, and the personnel is as welcoming as it gets. The onsen inside the ryokan is free of charge and with that great acidic water that Zao offers! At that price, you get just more than anything you could expect. I will be back for sure within short!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Such a wonderful experience!

Posted Nov 29, 2011
Easy to find the ryokan. The hot spring experience was wonderful!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for the sky trip

Posted Sep 8, 2011 on Hotels
If you look for cheap ryokan for your ski vacation. I would suggest this hotel. It has a private hot spring 24 hours. The surrounding scenery is also beautiful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Queensland

Great owners/staff -

Posted Feb 18, 2011 on Hotels
Arrived very early on a public holiday and room was ready within minutes. Very friendly staff, good level of english and very helpful. Great position close to everything we needed.
3 out of 5
by Maija-Riitta from Liperi

Sielukas hotelli vuorten juurella.

Posted Nov 6, 2014 on Hotels
Hotelli sijaitsee aivan ihanalla alueella, jos on aikomus oleskella hotellin läheisyydessä. Kauniit vuoret ja kuumat lähteet ovat upeita ja miellyttäviä. Ympärillä ihana pieni kylä ihmisineen ja pikkukauppoineen.