Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Natalie

Expensive but SO worth it

Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Hotels
We booked this hotel to experience a traditional ryokan and to celebrate the end of our three weeks in Japan. It was super expensive for our budget (we're backpackers), but SO worth it. The staff were wonderfully friendly, the rooms were spacious and beautifully designed in traditional style, and the breakfast they served (both western and traditional) were perfect. We also booked the private bath for 50 minutes (price of 2150 yen), and it was AMAZING. The only things I could complain about was the female only bath had slightly dirty water, but that could happen from people not understanding how to use the baths. We didn't get to see much of the local area, so we can't really comment on that. Tip: If you're not familiar with Japanese food and not up for being adventurous, maybe opt for a western style breakfast. I loved my traditional breakfast, but it had a bewildering array of flavors and textures. Last breakfast they can serve you is at 8:30 am.
5 out of 5
by Katarzyna

Great service

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing hotel with private Onsen and great customer service.
5 out of 5
by David

Attentive staff; good food; quiet room

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is 3 minutes from Yudanaka station, so getting there and away is convenient. My reservation included breakfast and dinner and both were fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Nice hotel close to the station

Posted Mar 14, 2017
There was a wonderful stay, the japanes food is very good, and the publish baths has beautiful views, also for not too much money you can reserve a private onsen, with good amenities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
Nice onsen. Big rooms. Helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Very nice Japanese Hotel

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Breakfast was super, there are choices of Western breakfast or Japanese breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Traditional Japanese hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: The traditional room and its closeness to all anemities.
Cons: The smell and western breakfast
Location: The snow monkeys, hot baths, walks and nice restaurants.
The hotel was very nice, the hot baths were on the 5th floor, fantastic! it had been snowing heavily and we were picked up at the train station which was a very nice surprise. The room was traditional and very confortable. the hotel staff was very nice and helpful. It was very easy to go and see the snow monkeys, 15 minutes from train station by bus and 30 minutes awesome walk in the woods. The only 2 down points were a persistent bad/odd smell through out the hotel. most probably related to the hot springs and a disapointing western breakfast. Yanaka in winter was beautiful, seeing the snow monkeys was a fantastic experience.
5 out of 5
by Eugene

Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Hotels
Overall the stay was very good. The open air onsen is very nice with really warm rooms. WiFi connectivity was the only issue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Very authentic Japanese stay!

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: The staff and facilities were fabulous as was it's close proximity to the train station which is within luggage walking distance.
Location: We were near the train station on arrival and within easy reach of the snow monkey park so it suited us.
We had four guests and all stayed in the same room on futons. The room was warm and comfortable in a minimalist fashion and we had apricot nectar as a beverage on arrival. We used our yakatas throughout the hotel as did the visiting Japanese. The hotel onsen was lovely and we also used the private onsen which was lovely under the stars. My friend and I went for a full Japanese breakfast and my wife and daughter went Western. Both were lovely in their own context.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels