Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by jonathan

OK if you Need to be Near the University Campus

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
We were visiting our son who is studying in Shanghai this semester, and stayed at this hotel due to proximity to the University. Rooms were a bit tired/shabby, and cleanliness was spotty. Staff was overall helpful and spoke English. Although taxi service in Shanghai is mainly ordered through online apps (making it now difficult to get a taxi), the hotel staff did not have the means to efficiently secure taxi service. As this hotel is far from the City Center, the lack of taxi service was rather frustrating. If you need to be near the Fudan/SUFE campuses, location is ideal, and accommodations/services are mediocre. Otherwise, there are much better locations/values in the Shanghai area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great conference in Shanghai

Posted Jul 6, 2016 on Hotels
friendly and helpful staff, within walking distance of major shopping, quiet; rooms were clean, and hotel in very good condition.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

decent and convenient if you're visiting caida

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
One should not expect the hotel to be a tip top 5 star hotel but the hotel does serve a purpose if you're visiting Caida (SHUFE) given the unbeatable proximity. Room is spacious and well maintained and I have no negative feedback given the reasonable price I paid for.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice but location not good

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Breakfast total Chinese ,
Location: We dident find
The hotel location is very far from all places we wanted to gou
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Jiangsu

Stayed here for the LSAT

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: The location was great for me, and the interior was really luxurious for the price.
Cons: The staff were courteous enough but I don't think I can say they were nice. Also, look into the air temperature control for room 1618!
Location: The location is a 10/15 minute walk from the metro station; plenty of cheap food options nearby but not much else.
I stayed here because I was taking the LSAT at the Shanghai Univ. of Finance and Economics and I picked this hotel for the convenient location. Glad I did, the LSAT test center was a <15 minute walk straight down Wudong Road. The hotel is really nice for the price. The only problem was that my room's temperature control system didn't work and it was waaaay too hot—it was about 0*C outside but inside my room it was seriously like 30*C/87*F. In fairness though I never told them about it/asked them to fix it so it wouldn't be fair to hold it against them.
4 out of 5
by Brittany

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2014 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

First time staying Howard Johnson

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Aircond off day time & it was hot in room. A staff smoking in lobby when no smoking allowed! Couldn't find a single restaurant staff during meal time, had to go hunting for one! Ordered spaghetti carbonara and was served with boiled plain spaghetti which we wondered and the next thing we saw was chef running out to say it's not done! What comedy!! And we were hungry. However, the chambermaid was exceptionally attentive - that's the only positive we got.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, Fl

Shanghai University School of Finance in a walking

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Good experience Stayed in an Executive Suite Club Level. Lounge offers coffee, tea, and soft drinks only. Breakfast is served at the restaurant. Staff have very limited or no comprehension of English.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rick from Manila, Philippines

Close to Fu Dan University

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Location, because it's near to FUDAN university
Cons: The wifi facility in the lobby and the rooms as well.
Location: None so far
The hotel is conveniently located to the school where my children study, in FUDAN University. The lobby, and the room where me & my son stayed are clean and organized. Though the inconvenient the hotel does not free wifi in the room nor in the lobby. I talked to the reception and they told me that they have free wifi in the lobby, however, upon checking there was none. I even tried logging in several nights or morning, there was really none. In other hotels where I stayed, some provide free wifi in the room. But ALL hotels in China definitely provide free wifi in the lobby, to the point, the signal are even strong and fast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Y from USA

Convenient location, nice hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2013
Pros: Luxury decoration every room
Cons: housekeep, clean service need to be improved.
Location: subway station in walking distance, bus station in front of hotel and supermarket are very close. Many eating places
The hotel is the close to where I want to visit in Shanghai. It locates conveniently, with substation nearby, bus station in front the hotel. There are many supermarket, restaurant nearby. The facility is new. The room is comfortable and luxury decorated. However, the housekeeping is not great. Someday, they forget vacuuming the floor, someday, they forgot replacing the empty tissue box... The front desk and staff are overall friendly and helpful. The room service menu/food is good, and are priced reasonably using USA standard.