Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Gorgeous Views and Helpful Staff :-)

Posted Jul 31, 2017
This hotel has beautiful views of the surroundings with a lovely little rooftop bar, great for relaxing after a busy day. The staff are really friendly and helpful. Eager to help plan day trips. The rooms are really clean with free bottled waterThe hotel has a free to use washing machine which is really handy when backpacking as well. Overall a great stay and would highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by The staff from Hidden Dragon villa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We can arrange different activities for the guest.Our hotel is located in the countruside.The countrysideis very quiet .The restaurant both have Chinese food and Weatern food. You can choose the food you like. We hope to see you next next time .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Stunning outlook in quiet Yangshuo retreat

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: The views, staff, quiet environment +historic decor
Cons: Restaurant staff +views are lovely, but the food's pretty bland (Ch+West). Isolated from tasty street options, more professional fare would be great
Location: The hotel provides a detailed list of Yangshuo attractions and will arrange transport. Moon Hill is nearby, +other attractions within bike/taxi range
You'll stay at the Hidden Dragon for the spectacular view - from the rooftop restaurant +bar, and many of the (front*) rooms. But the welcome +care from the staff makes it an especially pleasant stay. Lily and team do all they can to make sure their guests have the best experience of Yangshuo, from the pre-arrival information email, the refreshment on arrival and comprehensive advice about excursions +sights. All front desk staff speak some English. The hotel is about 10 minutes from Yangshuo town, though it takes longer if your driver gets lost, so be sure to get the Chinese address from the hotel, prior to taxi (fare should be about ¥40). You'll cross a bridge, turn left into a drive, then veer left below another hotel entry, before seeing the hotel on the right. If you want to spend a lot of time in town, you may prefer to stay somewhere less isolated. However, as a quiet, and beautiful biking base, close to Moon Hill and other attractions, this is good. Also worth mentioning is the architecture +decor, which aims to recreate Ming/Qing era style. In short, it's a beautiful base from which to explore the Yangshuo region, especially if you want somewhere quiet, away from the tourist crowds. (*Front rooms have the view... Hills are also visible from the rooms at the back, though some nearby low-level construction noise was audible... I'm not sure how ongoing this is).
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2017 by Lily, Hotel Management
Thank you for your nice review dear Anth. It's our pleasure to serve you. Our hotel is like family house. And we hope every guest has a nice stay in our hotel.Hidden Dragon Villa is located in a small village near Yulong River. It is 7 kilometres from hotel to town about 10 minutes . You can choose take a taxi or publish bus. It is very convenient from hotel to town. Hotel is recreate Ming/Qing era style. In the deluxe roon you can see the beautiful view, such as Yulong River , beautiful mountains, pleasant idyllic scenery. Hotel has a roof garden restaurant, both have Chinese food and Western food. Maybe the food doesn't suit your taste or is not tasty enough, we will improve the quality of the food in the future. About the noise , since the nearby low-level construction, in our hotel we can heard some nosie, we have avoided it as much as possibel. We are sorry that the nosie made you bad mood. Thank you for your review again. We hope we have the opportunity to serve you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hotel!

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Loved the hotel. Everything we ordered at the restaurant was excellent and we ate there 4 days in a row. The staff was helpful organising taxis and speaking to our next hotel. Best of all the views and the roof terrace we magnificent. Thank you!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Lily, Hotel Management
Dear guests, Thank you for your nice review! We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Hidden Dragon Villa is in the Dragon River .The countryside view is very beautiful and quiet.The hotel has a roof garden restaurant on fourth floor.When you have a tea or coffee on there ,you can enjoy the beautiful view. If you like the callipraphy, you can parcitce the calligraphy in the restaurant.We can arrange all kinds of activities around the Yangshuo. Stuff from Hidden Dragon villa
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Taipei

Very relaxing stay out of the city

Posted May 30, 2017
We had a very nice stay here. Staff service was top notch. Good food, nice room. Great location. Rooftop is excellent place to relax and enjoy the view of Yangshuo's beauty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Lily, Hotel Management
Thank you for your nice review. Hidden Dragon Villa is like a warm home.We hope every guest has a nice feeling in the hotel. Our hotel has a rooftop , you can see the Yulong River and the beautiful mountains. And also can see the sunrise and the sunset. We hope to see you next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great location

Posted May 30, 2017 on Orbitz
Staff is absolutely amazing - helped us plan our day to day and assisted in arranging last minute transportation. The hotel is well located and is close to many caves, river rafting, West Street and more. We were able to rent bikes from the hotel and bike to many of our activities. The views are spectacular. Highly recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2017 by Lily, Hotel Management
Thank you for your nice review. We are very happy that you enjoy your trip. We can arrange different kinds of activities and the transportation. Our hotel is located in the countruside.The countrysideis very quiet . We hope to see you next time. The staff from Hidden Dragon villa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from China

Amazing hotel with amazing view

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: I specially like their bar/ rooftop area. We brought our own drinks and had wine whilst watching the sunset or was just nice to sit there order a beer
Cons: maybe have a cocktail list
Location: its close, 5 minutes walking distance where you can hire the scooter or find the people that can help you organize where to go and that to do
We stayed here and even though the hotel was fully book it felt like it was the only one of us there. The hotel was friendly and very accommodating to any request. The restaurant staff was very very nice and it was just a pleasure to take up with an amazing view and go have breakfast with a breathtaking view as well. I specially like their bar/ rooftop area. We brought our own drinks and had wine whilst watching the sunset or was just nice to sit there order a beer after exploring the area. Perfect way to end every day.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Lily, Hotel Management
Dear Miguel, thank you for your nice review. We are very happy that you enjoy your stay in our hotel. The Hidden Dragon Villa is near to the Yulong River . If you have a cup of tea or a cup of coffee on the rooftop area, you can see the Yulong River and the beautiful mountains. In the evening if the weather is nice you can see the sunset on the rooftop restaurant. It's very beautiful.We hope to see you next time. The staff of Hidden Dragon Villa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

It's why you go to Yangshuo

Posted Apr 20, 2017
This hotel is so delightful. It is full of character. I booked it because of the photo, so here's an update. The old photo was taken across the street from the hotel, I've included a couple from the roof bar and restaurant. People go to Yangshuo for the Karst landscapes and you'll see it here, I counted 91 formations around the view. There are 20,000 in Yangshuo and 70,000 in the district. Ok the hotel is an old Chinese house. The basics are great, bed comfy, my ac didn't work, there is plenty of hot water. The girls who work here Helen, Lily and Elle are fantastic and go out of their way to assist. I spent 8 days here and they all thought it was funny, but there's lots to do. The Light Show, strolling around Yangshuo, doing a cooking class and making beer fish and the climb (for me at 67) up to Xiangang lookout is unreal and I've been to150 countries! Finally the restaurant is fantastic cheap with lots of choice and what a view! I couldn't go past the sizzling beef, fried rice and dumplings with a beer 18 AUD! You will enjoy this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by Lily, Hotel Management
Thank you for your nice review. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Hidden Dragon Villa is near the Dragon River .Our hotel have roof restaurant ,you can order the food on the restaurant and see the nice view.We can arrange different activities around the Yangshuo.The hotel style is like the old house ,but the facilities is modern and the bed is made of mood.The countryside view is very beautiful and quiet. We hope to see you again.Stuff from Hidden Dragon villa
5 out of 5
by Evangelos

Perfect base to explore Yangshuo

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
Yangshuo hidden dragon villa was simply amazing! The location in the countryside means that it's quiet (not like Yangshuo town for sure!) and the surrounding scenery is beautiful. The staff is extremely helpful and will go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and book activities (like biking and rafting) for you. The rooms are also well equipped, clean, and gorgeous. I highly recommend staying at this gem if you are visiting Yangshuo.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by shaolee, Hotel Management
Dear Evangelos,thank you for your nice review. We are very happy that you like our hotel . Our hotel style is like traditional Chinese home, but all are modern amenities. Our hotel is located in a village which is near Big Banyan Tree and Yulong River. We also have roof restaurant on the fourth and the fifth floor. In the morning and in the evening if you have a cup of tea or a cup of coffee you will feel very nice. In the roof restaurant you can see the Yulong River and the mountains.At the same time, we hope you enjoy your stay in our hotel. We hope to see you again.Best regard.
5 out of 5
by Forrest

We want to go back soon!!

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
A bit off the beaten path, but convenient to everything. Scooter rental just a few hundred yards away. When you walk in, it feels like you've stepped back hundreds of years into a beautiful, traditional Chinese home. But with all the modern amenities! They've been doing some upgrades and seem to be still working on a few, which will make it even nicer. Great feeling here. And the view! From the roof you can see the valley view in both directions. Fish ponds right in front, with a domesticated water buffalo roaming. The Li river is visible in front and the Karsts are very impressive. The view from our room was pretty amazing. But what set it apart for us was the service! It's unusual to find this kind of service in China, truth be told. Ella, who checked us in, made us feel like we were old friends. We had communicated with them that morning and they arranged for a taxi from the Guilin airport. Helped us get a great taxi to the airport, and recommended and helped arrange a number of local activities, really made us want to stay longer and to come back soon! She speaks very good English but was thrilled to speak Chinese with us so far as we were able.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by shaolee, Hotel Management
Dear Forrest, thank you for your nice review. We are very happy that you like our hotel . Our hotel style is like traditional Chinese home, but all are modern amenities. Our hotel is located in a village which is near Big Banyan Tree and Yulong River. In the Deluxe roon not only can see the Yulong River but also can the mountains and pastoral scenery. We also have roof restaurant on the fourth and the fifth floor. In the morning and in the evening if you have a cup of tea or a cup of coffee you will feel very nice. At the same time, we hope you enjoy your stay in our hotel. We hope to see you again.Best regard.
5 out of 5
by Amy

Excellent boutique hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
We had a fantastic time here. The room was lovely, the staff very friendly and helpful and a beautiful view from the roof top restaurant. The food was pretty good too
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by shaolee, Hotel Management
Thank you for you nice review! We are very happy that you have a nice trip in Yangshuo. Our hotel is near Yulong River. We also have restaurant on the fourth and fifth floor. If you have a cup of tea or coffee on the restaurant, you can see the best view in there.Our cook not only cook the Chinese food but also cook the Western food. We hope we can see you again.Best regard.