Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Idyllic setting

Posted Apr 9, 2018
We loved this hotel set in an idyllic, pastoral setting. Imagine viewing beautiful mountains and canyons with sheep and cows grazing the in foreground while you enjoy breakfast every morning. Staff guided guests on an amazing tour of the the local pre-Inca ruins nearby. Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Very nice place to relax

Posted Feb 20, 2018 on Hotels
Very nice place to relax. Everything is made very beautiful, with a sense of detail. Many flowers in the garden, great views, comfortable beds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern Alberta

Relaxing stay at Killawasi

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Pros: Definitely the ambiance ie the relaxing environment. The service is also top notch.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Location was in a small town near the larger town of Chivay. There are hot springs nearby and a short taxi ride takes you to tourist sites.
We booked this hotel for while we were exploring the Colca Canyon and viewing the Condors. We did not regret our stay at all. We found this hotel to be very relaxing and quiet. What was nice is the hosts would take care of any requests you had regarding tours and taxis. This enabled us to not have to bother with making any arrangements at all. The restaurant was never crowded as there are only 15 or so rooms which made dinner completely stress free (breakfast as well). We liked the fact that breakfast was included and it gave us a quick start to the day. The rooms were nicer than we were expecting and the grounds were well kept. We enjoyed walking around he town as it was very quiet and easy to navigate. The hot springs are not that far from the hotel and there is a map available to guide you there. We preferred the hot springs in Chivay though as they were shaded and a little bit more developed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Countryside Hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Pros: Sipping beer and enjoying beautiful mountain view from the front patio of our room. My wife enjoyed taking nap in a hammock.
We hiked to pre Inca Uyo Uyo Archaeological Site. At the end of hike we had relaxing time in a hot springs. Also, we enjoyed Wititi dances by beautiful girls in a Plaza de Armas of small town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Nick from Vancouver, WA

Amazing staff! Possibly our favorite stay in Peru

Posted Feb 11, 2016 on Hotels
We had a great stay at Killawasi Lodge. The staff went above and beyond to make sure our stay was a great one. They even do a daily guided hike through the canyon from the hotel. We decided to go on an earlier hike by ourselves because of the weather so they drew us a map showing all the places we wanted to go. The restaurants in town are very limited but the hotel's restaurant provides a nice selection of Peruvian foods. I personally really enjoyed the Chupa de Quinoa. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Colca Canyon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Ching-Hsin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 28, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Debra from Raleigh, NC

Absolutely wonderful base for Colca Canyon!

Posted Jun 11, 2015 on Hotels
The owner, Guillermo, empowers his staff to exceed expectations -- they are extremely responsive, friendly, and accommodating, prepared to adapt to unforeseen issues to solve them quickly and wonderfully. They have excellent English and respond to email and phone inquiries promptly and fully. They arranged our tour from Puno to their lodge, into Colca Canyon and onto Arequipa, making it very easy for us to stay at Killawasi for two days and two nights, to enjoy hikes in the surrounding hills and terraces, views of the snow capped active volcanos, the charming small town of Yanque, relaxing in the hammocks, thermal baths nearby, and a horseback riding tour they arranged for us (be sure to confirm that the guide speaks English). From all information we gathered, this is the best place to stay in the Chivay/Yanque area. The rooms are large, with private balconies and modern bathrooms with plentiful hot water. The hotel's restaurant is a bit upscale without being prohibitive, well exectuted, and you can feel comfortable eating the salads.. what more could one want?