Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from International Civil Servant

Theft

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Staff and meals including cleanliness.
Cons: Security cameras are installed but the management approach to recovering stolen items is deplorable.
Location: N/A
The proximity to the hotel including the fact that it was security cleared for United Nations staff made it the location of choice. After having a USB Flash disk and very expensive tactical flashlight stole, use of the Hotel by UN personnel is questionable. I shall do everything possible to reduce exposure to other visiting UN staff to Yaoundé.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by The reservation team, Hotel Management
Dear Wayne, We're sorry you were unhappy in our peroperty. We'll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

cheap alternative in downtown Yaounde, strong WIFI

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Very good wifi throughout. Centrally located in Downtown. Very safe with 24/7 security staff. restaurant staff very courteous. Get room 317. nice pool
Cons: better communication between Expedia and hotel. Add coffee machine in rooms. Add more english-speaking TV channels. (Only one so far)
Location: great location in downtown, but the hustle&bustle street noise is loud with loud music. really quiet at night. go to restaurant Bois d'Ebene not far
Beware when you book it through Expedia. By default the hotel sets you up in their smallest room, even if you book a larger room. Be careful. That happened to me. I raised hell. Called Expedia. Anyway I got so vocal they finally obliged. I hate I had to get to that level. Also be careful with night staff. As they know you just got off a long travel, they will push you in those small rooms. be very assertive if you actually book a bigger room. To put you in a bigger room, they will ask you for an outrageous premium.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by The reservation team., Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback, We're sorry you were unhappy in our property. We're working hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thank you for letting us know. Regards, The reservation team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by UNITED from UAS

near airport

Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
If you are price concious and require to stay near airport. This is good choice
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good value for money

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels
The room was little and dark. The toilet was old and in bad condition. The shower was broken. The toilet cover and sit were not white, looking old and dirty (it wasn't dirty but the aspect was dirty). The toilet would not flush. Internet didn't work during the entire morning.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Merina Hotel Yaounde

Posted Jan 8, 2012 on Hotels
Merina Hotel is well located in the center of Yaounde. The staff is really nice and helpful. The airport shuttle is very convenient since Nsimalen is about 45 minutes outside of the city. I really enjoyed my second stay at Merina and look forward to the 3rd.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berlin

never i will go in this hotel

Posted May 11, 2011
terrible conditions, you pay for nothing, aircondition not work, shower not work right, the water from shower goes in all the room , in the night come mosquitos , in the first floor was a party so you can not sleep, the room very small
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sehr gute Lage und freundliches Team

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Location: Hotel liegt im Centre Commercial. Fußläufig erreichbar: Supermarkt, Geldautomaten, National-/Blackitude Museum, Institut Francais, Restaurants/Clubs.
Vor allem die Lage des Hotels ist großartig; man ist in Laufweite von CASINO-Supermarkt, mehrerer Geldautomaten, Telefonshops, Museen und Ministerien. Das allein spart Kosten und Nerven für Taxifahrten. Wer allerdings hier, im Centre Commercial, Ruhe sucht, ist verkehrt. Das liegt nicht am Hotel selbst, sondern an dem turbulenten Leben auf der Straße rundherum. Gut war auch der stets freundliche und aufmerksame Service, vor allem die Möglichkeit, im Hotel ohne Papierkram und zu fairen Konditionen Geld wechseln zu können. Auch Sonderwünsche (z. B. eine Zwischenrechnung) wurden prompt und mit einem Lächeln erfüllt. Auf dem Frühstücksbuffet fand sich für jeden Geschmack etwas und der Abhol-/Bringdienst vom und zum Flughafen hat reibungslos funktioniert. Die Innenausstattung war angenehm dezent, wenngleich etwas in die Jahre gekommen. Sehr kleine Punktabzüge habe ich jeweils auch für Kleinigkeiten vorgenommen: "sauber" heißt zum Beispiel dort nicht "fleckenlos rein und glänzend" und im Servicebereich ging es gelegentlich eben doch mal umständlicher als nötig zu (Raum war mit Frühstück gebucht; ich musste trotzdem jeden Morgen eine Quittung für Frühstück unterschreiben, deren Beträge später auf der Rechnung korrekterweise wieder abgezogen waren). Sehr faires Preis-Leistungsverhältnis kam hinzu.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2017 by The reservation team., Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback, we're happy you were satisfied in our property. We'll also be happy to welcome you again. Your satisfaction is our priority.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hôtel central

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
Mis à part le pb de démagnétisation de ma clé de chambre, RAS
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Merci pour votre feedback, Nous sommes désolés que vous ayez eu cette difficulté dans notre établissement. Nous faisons de notre mieux pour résoudre le problème. Merci de nous en avoir fait part. Cordialement, L'équipe de réservation.