Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointed

Posted Nov 22, 2017
We recently stayed at Crathorne Hall for a two night stay. We were extremely cold for the majority of our stay. Not only did the heating not work in either ours or our friends room but the window in our room had been left open by the cleaning staff to dispel the condensation. During dinner on Saturday evening we notice other diners putting logs on the fire as they were frozen too. The hotel looks as though it needs some money spent on it and the staircase is in desperate need of a good clean. For a two night stay costing £475 you expect more.
5 out of 5
by Jess

A* nights away

Posted Aug 3, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing stay food was the best we had and service was brilliant couldn't ask for a better place to stay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Crathorne......only a little thorn.....no prickles

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
We were invited to partake of the Blood donor lunch to begin with and were disappointed that it was changed that morning from roast beef to afternoon tea which was tasty but not at 12.30. We stayed overnight and felt that wedding arrangements for the following day took priority over us.The lounges were out of use as these were being converted to a wedding chapel and reception area and we were left to sit in the corridor. We had (and enjoyed) the Friday fish night which had been advertised on your website.Although extremely tasty we felt that we were given the 'ends' of the fish as it looked nothing like the picture on the website and the four of us in our party had small pieces of fish.The staff were not a aware of the 'fish night' advertised but were extremely helpful in finding out. We found the staff at the hotel to be excellent but paying at reception was a little fraught with a long queue and unanswered ringing telephones.......just glad it wasn't me trying to get through.!! The breakfast was the best we had ever had in our lives and the porridge with cream and maple syrup was to die for.....well not literally. We all enjoyed our experience and shall return in the future......even if we have to sit in the corridors!!
5 out of 5
by Andrew

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent service and value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex

Lovely hotel in fabulous grounds with great staff

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Nearly everything
Cons: cant fault
Location: Not sure as was in the area on business only
Had a lovely stay with my partner. We were both on business in the area and picked this one out by accident. Lounge was nice to relax and have a drink in. Dinner was excellent, although quite expensive. Room was good with a lovely view, although don't know what the other rooms are like, we might have just been lucky. The best thing was the staff, there were so efficient and friendly, absolutely faultless. Will definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Skipton

Stunning hotel in a stunning location.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: The building, the location, the staff, the food and the comfort.
Cons: A spa or a pool - but an absence of these did not spoil our stay in any way.
Location: Harm is a beautiful market town with nice tea and coffee shops, the Cleveland hills for walking and the coast is only a 20 minute drive away.
The hotel is located very close to the A19 near to Yarm, however it is located in the beautiful and tranquil grounds which enjoy stunning views of the Cleveland Hills with only a very low level of noise drifting up from the A19. The staff were friendly and attentive throughout. We were made to feel both very welcome and comfortable with nothing being a problem. Also, the staff were attentive without being overly familiar or making us feel uncomfortable. The bar service was quick with a quality range of drinks and aperitifs. We selected our meal from the table d'ote and were not disappointed in any way. Again, the staff being friendly and attentive, helping with our wine selection and ensuring our experience was memorable. The room was warm and comfortable with the most stunning view over the river and towards the Cleveland hills. Finally, a good selection of breakfast options and a smooth check out made this a stay which we are looking forward to repeating in the near future. Many thanks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from saltburn by the sea

Lovely grounds

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Stayed overnight as we were at a friends wedding,rooms are quiet, warm and comfortable. Breakfast was good. No complaints apart from they don't offer dog friendly rooms which I look for in a hotel.
1 out of 5
by Antony

A Christmas stay ruined by a third rate hotel...

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
Old Hall that needed a little TLC, This was a stay over Christmas and boxing day nights with relatives visiting from overseas. From the outset after booking we were made to feel like second class guests, Struggled to get a booking for xmas lunch in preference to those eating lunch and not staying or those who booked a complete three night package, upon arrival the decorations were very poor and sporadic you could have been mistaken in believing it was actually Christmas in most rooms, log fires were not lit, lounges closed or full and other rooms cold. service was very sporadic, as there was no bar in the lounges you were reliant upon staff serving you, we waited in the lounge for 30 minutes before our lunch and no service. lunch took four hours with over long delays between courses, a 40 minute wait for our first drinks to arrive despite repeatedly asking and another 10 before any food we honestly thought we were invisible !!!. The choice of vegetables was very poor and portion size was small, A meal served the next day was delivered incorrect and it took almost 30 minutes to provide a replacement - how long does it take to make up a wrap ?? all the others in our group who had hot food were finished long before its arrival. the niggles carried on throughout the whole stay inc cold toast, failure to keep the breakfast bar stocked up, poor room service - beds unmade etc......i could go on and on.... Overall not recommended,A premium price for a cheap boarding house stay
5 out of 5
by Amanda

Evening wedding reception

Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
Fab evening wedding reception
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool, UK

A beautiful stately home with plenty of character

Posted Dec 18, 2016
We had a lovely time here and particularly enjoyed the view from our room which looked out over the Christmas-tree outside the front door. Breakfast was particularly enjoyable in the comfort of our room.