Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Skipton

Stunning hotel in a stunning location.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: The building, the location, the staff, the food and the comfort.
Cons: A spa or a pool - but an absence of these did not spoil our stay in any way.
Location: Harm is a beautiful market town with nice tea and coffee shops, the Cleveland hills for walking and the coast is only a 20 minute drive away.
The hotel is located very close to the A19 near to Yarm, however it is located in the beautiful and tranquil grounds which enjoy stunning views of the Cleveland Hills with only a very low level of noise drifting up from the A19. The staff were friendly and attentive throughout. We were made to feel both very welcome and comfortable with nothing being a problem. Also, the staff were attentive without being overly familiar or making us feel uncomfortable. The bar service was quick with a quality range of drinks and aperitifs. We selected our meal from the table d'ote and were not disappointed in any way. Again, the staff being friendly and attentive, helping with our wine selection and ensuring our experience was memorable. The room was warm and comfortable with the most stunning view over the river and towards the Cleveland hills. Finally, a good selection of breakfast options and a smooth check out made this a stay which we are looking forward to repeating in the near future. Many thanks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from saltburn by the sea

Lovely grounds

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Stayed overnight as we were at a friends wedding,rooms are quiet, warm and comfortable. Breakfast was good. No complaints apart from they don't offer dog friendly rooms which I look for in a hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool, UK

A beautiful stately home with plenty of character

Posted Dec 18, 2016
We had a lovely time here and particularly enjoyed the view from our room which looked out over the Christmas-tree outside the front door. Breakfast was particularly enjoyable in the comfort of our room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful experience. Have stayed in hotels around the world but none better. Charming, attentive staff. Great location. Can't wait to visit again, hopefully for Christmas(trying to book festive break but having difficulty as Christmas day night is fully booked even though there are vacancies on Christmas eve and boxing day!)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Great location

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Very individual style
Cons: air conditioning for rooms
Location: The Dales, Moors and Coast are all close by and stunnng
Easy to find, convenient for the main roads, but quiet and peaceful rural location. Very un-corporate property, but nice design and touches i the rooms
5 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely but dangerous bathroom

Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely beautiful place food was fantastic bed lovely and comfy and the staff was so hopeful couldn't do enough for us.. I purposed on the night we went and we got free champagne which was nice.. One thing I must comment on.. We couldn't have a bath or shower as I wouldn't let my partner use the bath/shower because there was a heated towel radiator at one end of the bath above ur head which was electric and the fuse spur for it was 2 inch up from the bath. I'm a fully qualified electrician and that is a massive no no you cant have electric directly above a bath and if an inspector came and saw that he would make them change it before the room was used again it's that dangerous other then that it's a great place
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
poor
5 out of 5
by David from Wolverhampton

Superb

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful hotel - after a lifetime of working/advising on conversions of historic buildings to alternative uses this was an obvious choice; and a VERY good choice
5 out of 5
by Mark from Perth

5stars

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
Stunning from the second you turn Into the private drive, staff are amazing food is amazing,room well appointed and the bed was very comfortable, well worth another visit