Ratings based on 191 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near ferry

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: close to ferry.
Cons: parking area in back of hotel had large potholes.
Location: There are different restaurants that were suggested but we decided to eat at the hotel. We only stayed one night as we caught the CAT the next morning
We stayed one night waiting to take the CAT Ferry. Had a room on the 5th floor. Clean, quiet. Beds were comfortable. Bottled water and wine in room were extra charges. Had dinner in hotel restaurant. Fish(haddock) was good-generous portion. Also scallops. Fish chowder was loaded with diced potatoes. Tasted like potato soup with a few small bits of fish added. Our waitress also had room service duty and we waited and waited and waited for a check.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stockholm, Sweden

Great location but that's about it.

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Good location right downtown.
Cons: Clean the carpets. Improve the restaurant (which is terribly boring in spite of the charming lady working there!). The menue was a disappointment.
We got a room with a view over the roof of a different part of the hotel. The carpet was incredibly dirty. The whole room needed a freshening up..... the menue in the restaurant did not correspond to what we found on the internet site.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2016 by GM Rodd Grand Yarmouth, Hotel Management
We are so happy the location worked so well for you during your stay. We are in the process of renovating the hotel and hope we can show you our improvements on your next trip to Yarmouth.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R.I.

Very, very dated.

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Nice view of the bay. Our room was quiet.
Cons: Decor, mattress, and could be cleaner. Air conditioning needs updating also.
Location: A very nice area. A nice boardwalk runs along the bay.
This hotel has a nice view of the bay however it is very very dated. There was plenty of space but the furniture looked to be from the 1990s. The bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever tried to sleep in. I ended up on the couch which was just an as uncomfortable. Our room was located behind the administrative offices. While it was quiet it took a while for the hot water to get there. The free buffet breakfast was awful and there was no alternative choice. The food was cold and not of good quality. This might be a good place to stay if it was updated but I would not stay in this hotel again as it is.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by GM Rodd Grand Yarmouth, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know about a stay you had. I'm a little confused as we do not have any rooms on the main floor where our admin offices are and we do not offer a complimentary buffet breakfast. We do have a full service restaurant which is a-la-carte.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Williamsville, NY

Nice hotel close to ferry.

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Hotel was close to ferry terminal. Very convenient.There was a comfortable easy chair.The room was clean and quiet.
We arrived on the CAT Ferry about 9PM and checked in at the hotel promptly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by GM Rodd Grand Yarmouth, Hotel Management
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for letting us and others know about it and we can't wait to see you on your next trip to Yarmouth.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Not clean, facilities outdated Never recommend Enough xxxxxxxxx Xxxxxxxxc
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by GM Rodd Grand Yarmouth, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear that your stay was not 100% perfect. We are in the process of renovating all areas of the hotel and I hope we get the chance to show you our new and improved product on your next trip to Yarmouth.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Halifax R. M.

It is an old hotel which is undergoing some renos.

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: It is close to many amenities.
Cons: Closet doors that stay on the track and definitely fridges.
Location: Great location near everything.
Comfortable beds, clean. No fridge in room. No perks like pens and stationery...really not important.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by GM Rodd Grand Yarmouth, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I'm pleased to hear that the location of the hotel worked so well for you. We do have fridges upon request and are constantly buying more to go in the rooms. I hope we get to welcome you back on your next trip to Yarmouth.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mass

Ok for one night

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Spa
Location: Right downtown so could walk to most everything in town
Didn't find the double beds that comfortable. Parking was free and in a lot behind the facility. Pool was cool but spa was better. Some renovation has been done but 1960s look
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by GM Rodd Grand Yarmouth, Hotel Management
We are so pleased to hear our location worked so well for you. I'm happy you got to relax in our spa and pool and we hope to see you again very soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario Canada

Central Location

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Hotel staff were nice. They had our reservation and check in was quick. Hotel was older but clean. The room was very dated. Carpets looked like they hadn't been cleaned in years. Could do with an upgrade. Reasonable price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by GM Rodd Grand Yarmouth, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us and others know about your stay. I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed it. We hope to welcome you back as our guest very soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Halifax

Rodd Grand

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Maintenance
Location: Close to Ferry to Portland and dining
The hotel was comfortable and clean. Unfortunately, there was a steady hum from some equipment somewhere. Once I got to sleep however, it didn't wake me . The hotel The hotel is showing signs of decay. It needs a good maintenance program for broken items, chipped walls and damaged furniture. The staff were just excellent, very accommodating and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by GM Rodd Grand Yarmouth, Hotel Management
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for letting us and others know about it. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Yarmouth.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel, close to downtown.

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Location was close to downtown, easy walk to many restaurants and shops.
Cons: Bathroom needs a refurbish, looked tired and worn out. The shower water temperature was not well regulated, went from hot to cold without warning.
Quick friendly check-in. Room was ok, nice view of the bay. The bathroom looked tired and in need of a refurbish. Hotel has a restaurant with a really good breakfast. The pool looked nice and large.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2016 by GM Rodd Grand Yarmouth, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed it. We do have major plans to get as many bathrooms as we can updated this winter and hope we can show you our improvements on your next trip to Yarmouth.