Ratings based on 205 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Crediton

Very nice lodge annexed to inn and restaurant.

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Location: Within 3 miles of M5 so ideal for our purposes which was a family party nearby.
Arrived in torrential rain. Soon cheered up. Parking very close to lodge. Room very clean and spacious. Inn and restaurant busy but staff very friendly and always helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel and service

Posted Jan 16, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable basic and has a nice diner
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 20, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Yvonne R from Bicester

Complaint

Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
Awful the room smelt of cigarettes the bathroom floor was sticky. Booked bed and breakfast then had to pay separately. So did not have any breakfast. Service was shocking at hotels.com the hotel was over 45 min's from where we had to go getting through over an hour late won't book with this company ever again. Can someone call as I want to put in an official complaint. Yvonne
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One night only

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: Good parking. Good restaurant menu (late check in so had already eaten elsewhere)
Cons: Training of restaurant staff - basic service at breakfast ok but lacking personal attention
Location: Set in rural area. No knowledge of local facilities or activities
Checked in late. Room not ready bot but given an alternative. Bathroom a bit shabby - DIY panelling to bath. No toiletries provided.
3 out of 5
by Mark from UK

Ok for a night or two

Posted Nov 19, 2015 on Hotels
OK. Decent sized rooms and style similar to larger uk budget hotel chains. Little bit past its prime but comfortable. Simple things like replacing the sealant round the bath would improve appearance. Friendly staff. Be aware reception closes at 9pm but can still go to the bar to pick up keys until at least 11pm. Attached pub is part of the hungry horse chain. Not much in walking distance but in pleasant countryside. Breakfast is fine but for me spoilt slightly by staff hoovering the pub the whole time I was having it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel looks really nice from the outside and when entering the reception has been recently refurbished and the staff are very polite and friendly. Unfortunately the rooms are not so nice. I stayed here early in the year and i was under the impression the hotel was going through a refurbishment but that does not appear to be the case. The rooms are very dated, the bathrooms look dirty with black mould in the grout along with cracked tiles. Although the room appears to be clean i feel this just gives you an unpleasant feeling and lets be honest, re grouting is not a hard think to do and that alone could change the appearance! Unfortunately i don't think i will be staying here again!
1 out of 5
by Not Provided from Haywards Heath

Disappointing and a little scary

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
Overall decor and presentation of the Lodge was outdated and shabby, which was ok until I walked into the room: Used towels next to the toilet Used water bottles at the bedside Unemptied bin with the previous occupiers details Badly turned down/unmade bed Blocked shower I really felt uncomfortable getting into bed.I have travelled all over the UK, EMEA and International and stayed in many hotels of the budget variety, but I have NEVER experienced this. I'd like to go back again as the staff were friendly but seemed badly led.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In need of a lot of TLC

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Checking in staff need customer service training. Hotel very shabby, room dated, mildew on grout in bathroom, rentokil bait box in bathroom. Could hear every movement from upstairs, on the plus side bed was comfy
1 out of 5
by Brian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels