Ratings based on 233 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spain

Typical chain lodge but with drawbacks.

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: As above
Cons: As above
Location: I was only there overnight, so I have no idea about the things to do nearby.
Following the expedia instructions, I phoned early in the day to say that I would be arriving between 9pm & 10 pm. I was not informed at that time that the kitchen was closed between 9pm and 8am. The Lodge is next to but separate from a Hungry Horse pub outlet. Needless to say, I was disappointed when I arrived to find that I could not even get a sandwich. Reception was not manned, but a press of the bell and someone soon came across from the pub. The room was spotlessly clean, and I liked the white bedlinen. However there was no decaffeinated coffee in the hospitality tray. The bathroom contained a bath with shower over, but the bath had very high sides and I struggled to get into it for a shower. These drawbacks would prevent me from staying there again.
4 out of 5
by Doug

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Catherine

We've stayed before,comfortable & relaxing.

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
Convenient, comfortable and relaxing place the stay
3 out of 5
by M

Ok for a budget option

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
It is a budget hotel: clean and functional with OK family friendly chain pub attached. No issues with noise. Getting a bit tired though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

"It's not a hotel, it's a pub"

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: The shower.
Cons: Improve access to "pub" entrance from car park.
Location: Short visit on business only.
Staff friendly but overall I felt the "pub" was a little dull.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ilfracombe

Helpful staff

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: The friendly helpful staff.
The hotel was very pleasant as were all the staff. In fact, when we were unable to obtain a taxi to our evening function, they went above and beyond the call of duty to help us obtain transport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Convenient for Bristol

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Cons: The bathroom was slightly dated.
Good basic accommodation slightly dated but comfortable. Easy parking, comfortable bed, good value for money quite spacious room. Would stay again if in this area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Neston

Convenient Rest Stop

Posted Oct 31, 2016
We just needed somewhere to lay our heads for the night and this was a convenient location for us. Was very useful having the Hungry Horse attached for breakfast and dinner. Limited vegetarian options though - a lot of items were unavailable, such as halloumi. Ran out of veggie sausages at breakfast and was given 2 instead of the advertised 3 but no explanation or apology initially given - had to enquire. Room and hallway was tired. There was an unpleasant odour from our sink. Staff service was generally good, albeit a bit hit and miss (not bad, just lacking customer service skills).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old reviews do not reflect high standard.

Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels
The reviews I read were VERY misleading. For our purposes (an occasional traveler) the room and breakfast facilities were excellent; full 5 stars. However, to be accurate our room had clearly very well upgraded; other rooms may be awaiting improvements by the crew on site.