Ratings based on 190 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Crediton

Very nice lodge annexed to inn and restaurant.

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Location: Within 3 miles of M5 so ideal for our purposes which was a family party nearby.
Arrived in torrential rain. Soon cheered up. Parking very close to lodge. Room very clean and spacious. Inn and restaurant busy but staff very friendly and always helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night only

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: Good parking. Good restaurant menu (late check in so had already eaten elsewhere)
Cons: Training of restaurant staff - basic service at breakfast ok but lacking personal attention
Location: Set in rural area. No knowledge of local facilities or activities
Checked in late. Room not ready bot but given an alternative. Bathroom a bit shabby - DIY panelling to bath. No toiletries provided.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Not Provided from Haywards Heath

Disappointing and a little scary

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
Overall decor and presentation of the Lodge was outdated and shabby, which was ok until I walked into the room: Used towels next to the toilet Used water bottles at the bedside Unemptied bin with the previous occupiers details Badly turned down/unmade bed Blocked shower I really felt uncomfortable getting into bed.I have travelled all over the UK, EMEA and International and stayed in many hotels of the budget variety, but I have NEVER experienced this. I'd like to go back again as the staff were friendly but seemed badly led.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In need of a lot of TLC

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Checking in staff need customer service training. Hotel very shabby, room dated, mildew on grout in bathroom, rentokil bait box in bathroom. Could hear every movement from upstairs, on the plus side bed was comfy
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ian from London

Cheap and more than cheerful

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
We arrived late but they kept the kitchen open so we could get some food, the staff were very friendly and the hotel is fine. It won't ever be a 5* but for value for money and convenience I would rate it very highly and would certainly return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice people

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
Nice staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Decent enough value hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2015
Pros: Good value accommodation & food Plenty of parking
Cons: Bad smell from basin u-bend Expedia booked double room not twin, but that's not the hotel's fault
Location: Was handy enough for Bristol if you are driving, which was all we needed
Hotel did what was needed without excelling in any particular respect Bonus to have good value food onsite, serving until 9pm
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Peter from Stalybridge

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
The room was very good, especially for the price. The bed was comfortable, the only minor problem was the shower head which squirted water out sideways.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Doreen from Staffordshire

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
We would have preferred a bedroom without cobwebs around the ceiling - as it was only for 1 night we put up with it. We found breakfast to be a shambles. On previous stays we have come down and been able to have cereal, fruit juice, toast etc. and then order a full English. However we found this time that we had to order and pay for the full English and then extra for the other items. It might have helped if there was someone to explain the procedure. We also could not charge the breakfast to our room which we have done in the past. We also noted that the restaurant had not been cleaned from the night before - there was food seen underneath seats and tables. I'm sorry to say we will not be staying here again.