Ratings based on 738 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds, UK

Imposing hotel in splendid setting

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: Good breakfast. Use of health club facilities.
Cons: Cut out the piped music in all public areas. Not everybody wants bang bang yowl yowl music with their breakfast
Location: Splendid view.
Found staff to be very welcoming, friendly and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Lovely hotel for a relaxing break

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Went here for an anniversary. Had two great meals at both MPW restaurants and used spa facilities which were also fantastic. Scenery is incredible, staff were amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice hotel ins lively setting.

Posted Oct 7, 2017
We stayed here before flying to Amsterdam for a few days. Hotel and staff were excellent, nothing was to much trouble, food a bit pricey but was very Nice. We left our car at the hotel while away and they staff booked us a taxi to take us to the airport which was around a 10 min journey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Relaxing time

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Great Spa and pool facilities for a relaxing time. This hotel offers everything you need for a getaway, including a great restaurant and comfortable rooms. Staff were all very polite and helpful. Thinking of booking next stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Go For the Deluxe

Posted Sep 28, 2017
The first night we spent in a standard double room. (Due to a wedding, only a standard was available.). The room was much too cramped and, due to the space limitations, many design compromises. At best, this ranked a "3". The next time, we were able to move to a "deluxe" room (503) which was as spacious as one would reasonably expect, excellent, and for us a "5".
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth

dirty, unpleasant, dangerous

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Room dirty and cold not pleasant smelling of moisture , the pool and gym are not in the same building as the pictures and descriptions,Hotel is not family frendly ,You can not go with the kids to the gym , kids can not evenwatch the parents , pool for children is available from 11am and no later than 7 pm. Pool is dirty , missing tiles in steaming room cause sharp edges , 2 meters from pool is unsealed and brokek electic junction box (pls see photos) it is simply extremely danger, beautiful location with great potential Unfortunately in my opinion they need to learn much more about how to organize a stay for the family and cleanliness. Big THANKS for the club restaurant, great food and even more fantastic team.
5 out of 5
by Roscina

Nice but pricey

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
Great bar and resturants. Gorgeous grounds. Nice but pricey cocktails
2 out of 5
by Dai

In need of work, worst Hilton I have stayed in

Posted Sep 3, 2017 on Hotels
Work going on, locks never worked for rooms, noisy, air condition broken
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Good hotel with weak elements and disappointments

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Firstly we enjoyed our stay at Double Tree Hilton Congresbury (Bristol South) between 24 to 30 August. Staff amiable and courteous & helpful.
Cons: Better consideration of access for our disabled compatriots. "No Parking" signs outside entrance to stop lazy inconsiderate people obstructing access
Location: Lovely area and convenient for several main routes to west country sites.
On arrival it was not evident that older or disabled people could access the hotel, other than by the large number of steps at the main entrance. Only at Reception we were advised there was a door “round the back”. This is not equal opportunities. The first day/night was fine, however, pillows were too soft and left my neck painful the 2nd day, I asked for firmer pillows. On return I did not have the pillows, our bar of soap and wash/shower gels had been removed and not replaced. Also there was a cluster of small holes in the bed sheet, and one of the single beds had sunk in the middle, making it very uncomfortable. When we returned to our room at 1600hrs on Friday 25 Aug, housekeeping were still servicing our room. At breakfast I was disappointed that the bacon was thin and leathery, the scrambled egg was more crumbled than scrambled. Whole milk not available! Semi-skimmed milk is no longer the main healthy choice and is not recommended for children and older people as it does not contain the level of calcium required for healthy bone structure. What happened to customer choice! When we returned to our room at 1930hrs on Saturday 26 Aug, housekeeping were still in our room, and the courtesy face cloths(flannels) had been removed and not replaced. We had a long day out and returned to have a snack in the bar at 2140hrs. When we asked to have an item from the “10am – 10pm” element of the menu, we were refused, and only permitted to have an item from the 24hr menu!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2017
To many people due to weddings staff only available to help wedding guests not guests ot the hotel , maybe stay again but definitely not if there was a wedding