Ratings based on 713 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Good hotel with weak elements and disappointments

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Firstly we enjoyed our stay at Double Tree Hilton Congresbury (Bristol South) between 24 to 30 August. Staff amiable and courteous & helpful.
Cons: Better consideration of access for our disabled compatriots. "No Parking" signs outside entrance to stop lazy inconsiderate people obstructing access
Location: Lovely area and convenient for several main routes to west country sites.
On arrival it was not evident that older or disabled people could access the hotel, other than by the large number of steps at the main entrance. Only at Reception we were advised there was a door “round the back”. This is not equal opportunities. The first day/night was fine, however, pillows were too soft and left my neck painful the 2nd day, I asked for firmer pillows. On return I did not have the pillows, our bar of soap and wash/shower gels had been removed and not replaced. Also there was a cluster of small holes in the bed sheet, and one of the single beds had sunk in the middle, making it very uncomfortable. When we returned to our room at 1600hrs on Friday 25 Aug, housekeeping were still servicing our room. At breakfast I was disappointed that the bacon was thin and leathery, the scrambled egg was more crumbled than scrambled. Whole milk not available! Semi-skimmed milk is no longer the main healthy choice and is not recommended for children and older people as it does not contain the level of calcium required for healthy bone structure. What happened to customer choice! When we returned to our room at 1930hrs on Saturday 26 Aug, housekeeping were still in our room, and the courtesy face cloths(flannels) had been removed and not replaced. We had a long day out and returned to have a snack in the bar at 2140hrs. When we asked to have an item from the “10am – 10pm” element of the menu, we were refused, and only permitted to have an item from the 24hr menu!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2017
To many people due to weddings staff only available to help wedding guests not guests ot the hotel , maybe stay again but definitely not if there was a wedding
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from witney

Great facilities

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Although arriving at 4pm to find our room not ready, the staff did give us complimentary drinks vouchers, whilst we waited. A lot of building work happening, which was not stated in the hotel description, although it didn't affect us, it did confuse if using a different lift. Breakfast food we ate their one day only as we did not want to eat their again as the food was so greasy. If staying as a room only I would not pay for breakfast. It would be nice also to not offer sachets of nescafe coffee in rooms and at breakfast, cafetières would be much nicer and maybe coffee pod machines in the rooms. But minus these points the hotel is clean, comfortable and facilities are excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

First class hotel, shame about the aircraft

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Food, staff and gardens
Cons: Set of drawers for your clothes
Location: Excellent base for visiting Bath, Bristol, Cheddar Gorge. SS Great Britain in Bristol and Roman Baths in Bath are 2 attractions you should visit.
Excellent food. Rooms are clean and spacious but furniture limiting, a chest of drawers would have been nice, couldn't open the windows. Facilities were very good and has lovely gardens. Staff were very friendly and polite. The main downside to the hotel is that it is on the flight path to Bristol airport which maybe why they stop you from opening bedroom windows.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

very disappointing. below usual Hilton standard.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: location and surrounding area. beautiful grounds
Cons: respect for its customers or guests. standard needs to be improved to achieve 4****
Location: shoppers paradise-brilliant shopping such as Bristol, Clarkes outlet village, sea-side areas with lovely restaurants and cafes.
Housekeeping was very neglectful. Dirty linen laft in corridor overnight. hoover left lying in corridor. Room not cleaned after 6 days.no change of towels over 48hrs. No housekeeping on several days. reception staff not helpful. No access to phone on room no available porter when required.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Housekeeping very poor. Room not attended to

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: surrounding area and beautiful grounds
Cons: more housekeeping staff to attend to rooms and higher standard maintained. respect for paying customers.
Location: Brilliant shopping area. great tourist sites to visit e.g Bath, Bristol, Clarkes shopping village, sea-side area
reception staff unhelpful with problems regarding poor housekeeping. Didn't want to know. Room not attended to. Dirty laundry and trays left lying in corridor overnight. unable to get room service. no working phone in room . No access to porter service. very disappointing stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ringwood

Nice hotel but not for families.

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Nice hotel, restaurant staff really friendly. Building work going on that we were not made aware of when booking. Children are only aloud swimming after 11am, just after this time aqua aerobics classes started and took over the pool!! So not great for kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Lovely hotel in a great setting

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Luxurious bedrooms. Terrace outside the bar area. Lovely grounds.
Cons: Privacy in the en suite and quality of en suite fixtures and fittings.
The hotel was lovely with a good amount of seating on a terrace, although unfortunately the night I was there some of the other guests were noisy and took over the atmosphere on the terrace. The room was luxurious and comfortable although I found the en suite lacking, there was no privacy with a window through to the shower and a large mirror opposite. The choice of food in the restaurant was limited and expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hertfordshire

Excellent hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Excellent hotel really helpful staff and food was brilliant
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for the night

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Exactly what you would expect. Had a meal in the bar that was good, once we got served. The room was ok, but room service had, I presume, forgot to restock bathroom and drinks tray... milk etc. and hair dryer hidden away. Minor points really but still has an affect on relaxation.