Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beverly Hills

Yelapa is paradise.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: The restaurant food was delectable. By far the best mexian food ever. I loved the location of the hotel and the ability to open my door to the ocean.
Cons: Cleanliness. There was some trash left from the last guest.
Location: We walked into town with required we cross a low river. bit scary but fun for my 13 year old son. We walked to the local waterfal which was magical.
By far one of the most amazing places ever. The beach is rigth outside your doorstep and sleeping to the sound of the crashing waves was magical. The room is not luxurious, its like glamping. Super cute and perfect for our experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in contact with nature.

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: It's comfortable. The location. The materials of the house.
Cons: When you make the reservation, Expedia should explain how to get there (boat). The staff can be more specific about that the house is open to nature.
It is a good option if you want to connect with nature. The rooms are separated from one another as if they were a house. Each room has its own terrace to relax. There is light and hot water. The hotel has it´s own swimming pool and it´s a very good one. The beach it´s a few steps. It has it´s own restaurant, anyway you can go to the others. The town is in front of Hotel Lagunita, if your staying is for several day, you can go to the town to buy supplies. Ten minutes from the town there is a waterfall, the road it´s a good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft Worth Tx

Love this place

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Eddie and staff are the friendliest. We love this place. We are picky about our bedding so the typical Mexican sandpaper pillowcases wear on you after a few days. Bring your own linens if you're pampered like us!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Luke Donahue, Hotel Management
Thanks alot for your kindly review! Best Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bandon, Oregon

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Everything as it was not a crowded 18 story high rise hotel filled with noise!!!!
Cons: Nothing…paradise found!!!
Location: dMany things offered buty the best was to hike on your own and experience the local restaurants off the beaten path.
Wonderful quiet enjoyable experience in a lovely thatched roof cabin on the beach…..aaahhhh paradise found!!!!
5 out of 5
by MICHELLE

Beachside living at it's best

Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Hotels
If you desire beachside accommodations, we don't think there is another resort as good as the Lagunita resort, thouroghly enjoyed our stay!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA

Lovely setting, uncomfortable hotel room.

Posted Sep 10, 2016
We stayed in room number 8. Every one is different. The setting is quite charming. Pros: We could see the beach from our modest porch, it was only a few minutes walk to the restaurants, and Yelapa was full of kind and welcoming people. Langunita's pool was very fun. It had several large boulders to perch on in the water, felt clean, and had a great view of the bay. Cons: We stayed on a very hard uncomfortable bed, there was a power outage for a day and a half which ment no showers, no toilets (not under anyone's control really, it just was unfortunate) but my worst experience was the bugs. I could not stand in our hotel for more that ten minutes without being bit several times. My saving grace was the mosquito net around the bed. I highly recommend bug repellent or a citronella candles to fight off the no-see-ems. Overall a pleasant place, nice experience. Would recent again, only with precautions. :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Sunsets

Posted May 11, 2016
This was a fun place to stay! Think of it as upscale camping, with electricity and a bathroom. All huts are open to the outside and have thatched roofs. Don't be surprised or upset if you see a few bugs, a lizard, or a cute little beach crab in your room. The restaurant has good food and the best views of the gorgeous sunsets on the beach.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not for the POSH

Posted Nov 29, 2015 on Hotels
great Gilligans Island place- very hippi and rustic. Pool was dangerous and filthy- Towels has holes. People very nice and clearly not up to running a hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bay area, ca

Nice beach and staff but over priced

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: Being on the beach and friendly staff.
Cons: A little upkeep of the place would be nice. Better pricing. Water and cups in the room.
Location: Look for Juan Castillon to help you get around and find things to do. All the locals know him. He was born and raised on Yelapa, speaks English.
We arrived at Lagunita expecting an off the beaten path, rustic place and that's what we got. Being right on the beautiful beach and hearing the waves all night was magical. The staff and owner were very nice and accomodating. Especially after we asked to be moved due to our very noisy neighbors. Playing loud music at 3 am and pleasuring eachother! Once we moved, it was a lot better. Still, I think we paid too much for what we got. $160 a night for a palapa in Yelapa? I recommend calling the hotel (using the term loosly here)directly to book. Palapas are a bit run down, with paint chipping every where and tarp and garbage bags holding the roof together. Would have been OK if we'd paid less! Don't forget to take your bug repellant! We got eaten up alive, even with mosquito netting and spray.