Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2017
This was our first time in Yellowknife. I enjoyed the view from the balcony, we were on the 10th floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by Jenni, Hotel Management
Thank you! We hope to see you again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Front desk is not really helpful

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: The suit is spacious with kitchen, it is very good for family or group of friends
Check In time starts at 3:00, and their front staff change shift at the same time. I had to wait more than an hour to get into the room and there is no other customer. After one whole hour, one customer came in and got their room right the way. I talked to their staff and was told the room was still not ready, they were short staff, there were 30 rooms check out that day, So many late check out, ..... .and he didn't know when my room would be ready, he had to wait for house keeping to call them. he could not call the house keeping, he cannot get me another room which is ready, nothing he can do..... It was totally unreasonable and no hospitality services..... Finally, another staff came in and willing to go up checking the room, and then my room was ready in 5 minutes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Banff

Good

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Aurora Village, DWT Diamond Exibition, YK Mall is terrible, Go to information centre for a free pin. Old town's ice road to Detah.
Was in 1004. Good size room for 6 people. Sofa bed was good and did not have any pain. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful. Night Audit dude is swell. Breakfast is excellent. Laundry is a little expensive, and disliked the minimum is 10$ on the card. Steam room and gym is adequate. Kitchen lacks proper knives for cooking. But definitely worth ... whatever I paid for (can't remember).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too remote for tourist with no car

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Suites style with adequate continental breakfast
Cons: Room cleanliness and freshness
Location: Too far from main streets for restaurants, etc. That was a big shortcoming.
The hotel is off the path for restaurants, etc.....pretty important in winter when you don't want to be walking in zero and below weather. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful; cleaning staff were indifferent. Plastic bags of picked up trash were left overnight in the hall; my room was not cleaned for days; and the kitchen complement was adequate but old and unappealing. On the bright side - the water was HOT!!! and abundant.
4 out of 5
by Li Qi

Convenient and equipped hotel

Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Hotels
Spacious apartment - sleeps up to 8 even! Cooking facilities were adequate and good. Convenient location in town. The heater seeslms to be switched off automatically in the day time so it got quite cold at times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellingham, WA

Comfortable, Spacious Hotel Suites

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Cons: The carpeting in the elevators could be replaced.
We stayed for six nights in a 2-bedroom comfort suite. The unit was very spacious with a large balcony and living room. Rooms were cleaned daily. The renovated lobby and dining area were nice. The gym and steam room were also in great condition. I like the fact that the steam room and gym are open 24 hours. We enjoyed the self-service, complimentary breakfasts: good muffins, breads, fruits, yogurts, and juice. Eating out in Yellowknife can be expensive, so it was nice to have the complimentary breakfasts, which were very decent. The rooms have full-service kitchens, so you can also cook your own food, which we did for most of our stay to save money. The hotel is located close to downtown, so you can walk to the Old Town (20 minutes), downtown (10 minutes), Northern Frontier Visitors Centre (15 minutes), or the Prince of Wales Heritage Centre (20 minutes) to give you some approximate times depending on the pace of your walk. We only needed to use the taxi to and from the airport to the hotel (about $17.50 CAD each way). Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Coast Fraser Tower Hotel, and the staff were always friendly and helpful. Another benefit of staying here is that it is one of main pickup locations for all the tour operators in Yellowknife. If you stay at a smaller hotel or motel, you would have to walk to one of the designated hotels for pickup.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Nice hotel close to amenities

Posted Jan 11, 2017
The hotel is close to dinning, shopping. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Room is clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did not live up to its promise

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Came here as a family of 5 and booked 2 bedrooms, both with one king sized bed, a washroom with a bath tub and kitchenette. The hotel is good if you really want a kitchenette. However the items in each room's kitchenette varied and was so inconsistent. Its as if they just work around with whats left or random pieces that they've put together for each room. One kitchenette had a water kettle, the other didnt. Pans and bowls were pretty random. Arrived around 2pm and although check in is officially for 3pm, our 2nd room was not available until 5:45pm or so. When asked why, they said they were understaffed. Once the 2nd room was finally done, we came in and HOLY SMOKES it smelled like instant noodles. They didnt even bother to spray air freshener or anything. The smell was obviously from the previous guests. When I called reception to ask why it stinked, they said that by then around 6pm housekeeping staff was already gone. Ummm so basically you're telling us sorry but you cant do anything - wow. What was consistent was the POOR WIFI. The wifi kept getting cut and was almost non existent. Breakfast was mediocre, but thankfully free and included. Just pieces or bread & bagels with small packaged spreads, fruits, milk, juice and cereals. There isn't an in house restaurant at the hotel also. By chance my family and I went to the Explorer hotel because a friend was staying there and my god the amenities, service and wifi was awesome. Stay here only if u MUST have a kitchenette.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Central to New Town and Great Slave lake

Posted Dec 29, 2016
I was surprised to see that we had an apartment, not just a hotel room. We had a living room, full kitchen, dining room, bedroom, and bathroom with a balcony! And it didn't break the bank! They were undergoing renovations in December 2016, it looked like they were modernizing a bit. Can't wait to go back and see what they've done. The location was perfect for us. Just a few blocks to New Town and a short walk to Rat lake then over the hill to Great Slave Lake. We were on the 5th floor overlooking the lakes and saw the Aurora from our room! The steam room nice and they had showers right next to it. Only wish they had a hot tub. Overall, great place to stay and we will definitely go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Van

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2016
This hotel is fairly big at Yellowknife and close to everything, mainly because Yellowknife is a small town. The hotel facilities are quite old and dinning place was under renovation, so there are many guests had to eat at their own room, there were not enough seats and space for breakfast.