Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, get what you pay for

Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Hotels
The overall stay was good in terms of location. However, property was really old, no elevator (we had lots of heavy luggage to carry up the stairs) and there was the smell of smoking (even though we were staying in a smoke free room). The concierge was really nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Most stellar hotel staff ever!

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
Great value for the location, clean, and the most stellar hotel staff ever! They treated us like family and went out of their way helping us with tour advice and aurora sighting. The hotel staff were very knowledgeable with aurora activities and went above and beyond to make sure that we don't miss the aurora sighting. We were so grateful for their kindness and warmth. So if you plan to go to YK, definitely sticking with the Discovery Inn people, they take great care of their guests and does everything to maximize your chances to see aurora.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yellowknife

Hotel close to shops

Posted Jun 27, 2016
The hotel was ok. No elevator and the room was clean. There's a restaurant connected to the hotel and the parking area was perfect.
2 out of 5
by Don

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cedarburg wi

lift please

Posted Feb 28, 2016
Pros: location. Staff helpful when asked
Cons: towels, elevator
Location: close to Aurora Village office, visitors center, museum, grocery store. If weather cooperates, old town is a nice walk
non-smoking rooms on the 3rd floor-no elevator-tough for checking in etc. Also towels were thread bare. Think this hotel is best for the under 30 crowd. We were there for the Auroras
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2015
No elevator, wifi cost $5, shower does not work well.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 18, 2015 on Hotels
The room was fine for the money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 25, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels
yuk is all i have to say.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would never stay here again

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Really nothing the front desk guy wasn't friendly and you had to pay extra for Wifi as a guest
Cons: Clean the rooms better and include wifi and just up-date it a bit
Location: Location was good
The hotel was very old and not well kept up, the mugs in the room were not clean. The hallways smelt of old cigarettes an I was in non smoking floor. The price was about double what the hotel was worth and I would never stay there again