Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth, UK

Great hotel, but where is the staff?

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Great hotel, great location (although is challenging to reach by foot while at night) But staff is really hard to spot. I had to check out without telling anyone, because no one was around. Still, amazing room, and the WiFi was great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Recommended hideaway B and B

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
Good stay, amazing building amazing grounds and building. Kettle lead doesn't reach socket, has to be moved to bedside table to boil it. Clean and comfortable. Breakfast room like something from Harry Potter . Real wow effect
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing find!

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
What an amazing find! The Fat Pigeon is part of the historical Brympton Estate. The rooms and facilities are basic but clean and comfortable. The gardens at the back were beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

This is a 5 star Bed and Breakfast NOT a 5 star Ho

Posted Sep 18, 2016
I was not quite sure what to expect after reading mixed reviews but my intuition was that it would be good... it wasn't good, it was FABULOUS! I personally do not like hotels much, I find them too formal, sterile and the staff too fussy. This was quite the opposite. The friendly helpful staff show you around when you first arrive then leave you to your own devices... which I loved. The rooms are quirky and aged but that is the charm of a Tudor house. All rooms are well furnished, supplied and equipped though which was very impressive. Breakfast is a wonderful experience, seated in the Tudor hall with inglenook fireplace, chandeliers and wood panelling. It is a self service, all you can eat continental breakfast which is as classy as you want it to be! One last thing to say... all the less than gushing reviews on Trip Advisor are from people who went expecting a 5 Star hotel - IT IS NOT! This is the most awesome 5 Star Bed and Breakfast you will ever encounter, go there and be wowed by it but do not expect to be waited on hand and foot, that is NOT what you have paid for. I am definitely going back again and recommending it to all my friends.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
Value for money fantastic build Worth every penny
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I would never stay again

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
Check in is only between 1600 and 2000, which is not clear on the confirmation document. I arrived about 1330 to find nobody around, but a notice on reception informing one. When I returned about 1545, a young man eventually appeared, to my mind rather casually dressed for someone who told me, when asked, that he was the manager. I was surprised that I was not asked to complete any forms or asked to provide ID. He offered to help with my baggage, and I was glad about that - I had to climb 53 steps, some of which were a spiral, to what was I assumed would have been servants quarters of old. The room was well appointed, although it had only one bedside light. The TV on the wall was facing towards the window, rather than the bed (I could not move it) and did not receive BBC channels. There was no water provided on tray. There was no telephone to call reception - I accept that most people have a mobile, but no number was placed in room to call in an emergency. The bedding felt damp . . . in fact the whole room felt damp. Although a bar was mentioned in amenity highlights, no such thing exists, neither does a cooked breakfast, though continental is available. Would I stay again? Never. Would I recommend it to friends? Never. I wonder how people manage with check-in if they are attending a wedding function and staying overnight? Or are special arrangements made for what seems to be the Fat Pigeon's 'cash cow' . . .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cardiff

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Brilliant stay set in grounds of 16th century grand house .very quiet and lovely setting
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice but a few disappointing things.

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice Hotel, BUT a few things need sorting out - I stayed in Room 5 on the top floor. My bathroom was so dark even with light on. No Toilet Roll holder. Milk left in room was off. Arrived late in the day - found handwritten instructions on how to get to rooms - very confusing. We were trying to find 3 rooms on different floors. Smoke detector in room bleeped all night. Replacement Battery needed.