Ratings based on 347 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid - These people do not deserve your business

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: NA
Cons: If reservations are to be forfeited at 9pm, regardless of whether the room has been paid for, this fact should be highlighted.
Location: Barstow/Yermo good halfway point between Los Angeles and Las Vegas
Do yourself a favor, and do not bother reserving a room at this property through expedia or any other means. Your reservation does not guarantee you a room, and as far as we can tell, that is the established policy of this property. We arrived at 10 pm, having made reservations through expedia weeks in advance. The lobby had several parties of guests sitting around when we arrived. The receptionist took one look at us and said she hoped we didn't expect to stay here, as she had no rooms. After telling her we had a reservation, her response was that she didn't care, she had no rooms. She told us that all reservations are forfeit at 9 pm (despite them holding our credit card details, and the expedia listing quoting check in times between 4 pm and 2 am). Another guest was in a similar predicament. However, unlike us, had paid for her room in advance. Such a policy shows a complete disregard for the most basic standards of professionalism, not to mention the considerable inconvenience and unnecessary expense caused to guests. In our opinion, any hotel which lacks the basic professionalism to actually hold a reservation after taking it, is not deserving of your business. We would recommend choosing one of the many other similarly priced options in the Barstow/Yermo area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Close to Calico Ghost Town.

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Room was clean. Staff was nice. Pool was a bit dirty when we got there but found out it had been super windy the day before. Wasn't cleaned until the day we left but not a big deal for us. Overall a good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County CA

Great price for a good place

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: The location was convenient for heading into Barstow and Southern California, the rooms were fine, and the price was really good.
Cons: The beds were small (doubles) and more pillows would be nice.
Location: Penny's Diner shares the parking lot and is a cute chrome and formica retro diner. Good food and with great servers. Calico Ghost Town is very close.
Quick overnight stay on a road trip and a fun visit to Calico Ghost Town, which is just up the road. Location is right off the highway, and though we were on the highway side the sounds were not really troubling - the windows are doubled to keep it quieter. It's used by the railroad as an overnight for crews, and has some amenities just for them. (They seemed like nice guys and were satisfied with the hotel.)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Nice stop

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Definitely not a destination hotel but a perfect place to rest and move on!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The room and staff were really nice.

Posted Mar 27, 2017
The room and staff were really nice except one girl who gave me an attitude when I asked if there was some type of deposit after I realized they took more money from me than I was quoted. But overall a wonderful stay. Very clean and quiet. Nice rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jeannie

Yermo

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
It suited our needs
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible experience, never again

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Arrived the hotel around 11:20pm, almost midnight. We were told the room is not ready, i.e., it is dirty and not clean up yet, need around 30 minutes to clean up. The toilet was leaking water and kept flushing from time to time for the whole night.
1 out of 5
by Hugo

Worst experience ever ..

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
We showed up, and they gave away our rooms, the lady at the counter looked like she was on drugs couldn't even turn on the computer to check our reservation. I clearly noted that we where arriving a little late,.. The lady at the counter was so rude, my kids where ready to sleep but we had to drive back to Barstow to find a room
5 out of 5
by Nigel

Good hotel with Penny's Diner next door

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was a real surprise - a pleasant surprise. Excellent value for money. Really good diner (Penny's) in the grounds for breakfast - in fact, it's open 24 hours. (We were going to try Peggy Sue's Diner nearby, but it was very commercialised and we didn't care for the staff attitude.) We stayed one night at the Oak Tree Inn en route to Palm Springs, and it was an ideal stop-over.