Ratings based on 363 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Vegas bound

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Cheap and near the highway. Food next door and gas. Room was very clean the beds were not very comfy but the price was awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Good Deal

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Clean and comfortable at a good price.
Cons: It was difficult to control the temperature in the room. You got either too cold, or too warm, no middle.
Location: There is nothing to do in this location except get back on the Interstate! Two restaurants, one intersection, one gas station - just passing through!
No frills, but very adequate, comfortable, and clean hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overbooked rooms

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: location
hotel was overbooked by expedia... no rooms available ... good luck getting your money back .... had to drive back to barstow and spend twice as much for a better place.
1 out of 5
by Dave from Malaga

Disgraceful hotel operated by morons !

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
Arrived to check-in, was told they had overbooked and had no rooms even though I showed the Hotels.com confirmation. Front desk suggested I drive to Barstow to find an alternative hotel which had rooms for twice the price !! Myself and kids were disappointed and very upset with the situation.
1 out of 5
by Kelli

turned away, comp problems at front desk

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
computer at front desk was down. they turned away all customers.
5 out of 5
by Lisa

Started off a little shaky, but ended up great!

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
I am a bargain traveler whose primary concerns are safety, cleanliness, and affordability. I chose this motel for its proximity to the Mojave National Preserve, so that we could spend a full day touring instead of traveling. We arrived at approximately 1:30 a.m., and when I rang the bell to check in, the attendant told me they were sold out. When I said that my reservation was pre-paid, she said I had to check in before midnight. I stated that had never been an issue with me with other motels booked via Hotels.com, and she grumbled something about that's how her manager trained her. Then she started punching keys on her computer, and miraculously, a room with two double beds became available. I was relieved that I wasn't going to have to keep driving to find another place at that hour, because I was tired and had a tired and cranky 10 year old with me. Once we got into our room, we were very pleased by the size and cleanliness of it. Overall, we had a great night's sleep, the bed was comfy and everything worked as needed. Still, I'll never understand why this employee's first impulse would be to turn away a traveler at 1:30 a.m. on a Wednesday night, particularly when there was obviously a room available.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid - These people do not deserve your business

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: NA
Cons: If reservations are to be forfeited at 9pm, regardless of whether the room has been paid for, this fact should be highlighted.
Location: Barstow/Yermo good halfway point between Los Angeles and Las Vegas
Do yourself a favor, and do not bother reserving a room at this property through expedia or any other means. Your reservation does not guarantee you a room, and as far as we can tell, that is the established policy of this property. We arrived at 10 pm, having made reservations through expedia weeks in advance. The lobby had several parties of guests sitting around when we arrived. The receptionist took one look at us and said she hoped we didn't expect to stay here, as she had no rooms. After telling her we had a reservation, her response was that she didn't care, she had no rooms. She told us that all reservations are forfeit at 9 pm (despite them holding our credit card details, and the expedia listing quoting check in times between 4 pm and 2 am). Another guest was in a similar predicament. However, unlike us, had paid for her room in advance. Such a policy shows a complete disregard for the most basic standards of professionalism, not to mention the considerable inconvenience and unnecessary expense caused to guests. In our opinion, any hotel which lacks the basic professionalism to actually hold a reservation after taking it, is not deserving of your business. We would recommend choosing one of the many other similarly priced options in the Barstow/Yermo area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Close to Calico Ghost Town.

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Room was clean. Staff was nice. Pool was a bit dirty when we got there but found out it had been super windy the day before. Wasn't cleaned until the day we left but not a big deal for us. Overall a good experience.
1 out of 5
by douglas

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Had a reservation when we got there they said they gave our room away, we were not the only ones. Just said make sure you call hotels.com and get your money back. Really messed up.