Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore Bedok North

Nice hotel close to shopping and restourants

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Check-in was smooth and quick. Friendly receptionist. Breakfast was good. Room was clean and big. Water presure for the shower was a bit low. Neats to be improved. Overall was good. Might recommend to friends to stay in this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur

Amazing hotel for its rates.

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: - The decor is very Indonesian, which I definitely prefer compared to other contemporary hotels. - Attentive staff - Spacious room for two
Cons: Guests should be informed that the heater is going to be switched off at certain time. We had freezing cold shower at 3am to go to Merapi.
Location: The location is quite further than where Yogyakarta's action is at - Malioboro. But there's a mall and local eating joints within walking distance.
Overall it's a very pleasant 5-day stay for me and my friend. The room is kept in spotless condition. The traditional decor gives an authentic lndonesian experience. We couldn't try the restaurant it's way over our price range but luckily there are smaller restaurants nearby and we could walk to the mall (within walking distance) when we felt like having regular food. We couldn't take a spin on its free bicycles since the traffic, even in front of the hotel, was always chaotic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Very nice hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2017
I stayed for two nights and it was a wonderful experience. The hotel is beautiful and the staff is very friendly, helpful and courteous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham UK

An oasis of calm

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Traditional setting with live music at breakfast
Cons: Staff knowledge of attractions of interest to foreign visitors - but advice is available in adjascent travel agency Dewatha Sakti.
Location: use the local buses: routes 1A and B stop at WANITATAMA, close tothe Mercure Hote, a short walk from the hotel;you can go to Prambanan for 4,000 r.!
I wanted a relaxing base while sightseeing in and around the city. The busy street right outside the hotel is off-putting but once inside I found an oasis of calm. The staff are eager to please and there is a pool but the greatest attraction for me is the courtyard setting. Once I got the hang of the TransJogya system and a map I used the local bus service as a modest attempt not to add my taxi rides to the appalling traffic conditions. The city is sprawling and messy, offering insights into real life in contemporary Java. The conventional tourist attractions are well managed but the journeys to and from them can be depressing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel with helpful, friendly staff

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: It has the atmosphere of a calm "oasis" just off a busy road, with attractive gardens and a restaurant serving good food.
Location: There are many cafes nearby - an excellent one just across the road. Just a short walk to main roads for public transport, shopping, etc.
I stayed here for two weeks, and found the hotel ideal for my requirements. The room was comfortable, the breakfast ample, and it was only a few minutes' walk from my school. When I asked if I could change rooms because of a noisy air-conditioner, the staff were only too happy to help.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

3.5 star Hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
The male staff spoke English but poor in managing rooms. I arrived at 1230 and he gave me a room with twin beds, saying there was no single bed. There were many still checking out and I insisted on a single and I got it finally waiting for an hour. The female staff much better in English and management. Also, very kind and I appreciated their service. Massage service is done between the same gender here. No swimming pool and fridge but the cleaness and the facilities were on par with a 4 star hotel. Another con was that the restaurant and bar are separate with the hotel and you much pay cash each time and that was not convenient.
4 out of 5
by Claire from London

Great service in an ageing hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
First impressions were good-helpful staff and nice entrance. Room was also very nice although over our 3 night stay we noticed more and more elements of where it is starting looking tired and in need of a refresh-mainly the bathroom. Breakfast was ok-appears to be a good selection but some stuff appeared to sit there uncovered for the duration of our visit (salad/fruit section including sauces was the main one). Hot food was tasty but not replenished once all gone. Was nice that the selection varied each day. Pool was lovely, towels provided and all very clean, in facts all of the grounds were well kept. Wifi was very slow and only worked outside the room which was annoying. Overall fine and if you can get a good deal then go for it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with a very Indonesian feeling to it

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Pros: The Indonesian nuance of the whole hotel and interior
Cons: The cleanliness of the towel and maybe watch out for ants from the food as well.
Location: Location is near one of the university in Jogja, I would suggest to order taxi from the hotel to go around (There is a min. charge of 25k IDR)
The hotel has a very Indonesian nuance with their decorations, interiors, food selections and other things. The room itself was very nice, a bit dirty when we first arrive but always cleaned up everyday. The AC can get a bit too warm at times, but should be working just fine most of the times. The towels given was a bit of a downer, one of them have coffee(?) blood(?) stains on it. Breakfast food was pretty good and they have quite a selection to choose from; however, on one of the traditional dishes they serve on top of a claypot (If I'm not mistaken it would be the egg from nasi kuning) it was swarmed with tons of ants in it. It's a good thing that I didn't take any of it. The staffs
3 out of 5
by L. E from Indianapolis,USA

It's an OK hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Hotels
My family had stayed at this hotel in 2008. Back then, we felt that this hotel was in a pristine condition. It's sad to see a little bit rundown room this time. Room size and bedding is okay. The was clean but not well maintained. The small fridge door was rusty, cracked lampshade. Shower area was not that clean. No water pressure and one day we had to call maintainence to fix the drainage. We're non smokers. The worst part was when we could smell very strong smoke from another room. It made me cough during the night and we could smell smoke in our clothes. I happened to leave one US-Indonesian plug in one of the sockets. Although, they couldn't find mine, the manager was kind enough to replace it with one of theirs. Overall, it was an ok stay as the prize was very good and it's close to my Indonesian relatives' homes
5 out of 5
by Tino from DALLAS

Excellent traditional Javanese hotel

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
We booked 2 rooms for 3 days. Excellent quality hotel for the price. Traditional style but upgraded. The garden and the pool is absolutely beautiful and quiet.As a matter of fact lots of tourists are coming there just for the pool. All the staff is nice and would go an extra mile to make you happy. It was the best hotel I ever stayed in Yogyakarta and I will definately return.