Ratings based on 539 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique heritage hotel in a good location

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Staff was especially good, Heritage items around the hotel makes for a good experience
Cons: Rooms could be bigger
Location: Near Maliaboro so plenty to do
Very nice staff, unique room decorations, breakfast was good, good location. Overall very pleased
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Lovely old building but nothing exceptional about the rooms. Breakfast is fabulous though!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but noisy around the pool

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Common areas
Cons: Pool area. check in.
This is a lovely hotel as described in the other reviews... I had a room overlooking the pool which was very noisy at times. I was woken up at 7:30 on the Saturday by what sounded like a karaoke or live music. It seems that they hold events in this area which I guess explains this. A couple of days later there seemed to be a conference there as there were several dozen people around the pool area... in itself, not a problem, but I think you would probably feel quite awkward there if you had been in the pool during that time or sitting on one of the sun loungers in your swimwear. Another small niggle I have is that there they didn't offer you a welcome drink. Most hotels offer this and frankly it doesn't usually bother me one way or the other, but in this instance I was early and quite thirsty so it would have been nice. I did ask but was told that it isn't their policy to offer a welcome drink. The room was very nice and spacious and the common areas in the hotel are truly fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Australia

Beautiful hotel, close to all things to see

Posted May 19, 2017
Loved it, was like staying in a museum, staff gorgeous and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2017 by Thomas Evrard, Hotel Management
Dear Jvdb, A big thank you for your valuable feedback and compliments, they are very motivating for the entire team. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate all our services. It is our aim to always give distinctive experience to our guest. We hope to welcome you back and wish you have a wonderful day ahead. Very Best Regards, Thomas Evrard General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from France

Amazing hotel

Posted May 12, 2017
Gorgeous hotel in Yogyakarta center. Very good welcoming with traditional Indonesian cakes. Very friendly staff. A place very well decorated in a Javanese style and colonial architecture. Refined decoration, furnitures, swimming pool and spa to relax after a busy tour! I felt so relaxed there after visiting Prambandan and Borrobudur. It was very easy to organise trips from there and very convenient to be closed to Malibioro street and its activities. I got definitively a very good memory of my stay in Java.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Thomas Evrard, Hotel Management
Dear Murielle J, We are delighted by your inspiring review and we are very pleased to have created a memorable experience during your stay with us. It is always a pleasure learning that you enjoyed your overall stay. Your detail review is the one that helps other travelers to find a perfect place to stay. Once again, thank you for your review. It would be our pleasure to have you back at our hotel. Warmest Regards, Thomas Evrard General Manager
5 out of 5
by shaunybee from London

best hotel ever!

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
a dreamlike setting and atmosphere. awesome customer service. didnt want to leave. it was a blessing to stay there.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Marlya, Hotel Management
Dear Shaunybee, We do thank you for feedback. It is always exciting for us knowing that you did love our service and facilities. Here, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We truly appreciate your compliments and will be sharing your encouraging words with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Very Best Regards, Thomas Evrard General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centralise location and vintage hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Hotel is quite good, located centrally.. It is a vintage hotel, therefore a bit old.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by lysa , Hotel Management
Dear Fel1210, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. Your comments are so much appreciated. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit overall and had a memorable experience. We hope that you will stay with us again whenever you back to Yogyakarta. Warm Regards, Ellysa Simatupang Asst. Public Relations Manager
4 out of 5
by Mukesh K

Bit away from market

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel has been built with high ceiling. Rooms and bathrooms are  spacious. Bed is very comfortable. Towel is ok not very sgt but not rough . Rooms are inside, so they are quiet.  Over all stay was comfortable. As I could not take their breakfast I will not be able to write about it. Money (Mulia ) exchange and market is far off it is 15 to 20 min walk. Near by there is laundry which can do express laundering @11000 IDR. I realised there are many hotels near market place. In house restaurant has good ranking and they have Javanese buffet which I couldn't enjoyed as it was very sweet. Staff and reception and house keeping were very good and helping. Unfortunately, I didn't had good experience because of behaviour of Mr Galing attendant who had little interest in serving guest. Equally manager Mr Omdat to was also unapologetic. Bearing above incident stay was good. Next time I will stay in hotel near Market Place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Marlya, Hotel Management
Dear Mukesh K, Thank you for your valuable and honest feedback. We are pleased to know that your stay with us was truly a great time for you. Strategically, our location is nearby the famous places in Yogyakarta, Malioboro, attractive places and Sultan Palace which will make our guest find an easy access to know more about Yogyakarta’s life. We apologize if our service was not fully satisfactory for you, especially in service issue. Again, thank you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon! Sincerely Yours, Ellysa Simatupang Asst. Public Relations Manager
5 out of 5
by Heather

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Larry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels