Ratings based on 507 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice hotel with a touch of history

Posted Mar 23, 2017
The hotel is located at the edge of malioboro street. So if you are walking to malioboro, ots quite a fair bit of walk. Other forms of transport are readily available. Hotel service is excellant with attentive and friendly staff. Upon check-in, they serve u a welcome drink and local snacks... which i thought thatvit was a nice touch. On the whole, a pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chesterfield uk

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Our booking was a standard room. After one night we paid extra to move due to road noise. There was a clue in our original room as ear plugs had been provided!! Other than that we enjoyed our stay at the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Thomas Evrard, Hotel Management
Dear Iiz, Thank you very much for your time to give us your feedback. Your review is much appreciated. We are really happy knowing that you enjoyed all your stay here but we are sorry knowing that it was an issue with the noise of the road. As you know, our hotel location is in the downtown and especially in the afternoon, it is quite busy activities. So, we are really sorry for the inconvenience. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in your next visit. Sincerely, Thomas Evrard General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great colonial hotel in town, centrally located

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: The old architecture, and very good service...very friendly
Nice environment, it takes you back in time... the staff is excellent, great buffet. Very close to shopping .
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2017 by Thomas Evrard, Hotel Management
Dear Valued guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experience during your stay at The Phoenix Hotel. It is wonderful to read your lovely review about our hotel and we extremely happy to know that everything that we provide truly lived up to your expectations. We surely look forward to welcome you back in the near future for more great experience. Best Regards, Thomas Evrard General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and homely hotel which is close to malls

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: The colonial look and feel gave a very homely feeling.
Cons: The bath room towels should be changed as they looked very old / bit dull in color
Location: Near to the airport (~30 min. drive). The malls are close by, 10 to 15 min. by taxi. Easy to book daily tours to Perambanan and Borobudur temples
Quick and easy check-in. All the staff, starting from the reception, restaurant and SPA are very polite and courteous. Very caring staff at the restaurant and being a Vegetarian, we were take care, well!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2017 by Thomas Evrard, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for words of appreciation regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you found our food, and service to your liking. But, knowing that it is not a perfect stay for you, we then will make improvements. Here, we have taken note of your comments regarding the lapse of facilities and we thank you for your care to us. We do really appreciate it. Again, thank you and we sincerely hope to be able to welcome you back whenever your travels bring you to Yogyakarta again. Sincerely, Thomas Evrard General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from malaysia

Superb Hotel, Nice Staff & nice breakfast.

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Superb Hotel, convenience with friendly staff, breakfast very nice, strategic location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by Thomas Evrard, Hotel Management
Dear Louis Loh, Thank you for your nice feedback . There is nothing better than receiving a wonderful review highlighting our authentic service & breakfast. Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we surely look forward to welcome you back in the near future. Warmest Regards, Thomas Evrard General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice hotel but parts are old

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: The staff were friendly and guests did not feel rushed
Cons: More flexible with booking. I lost 1 night due to flight reschedule. Informed hotel 1 mth earlier but hotel insisted they can't compensate in any way.
The hotel is generally very nice. However, I was allocated to an old wing which is smaller and had older (creeky) cupboards. The balcony looked into the neighbourhood houses at the side so wasn't really good to chill. My friends stayed in the newer wings. Their room was bigger, new cupboards, and their balcony fit an extra chair, and looked into the swimming pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by Thomas Evrard, Hotel Management
Dear Scott, We are really sorry that your stay did not live up to your expectations. Your feedback already passed to related department head and we assure you that we will improve our service quality to meet your expected standard. For the booking, we understand your situation at that time but again, we are sorry we are not able to give it seeing that the authority is from online travel agent that you use. Once again, thank you because your opinion counts a lot to us and we will pass your words to the all team here. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Sincerely, Thomas Evrard General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

You Should Never Stay Anywhere Else

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Very beautiful interior AND exterior, rooms are clean, staff is friendly. GREAT breakfast buffet and the restaurant also serves good food.
Cons: Nothing at all!
Location: Madam Tan restaurant is across the street and has vegetarian/vegan options.
This hotel is awesome. We were served drinks and snacks when we arrived and we loved all of it. We even bought the bak pia from them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by Thomas Evrard, Hotel Management
Dear Ellipurn, Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to write your experience during your stay with us. We are pleased to read you truly enjoyed your stay with The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta and satisfied with the service of our staffs which give positive impression on you and comfortable feeling. Your kind feedback is what the most we want to hear. It is a big reward for us knowing that our guests feel happy while staying with us. We surely look forward to welcome you back in the near future for more beautiful experience. Warmest Regards, Thomas Evrard General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice hotel but far away

Posted Dec 31, 2016
It is a little bit far away from Malioboro street and the Keraton. Walking to shopping malls or restaurants is a little bit long and tired. But in overall, the service is good, lobby is nice and the room is comfortable. There is another hotel whose pronunciation of the name is similar to it. If you want to take a taxi or Becak, you'd better show the exact name and the location to the driver who can understand at least a little bit English.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

A gem in Yogyakarta

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Friendliness of the hotel staffs. Bed is very comfortable. Pool is great. A great place for pure relaxation.
Cons: Everything is great except we felt that the hotel is lack of privacy - a lot of random people (not hotel guests) walking around the hotel vicinity.
Location: Location is great. Hotel is near the famous cafe - Roaster & Bear (located in Harper Hotel). Decent food around the area too.
We were greeted by a warm welcome from the hotel staffs. As we walked into the hotel vicinity, we were charmed by the heritage layout, and were further amazed by the pool. The gym was quite well-equipped as well. Overall, it was a pleasant experience at The Phoenix Hotel.
5 out of 5
by Regis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels