Ratings based on 189 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice hotel but parts are old

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: The staff were friendly and guests did not feel rushed
Cons: More flexible with booking. I lost 1 night due to flight reschedule. Informed hotel 1 mth earlier but hotel insisted they can't compensate in any way.
The hotel is generally very nice. However, I was allocated to an old wing which is smaller and had older (creeky) cupboards. The balcony looked into the neighbourhood houses at the side so wasn't really good to chill. My friends stayed in the newer wings. Their room was bigger, new cupboards, and their balcony fit an extra chair, and looked into the swimming pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

You Should Never Stay Anywhere Else

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Very beautiful interior AND exterior, rooms are clean, staff is friendly. GREAT breakfast buffet and the restaurant also serves good food.
Cons: Nothing at all!
Location: Madam Tan restaurant is across the street and has vegetarian/vegan options.
This hotel is awesome. We were served drinks and snacks when we arrived and we loved all of it. We even bought the bak pia from them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice hotel but far away

Posted Dec 31, 2016
It is a little bit far away from Malioboro street and the Keraton. Walking to shopping malls or restaurants is a little bit long and tired. But in overall, the service is good, lobby is nice and the room is comfortable. There is another hotel whose pronunciation of the name is similar to it. If you want to take a taxi or Becak, you'd better show the exact name and the location to the driver who can understand at least a little bit English.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

A gem in Yogyakarta

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Friendliness of the hotel staffs. Bed is very comfortable. Pool is great. A great place for pure relaxation.
Cons: Everything is great except we felt that the hotel is lack of privacy - a lot of random people (not hotel guests) walking around the hotel vicinity.
Location: Location is great. Hotel is near the famous cafe - Roaster & Bear (located in Harper Hotel). Decent food around the area too.
We were greeted by a warm welcome from the hotel staffs. As we walked into the hotel vicinity, we were charmed by the heritage layout, and were further amazed by the pool. The gym was quite well-equipped as well. Overall, it was a pleasant experience at The Phoenix Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from malaysia

Nice stay

Posted Dec 2, 2016
All the hotel staff are very friendly, polite and helpful. We had a pleasant stay over there but the room is a little bit small for us. It's clean and comfortable with so many pillows and bolsters provided.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely old colonial style hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2016
We really enjoyed our short break. Hotel was originally built in 1918 and has been sympathetically renovated to reflect that era. Bar and food prices reasonable and staff service is excellent. If I ever revisit Yogyakarta, I would only wish to stay at The Phoenix
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: Central located
I like the overall feel of the hotel. My room was clean & the staff were friendly. Breakfast spread was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Phoenix Hotel - Yogyakarta

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: Just a short walk from the Malioboro market area and a longer walk, or short taxi ride to some of the other attractions.
The hotel is quite unique in its décor. Almost a fusion of colonial and Indonesian styles. The rooms were wonderfully laid out. Clean, spacious and comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is well located only a short distance from the Malioboro shopping area (Just a short walk). The in-house travel agents were able to recommend and book trips. We had one of the best massages that we have had, in the hotel's spa. Both the breakfast and dinner menus were as good as any hotel that we have been to. A truly memorable experience and definitely worth another visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2016 by Thomas Evrard, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your thoughts about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. Your kind feedback is really informative for travelers who want to get the right place to stay in Yogyakarta. It is great to hear that you had a wonderful time with us. As you already mentioned, the plus points of our hotel are seen from the location that only 5 minutes walking distance to downtown, facilities, from the architecture and interior in the room, and attentive service of our staff. Again, it is such happy news for us reading that you love staying here and we would be so glad to host you again on your future visit to our Royal city. Regards, Thomas Evrard General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Osaka

5 Star Hotel in The center of Yogyakarta

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Breakfast is so delicious with the traditional food of Yogyakarta. Hotel architecture are so classy and so love it
Easy access to Yogyakarta famous tourism spot, Tugu Jogja and Malioboro. Even though in the center of city, the room are very quiet so make me feel comfort to relax
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Thomas Evrard, Hotel Management
Dear S, We would like to express our gratitude for your kind feedback to us. It is wonderful to read you have enjoyed your time at the hotel through the location, room, architecture of the building and food. We have pleasure for being able to contribute to your wonderful time in Yogyakarta. Once again, thank you and hope to see you very soon. Kind Regards, Thomas Evrard General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

Fantastic, stylish and historical hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2016
The hotel is in an historical colonial building. The interior is very stylish and the atmosphere is laid back colonial and elegant at the same time. Beautiful pool, excellent food, professional and kind staff. Rooms are spacious and we'll decorated. Central location. A real gem! A must to stay there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Thomas Evrard, Hotel Management
Dear Carlo, Thank you for your honest feedback. We greatly appreciate you choosing our hotel as a place that fulfill your accomodation need. We are thrilled to know that you enjoy your overall stay and get fantastic experience with us. Our hotel is one of heritage hotels in Yogyakarta which built on 1918. The architecture is unique and typical where combinations of colonial era, modern and local Javanese culture are mixed into one; and we are so glad you liked the spirit, service and facilities that we offer you. We hope to see you in the near future in our heritage hotel. Best Regards, Thomas Evrard General Manager