Ratings based on 425 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Close to port and China town

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Close to port and subway/JR
Cons: N/A
Location: China town, great food selections.
Pre-cruise stay was wonderful. Subway Is a 2 minutes walk and JR is approx 15 minutes walk through china town. Tones of food options. Hotel staff were very professional and friendly and speaks fluent English, very courteous and respectful. Room is clean and spacious. We could see our ship from the hotel.Will stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good location next to Yamashita Park

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Yamashita Park was just a stone's throw away, it was wonderful to walk through the park and enjoy the view.
Cons: Maybe more obvious signage pointing to the front desk would be helpful, as we entered through the annex, and were a bit lost at first.
Location: Apart from the park, the train station was nearby, and Chinatown was interesting to browse around in.
We were warmly welcomed by the staff, who helped us with our luggage, and escorted us to our room, even giving a brief tour of the room just before we parted. The room was clean and quite spacious, very much worth the price we paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo, Japan

Lovely hotel, friendly staff, near Yamashita Park

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Very clean, comfortable beds, extremely convenient location
Cons: Slightly dated decor on our floor but very, very well kept
Location: Right outside Yamashita Park. Very near Chinatown.
We enjoyed our stay at Hotel New Grand. It is an easy walk from the station. The staff are very friendly and speak perfect English. The room decor is slightly dated, but it is very clean and very comfortable. The rooms are generous size for Japan. I would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Great location. Overlooking the port of Yokohama. 5 mins to train. Just around the corner from Chinatown.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2017
I stay in hotels on business every week and this had the most outrageously over priced breakfast i have ever come across! I ended up paying 40US$ for an under average buffet (basic juices, synthetic croissants, terrible sausage, filtered coffee only etc etc). You could opt not to have the buffet and go a la carte and pay even more! Average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shizuoka, Japan

Very good hotel, wonderful staff!

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Very good hotel, excellent location close to the beach, Chinatown and metro station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Everything
Great place......................................................................................................................................................................
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Very good service and room with beautiful views in a great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal location for debarking off cruise.

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: proximity to cruise ship port, Red Brick warehouse, Queens Square mall,China town . Direct express bus to Haneda airport is across the street.
Our room on the 12th floor in the tower overlooked Yokohama Bay and had a beautiful bird's eye view of the bay and surrounding gardens. We could see our cruise ship we just got off at. Note, check in time is not until 2PM but we were able to check in by 12 noon so just leave your luggage with the concierge. The location is about a 10-12 minute walk from the port. Our room was very spacious and had all the necessary amenities. We did not like the fact the room safe was not secured to anything substantial but just left in a drawer in a night table so we considered it unusable. There was a notice placed on the night table warning guests of robberies in the area. The bathroom looked dated with poor lighting and signs of mold on the shower walls and on on the dark floor tiling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Cons: Clean mildew around bathtub.
Hotel staff were very attentive and professional. Walking distance to Chinatown and Motomachi.